11 tools compared · SEO
Best AI SEO tools in 2026, priced by the job you need doing
An independent comparison of eleven AI SEO products - prompt trackers, content optimisers, SEO platforms and content-ops automation - scored on published prices and published limits, with the cheapest route to tracking your own prompts worked out for each one.
Data verified
"AI SEO tool" now covers five different jobs, and most guides I read rank products that do different ones against each other - which is why the rankings all disagree.
This one splits them. I named the five jobs first, then priced every product at the cheapest tier where the vendor publishes both a prompt count and a price, and put the working on the page.
Three tools that belong in an SEO stack but aren't AI SEO tools - Search Console, a crawler, and the assistants themselves - are covered separately, below the ranking rather than inside it. Every price and prompt allowance below was read from the vendor's own page in August 2026.
Compared side by side
| # | Tool | Our pick for | Best for | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Semrush | Best overall, on published capability per pound rather than on data we cannot measure | In-house teams covering SEO and AI visibility on one subscription | Free plan; SEO $139/month; Starter $199/month for 50 tracked prompts a day | Yes |
| 2 | Moz Pro | Best value SEO platform, with 50 tracked prompts included at $99 a month | Small teams and single-site owners who want both jobs for under $100 a month | Starter $49/month; Standard $99/month, or $79/month billed yearly | No |
| 3 | Otterly.ai | Best first measurement, at $29 a month for four engines | Anyone deciding whether AI visibility is a real problem for them | Lite $29/month, or $25/month billed yearly | No |
| 4 | Scrunch | Best for the site side, where most of this category stops at the answers | Brands that will act on what an audit says, not just read a dashboard | Core $250/month | No |
| 5 | Frase | Best single subscription for one person, covering all five jobs from $49 | Solo operators and small teams who would otherwise buy three tools | Starter $49/month, or $39/month billed yearly | No |
| 6 | Ahrefs | Best data in the category, sold with the most expensive prompt tracking in it | SEO practitioners and consultants who buy on index quality | Free plan; Starter $29/month; Lite $129/month; prompt tracking from $50/month on top | Yes |
| 7 | Clearscope | Best per-writer cost, because it does not count writers | Content teams with more people than seat budget | Essentials $129/month | No |
| 8 | Profound | Best enterprise answer-engine platform, and the narrowest entry tier on this page | Funded AI-visibility programmes with reporting obligations | Starter $99/month billed yearly; Growth $399/month billed yearly | No |
| 9 | Peec AI | Best mid-market tracker with the whole team able to look at it | Marketing teams sharing AI-visibility data widely | Starter $80/month billed yearly | No |
| 10 | Surfer | Best content editor here, priced for the content job rather than the tracking one | Writers optimising drafts in Google Docs or WordPress | Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly | No |
| 11 | AirOps | Best content-operations automation, with no price to compare it on | Teams running one workflow across hundreds of pages | Not disclosed; AirOps publishes plan limits but no plan prices | No |
How we chose
- Selection and scoring are based on published capability and published pricing, read from each vendor's own pricing page on 18 August 2026. Nobody here has used these products; no output quality, tracking accuracy or index depth was tested.
- Every price was read through a United States egress, because this machine geolocates to the EU and several of these vendors resolve currency by region.
- Prices carry their billing basis. Where a pricing page defaults to annual billing and does not print a monthly rate - Surfer, Peec AI, Profound - the figure is labelled as billed yearly rather than converted.
- A product qualified only if it publishes an AI-search capability of its own: tracking prompts, reporting AI citations, or optimising for AI answers. Google Search Console, Screaming Frog and the assistants are complements, so they are described below the ranking and not scored in it.
- Where a vendor publishes no price at all - AirOps - that is recorded as an absence and scored zero on cost, never estimated.
- Two figures are read from screenshots rather than page text, because the vendors render them as images or animations: Profound's plan prices and AirOps' empty price cells.
What each option actually costs at 1 seat, 3 seats, 5 seats
Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 18 August 2026. Where a vendor's page would not reveal a price at a given volume, the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate.
