Front
A shared inbox for customer operations, from $25 a seat, with omnichannel starting at $65.
- Support
- Productivity
- from $25/mo
Front is a shared-inbox platform for customer operations, priced from $25 a seat a month billed annually for single-channel support up to ten seats. Omnichannel support, macros and SSO require Professional at $65 a seat, and each AI capability is a separate per-seat or per-conversation charge.
Front: the short answer
Every line below is drawn from facts verified on 20 August 2026.
- What it is
- A shared inbox for customer operations, from $25 a seat, with omnichannel starting at $65
- Best for
- Teams whose support is genuinely email-led and stays under ten seats
- Starts at
- Starter $25 per seat/month billed annually, up to 10 seats; Professional $65
- Free option
- No free plan, Free trial offered on Starter, length not stated on the pricing page trial
- Biggest strength
- The best shared inbox here at preserving individual sender identity
- Biggest drawback
- Starter is single-channel and capped at 10 seats, so $25 is not the omnichannel price
- Based on
- Primary-source research, not hands-on use
- Closest alternative
- Help Scout - $25 a user a month billed annually, with live chat, social messaging and knowledge bases included
- True annual cost
- from $300 a year on Starter, the cheapest paid tier ($25 a month)
Front at a glance
| Best for | Teams whose support is genuinely email-led and stays under ten seats, Operations teams handling logistics, accounts or partner enquiries, Companies wanting a shared inbox that keeps individual identity |
|---|---|
| Category | Support, Productivity |
| Starting price | Starter $25 per seat/month billed annually, up to 10 seats; Professional $65 |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | Free trial offered on Starter, length not stated on the pricing page |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Company | FrontApp, Inc. |
| Founded | 2013 |
| Headquarters | Not disclosed |
| Founders | Mathilde Collin, Laurent Perrin |
| Platforms | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android |
| Public API | Yes |
| Browser extension | No |
| Mobile apps | iOS + Android |
| Self-hosting | No |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Data source | Vendor pricing page and public records |
| Last checked | August 2026 |
Front pricing
Prices below were read from the vendor's own pricing page on 20 August 2026. Pricing model: subscription. Free trial: Free trial offered on Starter, length not stated on the pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $25 | per month | per seat, up to 10 seats - Billed annually, with the page advertising 24% off annual. Single-channel support, shared inbox and ticketing, AI Topics, up to 10 automation rules, basic analytics and a no-code public knowledge base |
| Professional | $65 | per month | per seat, up to 50 seats - Billed annually. Adds omnichannel support across email, SMS and social, macros, up to 20 automation rules, advanced analytics, multiple workspaces, SSO and SCIM |
| Enterprise | $105 | per month | per seat - Billed annually. Adds smart rules, unlimited rules and macros, a multi-language knowledge base, custom roles, and Copilot, Smart QA and Smart CSAT included |
| Autopilot AI agent | From $0.05 | per usage | Per conversation, quoted by sales rather than self-serve |
| Copilot | $20 | per month | per seat - A real-time agent assistant. Included on Enterprise |
| Smart QA | $20 | per month | per seat - Automated quality review of agent performance. Included on Enterprise |
| Smart CSAT | $10 | per month | per seat - AI-inferred satisfaction ratings. Included on Enterprise |
What Front actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starterper seat, up to 10 seats | per month | $25 | $300 |
| Professionalper seat, up to 50 seats | per month | $65 | $780 |
| Enterpriseper seat | per month | $105 | $1,260 |
| Copilot add-onper seat | per month | $20 | $240 |
| Smart QA add-onper seat | per month | $20 | $240 |
| Smart CSAT add-onper seat | per month | $10 | $120 |
Which Front plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| An email-led team of fewer than ten | Starter | $25 a seat a month billed annually, single-channel, with a public knowledge base included. |
| You need email, SMS and social in one inbox | Professional | $65 a seat a month billed annually. This is the plan most buyers actually mean. |
| You need SSO or multiple workspaces | Professional | Both arrive here, which is earlier than most rivals put them. |
| You want AI assistance included | Enterprise | $105 a seat a month, which includes Copilot, Smart QA and Smart CSAT rather than charging $20, $20 and $10 a seat for them. |
| You are heading past 50 seats | Talk to sales before you commit | Professional is capped at 50 seats, and plans cannot be combined across an organisation. |
| You want omnichannel support cheaply | Consider Chatwoot or Help Scout instead | $19 and $25 a seat a month respectively, both with all channels at the entry tier. |
Verdict by who you are
Account-management or operations teamYes
Individual identity inside a shared inbox is Front's real advantage, and it fits relationship work better than a ticket queue.
