Akaunting
Finance
Self-hostable accounting with a free download, a licence cap at two users and paid feature apps.
Checked Aug 2026
Category
Accounting, invoicing, expenses, payroll and financial reporting.
We currently cover 9 products classified primarily as finance software, plus 6 more that cover it as a secondary capability. Prices below are the vendors' own published figures, checked in August 2026.
| Product | Best for | Starting price | Free plan | Trial | API |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akaunting | Businesses that must hold their own financial data | Free to self-host within the licence's limits; on-premise Premium $72/year, cloud from $8 per organisation/month billed yearly | Yes | Free trial on cloud plans, length not stated on the pricing page | Yes |
| Expensify | Teams that mainly need receipts captured and reimbursed | Free to scan receipts and send money; Collect $5 per member/month | Yes | - | Yes |
| FreshBooks | Freelancers and agencies billing for time | Lite $23/month, Plus $43, Premium $70 | No | 30 days | Yes |
| Oracle NetSuite | Mid-market companies outgrowing entry-level accounting software | Not publicly disclosed. Quoted per organisation | No | - | Yes |
| QuickBooks Online | US small businesses working with an external accountant | Free plan for 1 user and 2 invoices a month; Simple Start from $38/month | Yes | 30 days, or 90% off for 3 months instead of the trial | Yes |
| SAP Concur | Large organisations enforcing a travel and expense policy | Not publicly disclosed. Quoted per organisation | No | - | Yes |
| Wave | Sole traders and freelancers in the US or Canada | Starter free; Pro $19/month or $190/year | Yes | - | No |
| Xero | Small businesses outside the United States | Early from $25/month, rising to $27 on 1 October 2026 | No | 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026 | Yes |
| Zoho Books | Small businesses where several people need access to the books | Free under $50,000 of annual revenue; Standard $15 per organisation/month billed annually | Yes | 14 days on paid plans | Yes |
Finance
Self-hostable accounting with a free download, a licence cap at two users and paid feature apps.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Receipt scanning and expense reports, with a card that pays for the software.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Invoicing-first accounting for people who bill for their time.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Cloud ERP for companies that have outgrown accounting software.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
The small-business accounting default in the United States.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Expense, travel and invoice management for organisations with a spend policy.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Free double-entry accounting, funded by payment processing.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Cloud accounting built for the person doing the books, not just the accountant.
Checked Aug 2026
Finance
Accounting priced per organisation rather than per user, free under $50K of revenue.
Checked Aug 2026
These products are classified elsewhere but include meaningful finance capability.
Productivity
Content management for organisations where governance matters more than sync.
Checked Aug 2026
HR
Hire someone in another country without opening a company there.
Checked Aug 2026
Sales
CRM and ERP applications for organisations already standardised on Microsoft.
Checked Aug 2026
HR
HR, IT and finance on one employee record, priced only by quote.
Checked Aug 2026
Productivity
Enterprise work management for organisations that think in spreadsheets.
Checked Aug 2026
HR
Enterprise HR and finance on one system of record.
Checked Aug 2026
6 tools compared
Independent comparison of Wave, Zoho Books, Akaunting, Xero, FreshBooks and QuickBooks Online on the annual cost of three users, what a fourth costs, free-tier caps, payroll charged on top and price rises already announced.
Updated 24 August 2026