The cheapest published route to that many seats, at each vendor's own quoted billing basis. It is the most revealing table on this page, because the two halves of this category price people completely differently: the SEO platforms sell seats, and most of the AI-visibility tools do not count them at all. Clearscope, Peec AI and Otterly.ai carry unlimited users on every plan, so their rows are flat. Ahrefs Lite includes one user and sells two more at $40, and a fourth user forces the move to Standard at $249 where the next five cost $60 each - which is why its row triples between one seat and five. Semrush charges from $45 a user on top of its $139 SEO plan, Moz Pro $49 a seat on any plan level, Frase $29 on Professional and above. Surfer includes 3 seats on Standard and 5 on Pro, and Scrunch includes 5 licences on its only published tier. Profound's cells above two seats are empty because seat counts beyond Growth's two are an Enterprise conversation, and AirOps' row is empty because it publishes no prices. Rows marked "billed yearly" are annual commitments quoted monthly. Read this table for the shape of your team, then read the prompt tables below for what the tool actually does at that price - they are not the same question.
| Platform | 1 seat | 3 seats | 5 seats | Priced on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Otterly.ai | $29 | $29 | $29 | Lite $29/month, unlimited team members |
| Peec AI | $80 | $80 | $80 | Starter $80/month billed yearly, unlimited users |
| Clearscope | $129 | $129 | $129 | Essentials $129/month, unlimited users |
| Frase | $49 | $129 | $187 | Starter $49 (1 seat); Professional $129 (3 seats); extra seats $29 |
| Surfer | $49 | $99 | $182 | Discovery $49 (1 seat), Standard $99 (3), Pro $182 (5), all billed yearly |
| Moz Pro | $99 | $197 | $295 | Standard $99/month plus $49 per extra seat |
| Ahrefs | $129 | $209 | $489 | Lite $129 plus $40/user; Standard $249 plus $60/user past three |
| Semrush | $139 | $229 | $319 | SEO plan $139/month plus additional users from $45/month |
| Scrunch | $250 | $250 | $250 | Core $250/month, five user licences included |
| Profound | $99 | not readable | not readable | Starter $99 (1 seat) and Growth $399 (2 seats), billed yearly; more seats are Enterprise |
| AirOps | not readable | not readable | not readable | Solo is single-user and Pro has unlimited seats, but no plan price is published |
- Cheapest at 1 seat Otterly.ai at $29 for one job, or Moz Pro at $99 for a whole SEO platform
- Cheapest at 3 seats Otterly.ai at $29, or Frase at $129 for five jobs and three seats; Moz Pro is the cheapest platform at $197
- Cheapest at 5 seats Otterly.ai at $29; among platforms Moz Pro at $295 beats Semrush at $319 and Ahrefs at $489
How the ranking was scored
Each option is scored 0 to 10 on the dimensions below, weighted as shown, and the total is calculated from those numbers rather than asserted. Weights sum to 100.
| Option | AI platforms 20% | Prompts 15% | Jobs covered 20% | Cost 20% | Seats/exports 10% | Own dataset 15% | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semrush | 10 | 4 | 8 | 3.4 | 6 | 10 | 7 |
| Moz Pro | 5 | 4 | 8 | 6.7 | 3 | 10 | 6.3 |
| Otterly.ai | 10 | 1.2 | 4 | 9 | 7 | 5 | 6.2 |
| Scrunch | 10 | 10 | 4 | 1.7 | 4 | 5 | 5.8 |
| Frase | 5 | 4 | 10 | 8.4 | 4 | 0 | 5.7 |
| Ahrefs | 2.5 | 6.4 | 8 | 4 | 3 | 10 | 5.7 |
| Clearscope | 5 | 4 | 6 | 5.7 | 7 | 0 | 4.6 |
| Profound | 2.5 | 4 | 6 | 6.7 | 1 | 5 | 4.5 |
| Peec AI | 7.5 | 4 | 2 | 7.3 | 5 | 0 | 4.5 |
| Surfer | 2.5 | 2 | 6 | 6.7 | 3 | 0 | 3.6 |
| AirOps | 2.5 | 8 | 6 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3.2 |
Every dimension is a count, and the counting rules are published so the table can be re-run. Four of the six are measured at one specific tier: the cheapest one where the vendor publishes both a price and a tracked-prompt count. "AI platforms" scores 2.5 points per named platform at that tier. "Prompts" scores one point per 12.5 prompts included at that tier, capped at 10. "Cost" is 10 minus that tier's monthly price divided by 30, floored at zero, so an unpublished price scores zero. "Seats/exports" adds a seat score (1 for one seat, up to 5 for unlimited) to a data-out score (2 for exports, 3 for an API or MCP access, 5 for both). "Jobs covered" gives 2 points per job of five: research data, technical auditing, content optimisation, AI-answer tracking, and production or publishing automation. "Own dataset" is 10 where the vendor runs its own crawler and keyword index, 5 where it publishes its own AI-answer or prompt-volume dataset, and 0 where it does neither. Three things this rubric deliberately does not measure, because we have not measured them: index quality, tracking accuracy, and output quality. That has consequences worth stating. Moz Pro scores 10 on first-party dataset for owning an index, not for its depth - its own profile records that Ahrefs and Semrush have overtaken it there. Ahrefs sells prompt tracking as checks, where one check is one prompt on one platform in one location, so platforms and prompts trade against each other; it is scored on its own published example of 80 prompts daily on one platform for $50 on top of a $129 plan. And the weights matter: move the first-party-dataset weight onto cost and Frase leads at 6.9 with Otterly.ai second, rather than Semrush. The previous version of this guide ranked five tools and put Ahrefs first on a data-quality score of 10 that nothing on the page measured. Removing that unmeasured dimension is what moved the order.
