Sketch Pricing
- Design pricing
- $12/mo at the smallest
Sketch pricing starts at $12 a month, which is $144 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 30 days. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 19 August 2026.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
Sketch ranking and coverage
- In Design
- #8 of 11 tied
- Overall
- #87 of 122 tied
- Terms score
- 4.8 /10
- Referenced here
- 1 page
Cost position 2.5 · Portability 6 · Subscription flexibility 6 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.
Sketch pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Standard $12 per editor/month billed yearly; Mac-only licence $120 one-time |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $12 a month, or $144 a year |
| How that is reached | Standard at $12 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 30 days |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Priced plans published | 5 rows on the vendor's page |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 19 August 2026 |
Every Sketch plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 30 days.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $12 | per month | per editor - Billed yearly. Unlimited documents, unlimited free viewers, version history |
| Professional | $24 | per month | per editor - Billed yearly. Adds SSO, project archiving and permission groups |
| Enterprise | $44 | per month | per editor - Billed yearly. Adds SCIM, BYOK encryption and dedicated support |
| Private Cloud | Contact sales | Negotiated | Private environment, choice of hosting location, unlimited workspaces |
| Mac-only licence | $120 | per one-time | per seat - Yours to keep. Includes one year of updates. No collaboration features |
What Sketch actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standardper editor | per month | $12 | $144 |
| Professionalper editor | per month | $24 | $288 |
| Enterpriseper editor | per month | $44 | $528 |
Sketch pricing over time
Read from 11 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning March 2019 to August 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.
- Standard changed 2 times between 9 May 2021 and 25 August 2026, from $9 to $12, up 33.3% overall.
Standard
Enterprise
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $44 | Not stated | 25 August 2026 | Single capture | Archive |
Professional
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $24 | Not stated | 25 August 2026 | Single capture | Archive |
3 archived captures with no price we could read
The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.
Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.
Sketch pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Sketch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Figma | $3 a month | Yes | −$9 a month (−75%) |
| Sketch | $12 a month | No | This product |
Which Sketch plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You work alone on a Mac and want no subscription | Mac-only licence | $120 once, yours to keep, with a year of updates. Read the exclusions: no collaboration, no online sharing. |
| You are a solo designer who shares work for review | Standard | $12 per editor billed yearly, and unlimited Viewers cost nothing. |
| Your team needs SSO and permission groups | Professional | $24 per editor. Bought for governance rather than for any drawing capability. |
| You have Windows or Linux machines in the team | Do not buy Sketch | Editing is macOS only, so a mixed-platform team is blocked immediately. Use Figma. |
| You need designers and developers collaborating live | Consider Figma instead | Sketch's collaboration works but is behind, and the industry has standardised elsewhere. |
Verdict by who you are
Solo Mac designerYes
Fast native app, files on your own disk, and the only credible one-time licence left in professional design software.
Design team on mixed platformsNo
macOS-only editing rules this out entirely, regardless of the product's quality.
Team hiring designers regularlyNo
New designers arrive fluent in Figma. Training them on Sketch is an avoidable cost.
Studio that values offline work and local filesCompare first
Genuine advantages, weighed against a shrinking ecosystem and plugin base.
Should you buy Sketch?
Buy Sketch if…
- Mac-based designers who want a fast native application
- Teams needing offline work and local file storage
- Anyone wanting a one-time purchase rather than a subscription
Do not buy Sketch if…
- Windows or Linux designers
- Teams where non-designers need to edit
- Organisations already standardised on Figma
What leaving Sketch would cost
moderate lock-in
Sketch scores on public API, documented export. Portability 6/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
The one-time licence still exists
This is genuinely unusual now and worth knowing about. Alongside the subscriptions, Sketch sells a Mac-only licence at $120 per seat, described on their page as “Yours to keep, forever,” including one year of updates.
Read the exclusions, because they are substantial. It has no collaborative features, no online document sharing and no iOS previewing, and there is no free trial for it. It is the native app, working offline, saving files locally.
For a solo designer who works alone on a Mac and does not need a shared workspace, that is a real alternative to paying forever. After the first year you keep the version you have; further updates require buying again.
Subscriptions, all quoted yearly
| Plan | Per editor/month | Adds |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | $12 | Collaboration, unlimited docs, version history |
| Professional | $24 | SSO, project archiving, permission groups |
| Enterprise | $44 | SCIM, BYOK encryption, dedicated support |
| Private Cloud | Quote | Private environment, hosting location choice |
Those figures are the yearly-billed rates; the page has a Monthly toggle that costs more. The trial is 30 days with no credit card.
Viewers are free and unlimited on every plan. Only editors are charged, which matters because in most organisations the people opening design files vastly outnumber the people changing them. That makes Sketch cheaper than the seat count suggests, and it is the same insight behind Coda’s Doc Maker pricing.
The Mac-only constraint is the decision
Editing happens in the native macOS app. The web app is for viewing, commenting and handoff. So a designer on Windows cannot design in Sketch, and a team with any Windows or Linux machines is immediately constrained.
Figma runs anywhere there is a browser. That single difference, more than any feature, is why the industry moved, and it is not something Sketch can answer without abandoning the native app that makes it good.
What you actually give up by choosing it
Hiring. New designers arrive fluent in Figma. Design systems, plugin ecosystems, handoff tooling and tutorials all target Figma first. Collaboration in Sketch works but feels like a feature added to a document tool rather than the foundation of one.
None of that makes Sketch bad. It makes it a specialist choice: a fast, native, independent, Mac-only tool with an honest one-time option. If those words describe what you want, it is still the best version of that thing.
Sketch questions, answered
- Is Sketch worth it?
- Sketch lost the category and is still a good tool.
- How much does Sketch cost?
- Standard $12 per editor/month billed yearly; Mac-only licence $120 one-time. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Standard, published at $12 a month, which works out at $12 a month or $144 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Sketch have a free plan or free trial?
- Sketch has no free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days.
- What is the best Sketch alternative?
- It depends on the job. Figma: Cross-platform, better collaboration, and where the industry went. Penpot: Open source and self-hostable, free for unlimited users. Adobe XD: Effectively discontinued; not a serious option for new work.
- Can I self-host Sketch?
- No. Sketch is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Sketch. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Sketch's own pricing page on 19 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
5 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
2 captured by us: pricing page, homepage
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
1 primary source, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Where Sketch appears on this site
One other page here references Sketch, and it is listed below.
- Another profile Penpot names it as a competitor
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details
What has changed
-
August 2026
- All four subscription rates and the $120 Mac-only licence re-read and unchanged
-
August 2026
- Pricing re-checked, including the one-time Mac-only licence and its exclusions
- Added plan picker and verdicts
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Sketch pricing - checked 19 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

