Okta logo

Okta Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

Okta pricing starts at $6 a month, which is $72 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 30 days. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 9 August 2026.

See Okta pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

Okta pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The Okta pricing page as captured on 9 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

Okta ranking and coverage

Terms rank
Unranked
Referenced here
1 page

Okta is not ranked because there are too few same-currency products in its category to position its entry price honestly. How the rank is calculated.

Okta pricing at a glance

Okta pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Starter from $6 per user/month, subject to annual contract minimums
Smallest invoice $6 a month, or $72 a year
How that is reached Starter at $6 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan No
Free trial 30 days
How it charges subscription
Priced plans published 4 rows on the vendor's page
Affiliate programme No
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 9 August 2026

Every Okta plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 30 days.

Okta plans and prices, verified 9 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Starter $6 per month per user - Single sign-on, MFA, Universal Directory and 5 Workflows
Core Essentials $14 per month per user - Middle option for teams not needing advanced security and compliance
Essentials $17 per month per user - Adds Adaptive MFA, Privileged Access, Lifecycle Management and Access Governance
Professional Inquire for pricing Negotiated Enterprise capabilities quoted per organisation

What Okta actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

Okta annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Starterper userper month$6$72
Core Essentialsper userper month$14$168
Essentialsper userper month$17$204

Okta pricing over time

Read from 15 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning November 2015 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.

  • Essentials changed 2 times between 2 July 2023 and 9 September 2026, from $23 to $17 per user.
  • Starter changed once between 10 May 2022 and 9 September 2026, from $4 per user to $6 per user, up 50% overall.
  • Core Essentials has been published at $14 per user in every capture we read, from 9 September 2025 to 9 September 2026.

Essentials

Archived prices for the Okta Essentials plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$23 Not stated 2 July 2023 Single capture Archive
$35 Not stated 17 September 2024 Single capture Archive
$17 per user 9 September 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • $23 to $35, between 2 July 2023 and 17 September 2024 (+52.2%). before / after
  • $35 to $17, between 17 September 2024 and 9 September 2025. One capture quotes per user and the other states no unit, so we cannot confirm the two figures are on the same basis and no percentage is stated. before / after

Starter

Archived prices for the Okta Starter plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$4 per user 10 May 2022 17 September 2024 Archive
$6 per user 9 September 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • $4 to $6, between 17 September 2024 and 9 September 2025 (+50%). before / after

Core Essentials

Archived prices for the Okta Core Essentials plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$14 per user 9 September 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
4 archived captures with no price we could read

The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.

  • 17 November 2015 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
  • 5 July 2018 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
  • 3 April 2020 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
  • 29 April 2021 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture

Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.

Which Okta plan should you buy?

Recommended Okta plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You need SSO and MFA across many SaaS applicationsStarter$6 per user, subject to annual contract minimums that are not published.
You want a middle option without advanced governanceCore Essentials$14 per user.
You need adaptive MFA, lifecycle management and access governanceEssentials$17 per user, and the tier where joiner-mover-leaver automation actually lives.
You are already on Microsoft 365 or Google WorkspaceCheck Entra ID or Google firstBoth include identity you already pay for. Okta's case is being vendor-neutral, which only matters if your estate is mixed.
You are a small teamAsk about the contract minimum before anything elseThe per-user price is published but the annual minimum is not, and it is what excludes small organisations.

Verdict by who you are

  • Company running many SaaS apps from mixed vendorsYes

    Vendor-neutral identity is the whole argument, and the integration catalogue is the deepest available.

  • IT team automating joiners and leaversYes

    Lifecycle Management on Essentials removes the manual deprovisioning that leaves former staff with access for months.

  • Microsoft 365 organisationNo

    Entra ID is included in licences you hold and covers most of this.

  • Small businessNo

    Annual contract minimums make this impractical below a certain size, and they are not published.

Should you buy Okta?

Buy Okta if…

  • Organisations running many SaaS applications across mixed vendors
  • Companies automating joiner, mover and leaver processes
  • Businesses that want identity independent of Microsoft or Google

Do not buy Okta if…

  • Small teams already covered by Entra ID or Google Workspace
  • Organisations below the annual contract minimum
  • Buyers wanting a single all-inclusive price

What leaving Okta would cost

5/10 Lock-in

moderate lock-in

Okta scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.

The entry price is not the entry cost

Starter is $6 per user per month, but Okta applies annual contract minimums, so a very small organisation cannot simply buy twenty seats and stop. Ask what the minimum is for your configuration before modelling per-user cost, because below a certain headcount the effective rate is considerably higher than the list price implies.

Starter, Core Essentials or Essentials?

Starter covers single sign-on, MFA and the directory. That is useful and it is not why most people buy Okta. Lifecycle Management, which provisions and deprovisions accounts automatically as people join, move and leave, sits at Essentials ($17). Since that automation is usually the business case, budget Essentials and treat Starter as the floor.

Core Essentials at $14 exists for organisations that want more than Starter without the full governance and security set.

The Entra ID question

If your organisation runs Microsoft 365, you already have an identity provider, and Entra ID handles single sign-on and conditional access competently. Okta earns its place when the estate is genuinely heterogeneous, when you want identity that does not favour one vendor, or when Lifecycle Management across many non-Microsoft applications is the requirement.

Why identity is worth doing properly

The unglamorous case: most access incidents are not sophisticated attacks but accounts that were never switched off. Automated deprovisioning tied to the HR system closes that gap on the day someone leaves rather than whenever IT gets to the ticket. That is the outcome to price against, not the login screen.

Okta questions, answered

Is Okta worth it?
Okta's argument is independence. Because it is not tied to a productivity suite, it treats every application as a first-class integration rather than favouring one vendor's estate, and Lifecycle Management genuinely remo
How much does Okta cost?
Starter from $6 per user/month, subject to annual contract minimums. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Starter, published at $6 a month, which works out at $6 a month or $72 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
Does Okta have a free plan or free trial?
Okta has no free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days.
What is the best Okta alternative?
It depends on the job. Microsoft Entra ID: Often already owned through Microsoft 365, and cheaper as a result. JumpCloud: Combines identity with device management, strong for smaller organisations. Auth0: Owned by Okta, and the usual choice for identity inside your own product.
Can I self-host Okta?
No. Okta is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Check Okta pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Every claim below is about our work, not about Okta. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.

  • Prices read from the vendor : yes

    Read from Okta's own pricing page on 9 August 2026

  • Plans and terms recorded : yes

    4 rows, each with its billing period

  • Original screenshots : yes

    2 captured by us: pricing page, homepage

  • Sources cited and dated : yes

    1 primary source, each with the date it was read

  • Product used first-hand : no

    Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources

  • Alternatives used first-hand : no

    None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use

  • Vendor contacted : no

    Not contacted for this profile

Where Okta appears on this site

One other page here references Okta, and it is listed below.

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

One-click Google setting

Get our writing surfaced first on Google

If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.

  • Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
  • AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
  • Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Add EveryAny.One as a preferred source on Google

Opens Google's source preferences in a new tab.

Provenance and freshness

When each fact was last checked

  • Pricing ·
  • Plans ·
  • Free trial
  • Features
  • Platforms
  • Integrations
  • Affiliate programme
  • Company details

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • Per-user pricing verified; contract minimums remain unpublished
    • Added plan picker and verdicts

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. Okta pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Reviewed by
EveryAny.One Editorial
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

Stay in the loop

Software worth knowing about - once a week

New profiles, price changes we've spotted and one comparison worth reading. No sponsored placements in the email body. Unsubscribe in one click.