Choose by situation
| If you are… | Choose | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You need one subscription covering SEO research and AI visibility | Semrush Starter at $199 a month, or Moz Pro Standard at $99 | Semrush is the cheapest published route to four AI platforms with 50 prompts a day. Moz Pro tracks 50 prompts on two models, refreshed weekly, for half the price. |
| You want to find out whether AI answers mention you at all | Otterly.ai Lite | $29 a month for 15 prompts across four engines, with unlimited team members and an export. |
| You need real prompt coverage without buying a platform | Peec AI or Otterly.ai Standard | Peec AI is $80 a month billed yearly for 50 prompts on three of six engines with unlimited users; Otterly.ai Standard is $189 for 100 prompts on four. |
| You are one person and want to cover every job cheaply | Frase Starter | $49 a month rolling for research, optimisation, a site audit, publishing and 50 tracked prompts. It is the only product here covering all five jobs at that price. |
| You optimise content with a team of writers | Clearscope, or Surfer if the editor matters more | Clearscope's unlimited users make it the cheapest per writer at $129 a month; Surfer includes three seats at $99 billed yearly and has the editor writers prefer. |
| Your problem is what the site gives an AI crawler | Scrunch | $250 a month is the only published tier here that pairs citation tracking with site audits and AI crawler traffic analysis. |
| You are running a funded answer-engine programme with a board asking questions | Profound | Prompt Volumes and Agent Analytics answer questions a tracker cannot, though nine engines, SSO and the API are Enterprise. |
| Your unit of work is two hundred pages, not one draft | AirOps | Nothing else here runs one workflow across a spreadsheet of pages. You will not learn the price without a call. |
| You already pay for Ahrefs and want to add prompt tracking | Ahrefs Custom prompts, Basic | $50 a month on top of your plan for 2,500 checks - the page's example is 80 prompts daily on one platform. Brand Radar's seven platforms start at $199. |
Also considered, and why they are not here
| Product | Why it is not in the list |
|---|---|
| Google Search Console | Free, first-party and the only measurement rather than an estimate on this page - but it is SEO software, not an AI SEO tool. Covered in the stack section below. |
| Screaming Frog SEO Spider | $279 per user a year and still the best value in technical crawling. It uses no AI and does not claim to, so it is a complement rather than a candidate. |
| Sitebulb | Better explanations than Screaming Frog for client audits, and the same reasoning applies: a crawler, not an AI SEO tool. Its pricing page renders its figures in sterling and could not be read from here today, so no price for it is quoted on this page. |
| Perplexity, ChatGPT and Claude | General assistants. Useful for reading how AI answers cite sources, and the cheapest way to sanity check a tracker, but they measure nothing over time. |
| Writesonic and other AI writers | Excluded by our own criteria. Generating text is a writing tool, not an SEO tool. |
| Conductor | An enterprise platform AirOps names as a competitor. It publishes no self-serve pricing and we have not priced it this round, so it is a declared gap rather than a judgement. |
| Semrush Enterprise AIO | Quote-only tier above the plans compared here. The self-serve Semrush ladder is what this guide prices. |
Screenshots below were captured by us at 1440px and are unedited. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded here. Interfaces change, so each shows the product as it looked on the date given.