Email-only support team under ten seatsCompare first
Starter at $25 a seat works, provided single-channel really is enough.
Small team needing omnichannelNo
$65 a seat is the price, which is above Zendesk and triple Chatwoot for the same job.
Team relying on AI deflectionNo
Every AI capability is a separate charge below Enterprise, and the agent is quoted by sales rather than published.
Business wanting to self-hostNo
Not offered at any tier.
Should you buy Front?
Buy Front if…
- Teams whose support is genuinely email-led and stays under ten seats
- Operations teams handling logistics, accounts or partner enquiries
- Companies wanting a shared inbox that keeps individual identity
Do not buy Front if…
- Small teams needing omnichannel support on a budget
- Buyers who read the $25 headline as the price of a support platform
- Teams that will pass 50 seats without an enterprise conversation
Best Front alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Omnichannel support at the entry tier | Chatwoot | $19 an agent a month billed annually with all channels and a help centre. |
| A shared inbox with a human tone | Help Scout | $25 a user a month billed annually, with live chat and social messaging included. |
| Never pay per seat | FreeScout | Unlimited agents free under AGPL-3.0, with one-time module purchases. |
| Deep routing and an app marketplace | Zendesk | The category's deepest platform, at $55 an agent a month for the comparable tier. |
Key features
- Shared inbox that preserves individual sender identity
- Ticketing, assignment and internal comments on shared conversations
- No-code public knowledge base on every plan
- Omnichannel across email, SMS and social from Professional
- Macros and automation rules, capped by tier
- Multiple workspaces, SSO and SCIM from Professional
- Analytics, with advanced reporting from Professional
- Four separately priced AI capabilities
Integrations
- Front API and webhooks
- CRM and commerce integrations through the Front app store
- Email, SMS and social channels from Professional
- SSO and SCIM identity providers from Professional
Front screenshots
Captured by us in August 2026 at 1440px, unedited. Interfaces change, so these show the product as it looked on the date we verified this profile. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded above.

Our assessment
Front is a good shared inbox with a pricing structure that punishes anyone who reads the headline. Starter at $25 a seat a month is described by Front itself as "single-channel support" and capped at ten seats, so the plan most buyers picture - one inbox handling email, chat and social - is Professional at $65 a seat, which is dearer than Zendesk Suite Team at $55 and more than three times Chatwoot at $19. On top of that, AI is sold four ways and none of them is included below Enterprise: Copilot and Smart QA at $20 a seat each, Smart CSAT at $10, and the Autopilot agent from $0.05 a conversation quoted by sales. A ten-seat team on Professional with Copilot is $10,200 a year. What that buys is genuinely distinctive: Front keeps individual identity in a shared inbox better than any rival here, which is why it sits well with account management, logistics and partner operations rather than high-volume consumer support. Buy it for that, with Professional priced from the start. The one thing this profile cannot tell you is how it feels to work in all day, because nobody here has.
What works in Front
- The best shared inbox here at preserving individual sender identity
- A no-code public knowledge base is included on every plan, including Starter
- Multiple workspaces, SSO and SCIM arrive at Professional rather than Enterprise
- Suits operations work - logistics, accounts, partners - not just support queues
What doesn't
- Starter is single-channel and capped at 10 seats, so $25 is not the omnichannel price
- Professional at $65 a seat is dearer than Zendesk's comparable Suite Team tier
- Four separate AI charges, none included below Enterprise
- No free plan, and no self-hosting
EveryAny Decision Score
3 of these 8 dimensions are calculated from verified facts; the rest are our judgement, shown as a band rather than a figure unless something specific sits behind them. How each score works.
- Cost position1.7/10
derivedentry tier at $25 a month against a category median of $25 a month across 6 comparable tools
- Portability5/10
derivedpublic API
- Subscription flexibility6/10
derivedfree trial, subscription, monthly billing
- Feature depth7/10
editorialShared inbox, ticketing, knowledge base and analytics on every plan, with omnichannel, macros, SSO and workspaces staged at Professional and smart rules at Enterprise.
