Shopify Pricing
- Ecommerce pricing
- $29/mo at the smallest
Shopify pricing starts at $29 a month, which is $348 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 9 August 2026, and one charge that the headline price does not include is set out below.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.
Shopify ranking and coverage
- Terms rank
- Unranked
- Referenced here
- 1 page
Shopify is not ranked because there are too few same-currency products in its category to position its entry price honestly. How the rank is calculated.
Shopify pricing at a glance
| Entry price | From $29/month (Basic, billed yearly) or $39 monthly |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $29 a month, or $348 a year |
| How that is reached | Basic at $29 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Priced plans published | 5 rows on the vendor's page |
| Affiliate programme | Affiliate programme pays a fixed bounty per referred merchant; rates vary by region |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 9 August 2026 |
Every Shopify plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 9 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $29 | per month | Billed yearly, or $39 paying monthly. Card rates from 2.9% + 30 cents |
| Grow | $89 | per month | Billed yearly, or $105 paying monthly. Card rates from 2.7% + 30 cents |
| Advanced | $359 | per month | Billed yearly, or $399 paying monthly. Card rates from 2.5% + 30 cents |
| Plus | From $2,300 | per month | Enterprise tier. Card rates from 2.25% + 30 cents |
| POS Pro Add-on | $89 | per month | Add-on per retail location |
What Shopify costs beyond the advertised price
Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.
- Charged on top of a plan$1,068 a year
POS Pro is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $89 a month, which is $1,068 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.
Working$89 a month x 12 = $1,068 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.
Computed from the plan table on Shopify pricing , read 9 August 2026
What Shopify actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | per month | $29 | $348 |
| Grow | per month | $89 | $1,068 |
| Advanced | per month | $359 | $4,308 |
| Plus | per month | $2,300 | $27,600 |
| POS Pro add-on | per month | $89 | $1,068 |
Shopify pricing over time
Read from 21 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning November 2011 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.
- Advanced changed 5 times between 3 December 2013 and 1 September 2026, from $79 to $299, up 278.5% overall.
- Plus changed 4 times between 1 August 2017 and 1 September 2026, from $9 to $2,300, up 25455.6% overall.
- Basic changed 2 times between 1 September 2015 and 1 September 2026, from $29 to $29.
Advanced
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $79 | Not stated | 3 December 2013 | Single capture | Archive |
| $14 | Not stated | 1 September 2015 | Single capture | Archive |
| $29 | Not stated | 1 August 2017 | 4 July 2019 | Archive |
| $299 | Not stated | 1 May 2021 | Single capture | Archive |
| $399 | Not stated | 3 February 2023 | Single capture | Archive |
| $299 | Not stated | 2 December 2024 | 1 September 2026 | Archive |
- ↓ $79 to $14, between 3 December 2013 and 1 September 2015 (-82.3%). before / after
- ↑ $14 to $29, between 1 September 2015 and 1 August 2017 (+107.1%). before / after
- ↑ $29 to $299, between 4 July 2019 and 1 May 2021 (+931%). before / after
- ↑ $299 to $399, between 1 May 2021 and 3 February 2023 (+33.4%). before / after
- ↓ $399 to $299, between 3 February 2023 and 2 December 2024 (-25.1%). before / after
Plus
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $9 | Not stated | 1 August 2017 | 4 July 2019 | Archive |
| $89 | Not stated | 1 May 2021 | Single capture | Archive |
| $2,000 | Not stated | 3 February 2023 | Single capture | Archive |
| $1 | Not stated | 2 December 2024 | Single capture | Archive |
| $2,300 | Not stated | 1 September 2026 | Single capture | Archive |
- ↑ $9 to $89, between 4 July 2019 and 1 May 2021 (+888.9%). before / after
- ↑ $89 to $2,000, between 1 May 2021 and 3 February 2023 (+2147.2%). before / after
- ↓ $2,000 to $1, between 3 February 2023 and 2 December 2024 (-99.9%). before / after
- ↑ $1 to $2,300, between 2 December 2024 and 1 September 2026 (+229900%). before / after
Basic
Grow
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $79 | Not stated | 1 September 2026 | Single capture | Archive |
1 archived capture with no price we could read
The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.
- 2 November 2011 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.