Semrush Best overall, on published capability per pound rather than on data we cannot measure
- Best for
- In-house teams covering SEO and AI visibility on one subscription
- Starting price
- Free plan; SEO $139/month; Starter $199/month for 50 tracked prompts a day
- Free plan
- Yes
Semrush tops this rubric because it is the cheapest published route to four named AI platforms with a stated prompt allowance, and it arrives attached to the widest SEO toolset in the category. The 2026 restructure is what did it: the ladder is now SEO, Starter, Pro+ and Advanced, and the split turns on AI-search visibility. Starter at $199 a month buys 50 prompts tracked daily, 300 AI visibility reports a day, one domain of AI brand performance and MCP access, on top of keyword research, position tracking and site auditing. Nothing else here does both jobs at one price with that breadth.
Watch out: The $139 SEO plan says it monitors custom prompts and publishes no prompt count, so the real entry price for tracking is $199. Seats are strictly per person from $45 a month, and API access sits on Advanced at $549.
Moz Pro Best value SEO platform, with 50 tracked prompts included at $99 a month
- Best for
- Small teams and single-site owners who want both jobs for under $100 a month
- Starting price
- Starter $49/month; Standard $99/month, or $79/month billed yearly
- Free plan
- No
Moz has quietly become the value answer to this question. Standard at $99 a month includes an AI visibility dashboard, 50 tracked prompts across GPT and Gemini, AI Overviews reporting by keyword, AI prompt suggestions and two AI content briefs - alongside the keyword research, rank tracking, site crawl and link index. That is the same prompt allowance Clearscope sells at $129 and Profound at $99 with one engine, and here it comes with a platform underneath it. Domain Authority is still the metric clients quote, and this is where it comes from.
Watch out: Prompts refresh weekly rather than daily, and two models is narrow coverage. The index is smaller and less fresh than Ahrefs', which matters for competitive link research, and extra seats are $49 each.
Otterly.ai Best first measurement, at $29 a month for four engines
- Best for
- Anyone deciding whether AI visibility is a real problem for them
- Starting price
- Lite $29/month, or $25/month billed yearly
- Free plan
- No
Fifteen prompts across ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, refreshed daily, with unlimited team members, an export and 1,000 generative-engine audits a month. That is the cheapest honest answer to "does anything in our category get cited, and is it us" - cheaper than the hour a month it takes to check by hand. It publishes both monthly and annual rates, which three of the trackers here do not, and it was one of the first tools in the category, launched in October 2024.
Watch out: Fifteen prompts is a hard ceiling: the extra-prompt add-on does not exist on Lite, so growth means Standard at $189. Gemini, Google AI Mode and Claude are paid add-ons from $9 a month each rather than included engines.
Scrunch Best for the site side, where most of this category stops at the answers
- Best for
- Brands that will act on what an audit says, not just read a dashboard
- Starting price
- Core $250/month
- Free plan
- No
Scrunch scores highest of any tool here on prompts per published tier - 125 across four engines - and its argument goes further than tracking: your site is the largest input you control, so measuring answers without auditing pages leaves the actionable half undone. Core includes five site audits a month, agent traffic analysis showing which AI crawlers read which URLs, site maps of how agents consume the site, and change detection that says what moved and why. Five user licences are included.
Watch out: Nothing is published below $250 a month, one brand workspace makes agencies an Enterprise conversation, and the API, SSO and the other five engines are all Enterprise too. Seven days is a short trial for data that needs several refresh cycles.
Frase Best single subscription for one person, covering all five jobs from $49
- Best for
- Solo operators and small teams who would otherwise buy three tools
- Starting price
- Starter $49/month, or $39/month billed yearly
- Free plan
- No
Frase is the only product here that covers all five jobs, and it is the cheapest thing in this comparison: research, optimisation, a 50-page site audit, publishing into WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix, decay monitoring, and 50 AI-visibility prompts across ChatGPT and Google AI, with 250 API requests a month. It also publishes what most vendors bury - both billing rates, the per-article and per-prompt overage rates, and the fact that pay-as-you-go is off by default so a plan holds at its limit instead of billing over.
Watch out: There is no index behind it, so competitive research still needs a platform. Its own about page declines to say where the company is based or when it was founded, which procurement will ask about, and the agent that can publish unattended should stay off until you trust it.
