GitHub logo

GitHub Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

GitHub pricing starts at $4 a month, which is $48 over twelve months. There is a free plan, and a trial on the paid tiers: 30 days on Enterprise. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 9 August 2026.

See GitHub pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

GitHub pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The GitHub pricing page as captured on 9 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

GitHub ranking and coverage

In Development
#3 of 18 tied
Overall
#7 of 122 tied
Terms score
8.2 /10
Referenced here
2 pages

Cost position 7.5 · Portability 8 · Subscription flexibility 9 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.

GitHub pricing at a glance

GitHub pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Free for unlimited public and private repositories; Team $4 per user/month
Smallest invoice $4 a month, or $48 a year
How that is reached Team at $4 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan Yes
Free trial 30 days on Enterprise
How it charges freemium
Priced plans published 5 rows on the vendor's page
Affiliate programme No
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 9 August 2026

Every GitHub plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as freemium. Free trial: 30 days on Enterprise.

GitHub plans and prices, verified 9 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Free $0 per month per user - Unlimited public and private repos, 2,000 Actions minutes per month
Team $4 per month per user - Protected branches, code owners, 3,000 Actions minutes per month
Enterprise $21 per month per user - SAML SSO, audit log, GitHub Advanced Security available
Actions overage Add-on $0.008 per minute per usage Standard Linux runners; other runner types cost more
Storage overage Add-on $0.25 per GB per usage Packages and Actions artifacts beyond the included allowance

What GitHub actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

GitHub annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Teamper userper month$4$48
Enterpriseper userper month$21$252

GitHub pricing over time

Read from 15 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning June 2014 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.

  • Team changed 2 times between 10 June 2016 and 1 September 2026, from $25 to $4 per user.
  • Enterprise has been published at $21 per user in every capture we read, from 10 June 2016 to 1 September 2026.

Team

Archived prices for the GitHub Team plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$25 Not stated 10 June 2016 Single capture Archive
$9 per user 1 November 2017 1 May 2019 Archive
$4 per user 1 November 2020 1 September 2026 Archive
  • $25 to $9, between 10 June 2016 and 1 November 2017. One capture quotes per user and the other states no unit, so we cannot confirm the two figures are on the same basis and no percentage is stated. before / after
  • $9 to $4, between 1 May 2019 and 1 November 2020 (-55.6%). before / after

Enterprise

Archived prices for the GitHub Enterprise plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$21 per user 10 June 2016 1 September 2026 Archive
1 archived capture with no price we could read

The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.

  • 5 June 2014 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture

Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.

GitHub pricing against its competitors

Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.

Entry price for GitHub and its competitors, verified 9 August 2026
ProductCheapest paid entryFree planAgainst GitHub
GitHub$4 a monthYesThis product
GitLab$29 a monthYes+$25 a month (+625%)

Which GitHub plan should you buy?

Recommended GitHub plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You are an individual or small team, public or privateFreeUnlimited public and private repositories with unlimited collaborators and 2,000 Actions minutes. The most generous free tier in this category.
You need protected branches and code ownersTeam$4 per user a month. Cheap, and the usual reason to leave Free is review enforcement.
You need SAML SSO and audit logsEnterprise$21 per user. A large step, driven by identity and compliance requirements.
Your CI runs constantlyWatch Actions minutesOverage is $0.008 per minute on standard Linux runners and more on others. This is where GitHub bills grow unnoticed.
You must self-host for complianceConsider GitLab insteadGitLab can be self-hosted at every tier; GitHub's equivalent is enterprise-only.

Verdict by who you are

  • Almost any software teamYes

    The default for a reason. Unlimited private repos with unlimited collaborators free, and every tool you might add integrates with it first.

  • Open-source maintainerYes

    This is where contributors are. Nothing else is close for public projects.

  • Regulated organisation needing on-premiseCompare first

    Possible only at enterprise level. GitLab is the more natural fit for self-hosting.

  • Team wanting predictable CI costsCompare first

    Actions is excellent and metered. Without someone watching minutes, the bill surprises people.