Shopify pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Shopify |
|---|---|---|---|
| WooCommerce | $25 a month | Yes | −$4 a month (−14%) |
| Shopify | $29 a month | No | This product |
Which Shopify plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You are launching a store | Basic | $29 billed yearly, or $39 monthly, with card rates from 2.9% + 30 cents. The processing rate matters as much as the plan fee. |
| You are doing meaningful volume | Grow | $89 billed yearly, and card rates drop to 2.7%, which can offset the increase by itself. |
| Your card volume is high | Compare plan fee against processing savings | Advanced at $359 cuts rates to 2.5%. Work out the crossover from your own monthly card volume rather than the feature list. |
| You sell in person as well as online | Add POS Pro | $89 per retail location, on top of your plan. |
| You need custom checkout logic | Plus, or reconsider | Checkout customisation is largely gated to Plus from $2,300 a month. This surprises people planning bespoke flows. |
| Your shop is a small part of a content site | Consider WooCommerce instead | WordPress plus Woo fits a content-led site better, and takes no revenue share. |
Verdict by who you are
Direct-to-consumer brandYes
Hosting, security, PCI and checkout handled for a predictable fee. The checkout converts, and that is the product.
Merchant selling online and in storeYes
One inventory across both channels, which is genuinely hard to assemble otherwise.
High-volume merchant using an external gatewayCompare first
Third-party gateway fees apply on top. Model the total, because it can outweigh the plan difference.
Content-led business with a few productsNo
WooCommerce takes no revenue share and fits a content site better.
Merchant needing bespoke checkout below PlusNo
The customisation you want is gated to a much higher tier.
Should you buy Shopify?
Buy Shopify if…
- Direct-to-consumer brands selling physical products
- Merchants who want checkout and payments handled for them
- Businesses selling online and in person from one inventory
Do not buy Shopify if…
- Content-led sites where the shop is a small secondary feature
- Merchants needing deep custom checkout logic below Plus
- Anyone unwilling to pay transaction fees on external gateways
What leaving Shopify would cost
moderate lock-in
Shopify scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
The subscription is the small number
A merchant on Basic at $29 a month who processes $50,000 pays roughly $1,450 in card fees over the same period. Add three or four apps at $20 to $50 each and the platform fee is comfortably the smallest line on the invoice. When comparing Shopify against alternatives, compare card rates and app costs first; the headline plan price rarely decides anything.
Why the plans are really tiered
Moving from Basic to Grow to Advanced buys a lower card rate as much as it buys features: 2.9% to 2.7% to 2.5%, plus 30 cents per transaction. There is a crossover volume at which the higher subscription pays for itself purely on processing. Work out where that point is for your revenue rather than upgrading on feature envy.
The transaction fee that catches people
If you use an external payment gateway instead of Shopify Payments, Shopify charges an additional transaction fee on top of your gateway’s own cut. In markets where Shopify Payments is unavailable, this is an unavoidable cost that merchants frequently discover after launching.
Where Shopify is the wrong tool
If the shop is a small part of a content-led site, a hosted store is overkill and a lighter commerce plug-in on your existing CMS will serve better. If you need genuinely bespoke checkout logic, that capability lives on Plus at a very different price point. And if you sell purely digital products, several cheaper platforms handle licensing and delivery more gracefully.
Shopify questions, answered
- Is Shopify worth it?
- Shopify is the correct default for most people selling physical products online, and the reason is checkout rather than storefronts.
- How much does Shopify cost?
- From $29/month (Basic, billed yearly) or $39 monthly. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Basic, published at $29 a month, which works out at $29 a month or $348 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Shopify have a free plan or free trial?
- Shopify has no free plan. A free trial is available: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months.
- What is the best Shopify alternative?
- It depends on the job. WooCommerce: Cheaper and fully controllable if you already run WordPress and can maintain it. BigCommerce: No transaction fees on external gateways, with a smaller app ecosystem. Squarespace Commerce: Better when the site matters more than the store.
- Can I self-host Shopify?
- No. Shopify is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 9 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Shopify. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Shopify's own pricing page on 9 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
5 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
2 captured by us: pricing page, homepage
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
1 primary source, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Where Shopify appears on this site
One other page here references Shopify, and it is listed below.
- Another profile WooCommerce names it as a competitor
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details
What has changed
-
August 2026
- Plan pricing and card processing rates verified, annual and monthly
- Added plan picker and verdicts
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Shopify pricing - checked 9 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.