Ahrefs Best data in the category, sold with the most expensive prompt tracking in it
- Best for
- SEO practitioners and consultants who buy on index quality
- Starting price
- Free plan; Starter $29/month; Lite $129/month; prompt tracking from $50/month on top
- Free plan
- Yes
If you are buying research data, this is still the one. Ahrefs runs its own crawler, publishes its crawler IP ranges, and Keywords Explorer reports estimated clicks rather than raw volume, which changes which keywords you choose. Brand Radar is also the broadest coverage here - seven named platforms: AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok - against a database of 474 million organic prompts. It places sixth because of how that is priced, not because of what it does.
Watch out: Plans include five tracked AI prompts on Lite, ten on Standard, twenty on Advanced, which is a demonstration rather than a programme. Real tracking is $50 a month on top for 2,500 checks, or $199 for Brand Radar. There is no free trial, and Lite's 1,000 report credits per user is the line that pushes people to Standard.
Clearscope Best per-writer cost, because it does not count writers
- Best for
- Content teams with more people than seat budget
- Starting price
- Essentials $129/month
- Free plan
- No
Clearscope charges for pages, prompts and drafts, and never for people: unlimited users and unlimited projects on every plan, including the $129 entry tier. For a team of eight that is the cheapest content optimisation on this page by a wide margin, and the report is the easiest thing here to hand to a writer who does not do SEO. Prompt tracking and query fan-out reporting are included at the entry price, and exporting is explicitly unlimited.
Watch out: Tracking covers ChatGPT and Gemini only, the narrowest coverage in this comparison, and there is no prompt add-on - so going past 50 prompts means Business at $399. No plan has an API.
Profound Best enterprise answer-engine platform, and the narrowest entry tier on this page
- Best for
- Funded AI-visibility programmes with reporting obligations
- Starting price
- Starter $99/month billed yearly; Growth $399/month billed yearly
- Free plan
- No
Two things here are not prompt tracking, and they are why enterprise programmes buy it. Prompt Volumes reports what people actually ask assistants, rather than only the prompts you supplied, which is the difference between rank tracking and keyword research. Agent Analytics reads AI crawler and referral traffic on your own domains through Cloudflare, Akamai, Fastly, AWS, Vercel, Netlify and WordPress integrations, with unlimited domains on every plan. Enterprise reaches nine named engines with SSO, SAML and SOC 2.
Watch out: Starter at $99 a month billed yearly is one seat, ChatGPT only, no exports and no API - worse value than several tools at the same price. Growth at $399 is the smallest tier that supports real work, and everything Profound is known for sits on Enterprise.
Peec AI Best mid-market tracker with the whole team able to look at it
- Best for
- Marketing teams sharing AI-visibility data widely
- Starting price
- Starter $80/month billed yearly
- Free plan
- No
Peec AI charges for prompts and models, never for people, and tracks daily at the entry price: 50 prompts, three of six named engines, one project, unlimited users. Country and language coverage costs nothing extra, which is the opposite of how rank tracking has always been sold, and prompt volume can be split across projects and sub-brands. Berlin-based and funded at $29 million, it is the option that sits between the $29 starters and the enterprise platforms.
Watch out: Three models of six means choosing which part of the market you can see; a fourth is $30 a month on Starter or $70 on Pro. API access and SSO are Enterprise only, and the pricing page shows annual billing only. It does nothing outside AI-answer measurement, which is why it scores 2 of 10 on jobs covered.
Surfer Best content editor here, priced for the content job rather than the tracking one
- Best for
- Writers optimising drafts in Google Docs or WordPress
- Starting price
- Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly
- Free plan
- No
Content Score is the optimisation metric content teams have actually adopted, and Surfer puts it where writers work rather than in another tab. Standard includes three seats at $99 a month billed yearly, which undercuts every per-seat platform here for a team of three. If tracking is what you want, its standalone AI Search Analytics plan is $158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts across five platforms - a much better deal than its bundled tiers, and not what the rubric measures.
Watch out: It ranks tenth because the cheapest tier with a published prompt count tracks 25 prompts weekly on ChatGPT alone. Every self-serve price is a yearly commitment quoted monthly, and the monthly rate is not printed on the page. No backlink index, keyword database or crawler.
AirOps Best content-operations automation, with no price to compare it on
- Best for
- Teams running one workflow across hundreds of pages
- Starting price
- Not disclosed; AirOps publishes plan limits but no plan prices
- Free plan
- No
Nothing else in this comparison runs a workflow across a spreadsheet of pages, and for a job that is two hundred product pages needing the same treatment, that is the right shape of tool. The plan limits are published in detail - 100 tracked prompts and 20,000 tasks on Solo, 250 prompts and 75,000 tasks with unlimited seats on Pro - and the metering is explained honestly, including a $0.025 per-task Solo overage and a 14-day trial that needs no card.