  • Team wanting integrated project managementCompare first

    Projects has improved but is not a substitute for Jira or Linear.

Should you buy GitHub?

Buy GitHub if…

  • Almost any team writing software collaboratively
  • Open-source projects and public developer presence
  • Teams wanting CI/CD without running their own runners

Do not buy GitHub if…

  • Organisations requiring on-premise hosting on lower tiers
  • Teams wanting integrated project management as the primary tool
  • Anyone who needs predictable CI costs without monitoring usage

What leaving GitHub would cost

2/10 Lock-in

low lock-in

GitHub scores on self-hostable, public API. Portability 8/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.

The free tier is the story

Unlimited private repositories with unlimited collaborators, plus 2,000 Actions minutes a month, at no cost. For most small teams that is the whole product. The paid tiers exist for organisations that need enforcement: protected branches, required reviewers, code owners and, at Enterprise, SSO and audit logs.

Where the bill actually comes from

Seats are cheap. Compute is not. Actions bills per minute beyond the included allowance, and rates differ sharply by runner: Linux is the cheapest, Windows costs more, macOS considerably more again. A test matrix that fans out across operating systems on every push can cost more per month than the entire team’s licences. Set spending limits before you need them, not after.

GitHub or GitLab?

Choose GitHub when collaboration and ecosystem matter most, which is nearly always for teams that work with outside contributors or hire regularly. Choose GitLab when you want a complete DevOps pipeline in one product, or when self-hosting is a requirement rather than a preference. The gap on core Git workflow is small; the gap on network effects is not.

Copilot is a separate purchase

GitHub Copilot is licensed on its own, not bundled into Team or Enterprise. If AI assistance is part of the reason you are evaluating GitHub, price it as an additional per-seat cost rather than assuming the platform tier includes it.

GitHub questions, answered

Is GitHub worth it?
GitHub's real product is the network. Contributors already have accounts, tooling already integrates, and hiring assumes familiarity, so choosing anything else imposes a cost that has nothing to do with features.
How much does GitHub cost?
Free for unlimited public and private repositories; Team $4 per user/month. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Team, published at $4 a month, which works out at $4 a month or $48 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
Does GitHub have a free plan or free trial?
GitHub has a free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days on Enterprise.
What is the best GitHub alternative?
It depends on the job. GitLab: A more complete built-in DevOps pipeline, and self-hostable at every tier. Bitbucket: The natural choice if your organisation already lives in Atlassian tools. Gitea or Forgejo: Lightweight self-hosted Git when you want to own the whole thing.
Can I self-host GitHub?
Yes. GitHub can be run on your own infrastructure, so the data stays under your control.
Check GitHub pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Every claim below is about our work, not about GitHub. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.

  • Prices read from the vendor : yes

    Read from GitHub's own pricing page on 9 August 2026

  • Plans and terms recorded : yes

    5 rows, each with its billing period

  • Original screenshots : yes

    2 captured by us: pricing page, homepage

  • Sources cited and dated : yes

    1 primary source, each with the date it was read

  • Product used first-hand : no

    Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources

  • Alternatives used first-hand : no

    None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use

  • Vendor contacted : no

    Not contacted for this profile

Where GitHub appears on this site

2 other pages here reference GitHub. Every one is listed below, so the figure can be checked rather than taken.

  • Another profile Bitbucket names it as a competitor
  • Another profile GitLab names it as a competitor

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

One-click Google setting

Get our writing surfaced first on Google

If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.

  • Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
  • AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
  • Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Add EveryAny.One as a preferred source on Google

Opens Google's source preferences in a new tab.

Provenance and freshness

When each fact was last checked

  • Pricing ·
  • Plans ·
  • Free trial
  • Features
  • Platforms
  • Integrations
  • Affiliate programme
  • Company details

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • Per-user pricing and Actions overage rates verified
    • Added plan picker and verdicts

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. GitHub pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Reviewed by
EveryAny.One Editorial
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

More Development pricing

Stay in the loop

Software worth knowing about - once a week

New profiles, price changes we've spotted and one comparison worth reading. No sponsored placements in the email body. Unsubscribe in one click.