Watch out: Not one plan price appears on the pricing page; the FAQ answers pricing with an invitation to talk. That is why it ranks last: the cost dimension has nothing to score. Solo also tracks ChatGPT only and is single-user, and the company publishes no address or founding date.
The five jobs people mean by “AI SEO”
Work out which of these you are buying before comparing anything, because no product on this page does all five well and two of them do only one.
- Research data. Keywords, backlinks, rankings, competitors. Owned indexes: Ahrefs, Semrush, Moz.
- Technical auditing. Crawling a site and finding what breaks - increasingly including what an AI crawler can read.
- Content optimisation. Scoring a draft against what already ranks, and against what gets cited.
- AI-answer visibility. Whether assistants mention or cite you, tracked over time.
- Production and publishing automation. Doing the work that follows, at volume.
The two halves of this category price completely differently. The platforms sell seats. The AI-visibility tools mostly sell prompts and do not count people at all. That single difference decides more purchases than any feature comparison, and it is why the cost table above and the prompt table below disagree about which tool is cheapest.
The cheapest published route to tracking your own prompts
This is the table the rubric is built on. For each product it shows the cheapest tier where the vendor publishes both a price and a tracked-prompt count, read on 18 August 2026.
| Tool | Cheapest tier that publishes both | Prompts | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otterly.ai | Lite, $29 | 15 | 4 |
| Frase | Starter, $49 | 50 | 2 |
| Peec AI | Starter, $80 billed yearly | 50 | 3 of 6 |
| Moz Pro | Standard, $99 | 50, weekly | 2 |
| Surfer | Standard, $99 billed yearly | 25, weekly | 1 |
| Profound | Starter, $99 billed yearly | 50 | 1 |
| Clearscope | Essentials, $129 | 50 | 2 |
| Ahrefs | Lite plus Custom prompts Basic, $179 | 80 daily | 1 |
| Semrush | Starter, $199 | 50 daily | 4 |
| Scrunch | Core, $250 | 125 | 4 |
| AirOps | Solo, no price published | 100 | 1 |
What you can do with the data varies as sharply as the price. At those tiers, Otterly.ai, Peec AI and Clearscope include unlimited users; Surfer includes three seats and Scrunch five; Frase, Moz Pro, Profound, Ahrefs, Semrush and AirOps include one. Frase is the only one including an API at its entry tier and Semrush the only one including MCP access. On exports there is a distinction worth keeping: Profound’s own comparison table states “None” for Starter, while Surfer, Scrunch and Peec AI simply do not say either way at those tiers - so we scored them as absent and are telling you which of those two things we found.
Three things fall out of it. Frase at $49 a month is the cheapest 50 prompts anywhere, and it arrives with a content toolset attached. Profound at $99 billed yearly buys one engine, one seat and no exports, which is the weakest tier here relative to price. And Ahrefs, whose AI coverage is the broadest in the category at seven platforms, is the most expensive route to tracking one.
What real coverage costs, at around 100 prompts
Fifteen or fifty prompts answers “does anyone get cited”. A hundred starts to answer “are we winning this question and losing that one”. Here is what that costs, same reading date:
| Tool | Tier | Monthly cost as published | Prompts | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frase | Professional | $129, or $103 billed yearly | 200 | 3 |
| Surfer | AI Search Analytics | $158, billed yearly | 100 daily | 5 |
| Moz Pro | Medium | $179, or $143 billed yearly | 100, weekly refresh | 3 |
| Otterly.ai | Standard | $189, or $160 billed yearly | 100 | 4 |
| Peec AI | Pro | $205, billed yearly | 150 | 3 of 6 |
| Ahrefs | Lite plus Custom prompts Growth | $229 | ~100 daily on two platforms | 7 available |
| Scrunch | Core | $250 | 125 | 4 |
| Semrush | Pro+ | $299, or $248.17 billed yearly | 100 daily | 4 |
| Clearscope | Business | $399 | 300 | 2 |
| Profound | Growth | $399, billed yearly | 100 | 3 |
The spread is more than three to one for the same nominal job, and the order changes from the previous table: Surfer’s standalone tracker is competitive here in a way its bundled tiers are not, and Clearscope’s jump from $129 to $399 a month buys 300 prompts on two engines when $205 at Peec AI buys 150 on three.
Credits and caps are the real price list
The monthly figure is the smallest part of what you are buying on a platform. Read from the Ahrefs plan comparison on 18 August 2026:
| What is metered | Lite $129 | Standard $249 | Advanced $449 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Projects | 5 | 20 | 50 |
| Historical data | 6 months | 2 years | 5 years |
| Tracked keywords | 750 | 2,000 | 5,000 |
| Tracked AI prompts | 5 | 10 | 20 |
| Crawl credits | 100,000 | 500,000 | 1,500,000 |
| Report credits | 1,000 per user | Unlimited | Unlimited |
Three of those rows decide more upgrades than any feature does:
- Report credits on Lite. One thousand per user sounds generous until a competitive analysis spends a hundred in an afternoon. This single line is why Lite users upgrade, and it is the reason to budget for your heaviest research month rather than your average one.
- Historical data. Six months on Lite means you cannot see last year’s seasonal peak. If your business has a season, you are buying Standard whether or not you wanted to.
- Tracked AI prompts. Five, ten and twenty are demonstration allowances. Prompt tracking on Ahrefs is a separate purchase, and pricing the plan without pricing the add-on will be wrong by $50 to $199 a month.
An agency running twelve client sites is not choosing between $129 and $249 - it is choosing between Standard and Advanced, and should price the decision that way from the start.
The seat crossover, and which side of it you are on
At one seat Ahrefs is $10 a month cheaper than Semrush. At five seats it is $170 a month more expensive. The cost table above shows the crossover; it lands between the third and fourth user, because Ahrefs’ fourth seat is not a seat at all - it forces the move from Lite to Standard.
Two things changed since the last version of this guide. Moz Pro is now the cheapest platform at five seats, at $295 a month against $319 for Semrush and $489 for Ahrefs. And the AI-visibility tools have made the question partly obsolete: Clearscope, Peec AI and Otterly.ai charge the same for one person as for twenty.
The practical test is not how many people you have. It is how many need to run their own research. Most teams over-count this. A content writer who needs a keyword list once a fortnight does not need a seat; they need someone to export one. Before buying seats, ask who has opened the tool in the last thirty days and what they did in it. Teams that do this honestly usually buy one or two fewer seats than they were about to.
Tools you still need alongside these
None of these three is an AI SEO tool, and all three belong in the stack. They are described here rather than ranked above because scoring a free measurement tool against a $250-a-month tracker produces a number that means nothing.
- Google Search Console - free, unlimited users, and the only first-party measurement of your own performance in Google that exists. Sixteen months of retention and no competitor data. Every credible workflow starts here, and it is where you check whether a paid tool’s estimates resemble reality.
- Screaming Frog SEO Spider - free to 500 URLs, then $279 per user a year, dropping to $265 each from five licences, $249 from ten and $235 at twenty. No AI is required to find a redirect chain. Sitebulb explains its findings better if the output is going to a client.
- Perplexity, ChatGPT and Claude - the cheapest way to see the mechanics of AI citation directly. Ask the questions your buyers ask and read what gets cited. It is qualitative research, not measurement: no assistant will tell you what changed since last month.
Tracking AI visibility before you pay for it
Before committing to any of the trackers above, run the manual version for a month. It costs an hour and it tells you whether the tooling has anything to measure.
- Write down the fifteen questions a buyer asks before they know your product exists. Not your brand name - the problem statements.
- Ask all fifteen in two assistants, in a logged-out session, on the first of the month.
- Record two things per question: whether you appear, and which page gets cited when a competitor appears instead.
- Repeat on the first of the next month.
If citations are volatile and nobody holds a position, tooling will not fix that yet. If a competitor holds five of your fifteen questions, you now know what to write and you have a reason to pay for tracking. Note the ceilings either way: fifteen questions already exceeds Ahrefs Lite’s five prompts and Otterly’s fifteen, and sits inside Frase’s fifty at $49 a month.
What we can say about generated content, and what we cannot
Two claims get made about AI and content, and only one of them is safe to make.
The unsafe one is that anybody knows what assistants reward. We have not measured it, and nor has anyone publishing a list like this one - so if a guide tells you what AI search prefers, ask for the dataset: the prompts, the dates, the captures. Without those it is a hypothesis wearing the typography of a finding.
The safe claim is structural, and it is about what a model cannot do rather than what it likes. A current price with its billing basis, a named seat minimum, a verified date, a limit read off a vendor’s own page: none of that exists in a model’s parameters, so none of it can be generated. Somebody has to go and read it. A 3,000-word article written from a prompt contains none of those facts; a 900-word page with a price table and a last-checked date contains twenty.
This site is built on that premise - structured, source-linked and dated, and designed so a machine can extract a fact without mangling it. That is a design goal rather than a measured outcome, and we publish no figures about who quotes us because we collect none. What is safe to say is the useful part anyway: original facts are cheap for you to produce and impossible for a model to invent, and no tool on this page changes that.
What changed in this version
The previous version of this guide compared five tools: Ahrefs, Semrush, Search Console, Screaming Frog and Perplexity. Three of the five were not AI SEO tools, and the page said so about one of them in its own entry. It also scored a “data quality” dimension at 10 out of 10 for two products without publishing any measurement behind it, which is precisely the kind of number our methodology says not to print.
This version fixes both. Eleven products that publish an AI-search capability are ranked; the three complements moved into the stack section above; and every rubric dimension is now a count with a published rule, which is why the order moved. What is still missing is stated rather than implied: we have not benchmarked accuracy, index depth or output quality, and Conductor is a real competitor we have not priced. Both are on the list.
Frequently asked questions
What counts as an AI SEO tool?
For this guide, a product qualifies if it publishes an AI-search capability of its own: tracking prompts across AI assistants, reporting which pages AI answers cite, or optimising content for AI answers. That deliberately excludes tools we rate highly but which do a different job - Google Search Console measures your own performance in Google, Screaming Frog crawls, and ChatGPT is an assistant. All three are in the stack section below.
What does it cost to track 50 prompts across AI assistants?
Read on 18 August 2026: $29 a month at Otterly.ai buys 15 prompts on four engines, $49 at Frase buys 50 on two, $80 at Peec AI buys 50 on three billed yearly, $99 at Moz Pro buys 50 on two refreshed weekly, and $199 at Semrush buys 50 a day on four. Adding tracking to Ahrefs costs $50 a month on top of a $129 plan. The full table, with seats and export rights, is on this page.
Do I need a dedicated AI-visibility tool if I already pay for an SEO platform?
Often not. Semrush, Moz Pro and Ahrefs all now include or sell prompt tracking, so the first question is what your existing subscription already covers - Semrush's SEO plan monitors prompts without publishing a count, Moz Standard includes 50, Ahrefs Lite includes five. Buy a dedicated tracker when you need more engines, more prompts, or the whole team looking at the data.
Do AI SEO tools improve rankings?
Not directly. They reduce the time spent on research, briefing, diagnosis and measurement, which means more of your effort reaches the page. Any tool promising ranking improvements from generated text alone is selling volume, and volume is not the constraint for most sites.
Why is Ahrefs sixth if its data is the best?
Because this rubric scores what we can verify - platforms, prompts, jobs, price, seats, exports and whether the vendor owns its data - and index quality is not something we have benchmarked. Ahrefs scores full marks on owning a first-party dataset and low marks on the cost of getting real prompt tracking, which needs $50 to $199 a month on top of a plan. If you are buying research data, its entry says to buy it.
Can I measure AI visibility for nothing?
Yes, roughly, and it is worth doing before you spend. Write down fifteen questions a buyer asks before they know your product exists, ask all fifteen in two assistants in a logged-out session on the first of the month, and record whether you appear and which page gets cited when a competitor does. Repeat a month later. That costs an hour and tells you whether the category cites anyone consistently.
Are these prices in dollars, and are they monthly?
All prices here are US dollars, read through a United States egress because this machine is in the EU and several vendors price by region. Where a vendor's page defaults to annual billing and hides the monthly rate - Surfer, Peec AI and Profound - we label the figure "billed yearly" rather than converting it, because a rate we did not read is not a fact.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Semrush pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Semrush AI Visibility toolkit - checked 18 August 2026
- Moz Pro pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Otterly.ai pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Scrunch pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Frase pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Ahrefs pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Ahrefs Brand Radar - checked 18 August 2026
- Clearscope pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Profound pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Peec AI pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Surfer pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- AirOps pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Screaming Frog SEO Spider licence pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Google Search Console - checked 18 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.