- Ease of learningHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Collaboration9/10
editorialShared conversations with internal comments and assignment while preserving individual sender identity, which is the feature Front is chosen for.
- AI capability4/10
editorialFour AI capabilities, all charged separately below Enterprise - Copilot $20 a seat, Smart QA $20, Smart CSAT $10, and the Autopilot agent from $0.05 a conversation quoted by sales.
- Professional adoptionHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
What leaving Front would cost
moderate lock-in
Front scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Front competitors and alternatives
| Alternative | Why you might pick it instead |
|---|---|
| Help Scout | $25 a user a month billed annually, with live chat, social messaging and knowledge bases included. |
| Chatwoot | $19 an agent a month with all channels, or free self-hosted under an MIT licence. |
| Zendesk | Deeper routing, SLAs and app ecosystem, at $55 an agent a month for a comparable tier. |
Help Scout
Support
A shared inbox that never makes your customer feel like a ticket.
Checked Aug 2026
Zendesk
Support
Customer support ticketing that grew into a full service platform.
Checked Aug 2026
Intercom
Support
Customer messaging that reinvented itself around an AI agent.
Checked Aug 2026
$25 a seat is the single-channel price
Front’s own description of Starter is “Essential capabilities to get started with single-channel support”, and it is capped at ten seats. Omnichannel - email, SMS and social in one inbox - is Professional, at $65 a seat a month.
| Plan | Per seat a month | Seat cap | Channels |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $25 | 10 | Single channel |
| Professional | $65 | 50 | Email, SMS, social |
| Enterprise | $105 | None published | Email, SMS, social |
Both figures are billed annually, with the page advertising 24% off for annual billing. Set the middle row against our support comparison: Zendesk Suite Team is $55 an agent a month, Help Scout Standard is $25 a user with live chat and social included, and Chatwoot Startups is $19 an agent.
Front is the most expensive comparable tier in that comparison. That is a defensible price for the right team and an expensive surprise for anyone who shortlisted it on the headline rate.
AI is four separate charges
| Front AI | Price | Included on |
|---|---|---|
| Autopilot, the AI agent | From $0.05 a conversation, quoted by sales | Not published |
| Copilot, agent assistant | $20 a seat a month | Enterprise |
| Smart QA | $20 a seat a month | Enterprise |
| Smart CSAT | $10 a seat a month | Enterprise |
A ten-seat team on Professional wanting Copilot pays $85 a seat a month, so $10,200 a year. On Enterprise at $105 a seat a month the three assistants are included, which makes the $105 tier better value than Professional plus add-ons for any team that wants them - a discontinuity worth doing the arithmetic on before signing.
What it is actually good at
Front keeps individual identity inside a shared inbox. A customer replying to an email from a named person gets a thread with that person, while the team still sees, assigns and comments on it. Ticket-shaped tools flatten that into a queue with a reference number.
That is why Front turns up in account management, logistics, freight, accounts payable and partner operations rather than only in consumer support. If your inbound work is relationships rather than tickets, that difference is the product.
Caps worth reading before you buy
- Starter stops at 10 seats. Hiring an eleventh person is a move to $65 a seat for everybody.
- Professional stops at 50 seats. Beyond that is Enterprise and a sales conversation.
- Plans cannot be combined. The FAQ is explicit that plans are assigned at the organisation level, so a mixed team of ten heavy users and forty occasional ones pays one rate for all fifty.
What we have not done
Nobody here has worked in Front for a day, so there is no measurement of how it feels under volume and no test of its AI. What is checked is the three published tiers, their seat caps and channel limits, the four AI charges and the plan-combination rule - all read on 20 August 2026.
Front questions, answered
- Is Front worth it?
- Front is a good shared inbox with a pricing structure that punishes anyone who reads the headline.
- How much does Front cost?
- Starter $25 per seat/month billed annually, up to 10 seats; Professional $65. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Starter, published at $25 a month, which works out at $25 a month or $300 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Front have a free plan or free trial?
- Front has no free plan. A free trial is available: Free trial offered on Starter, length not stated on the pricing page.
- What is the best Front alternative?
- It depends on the job. Help Scout: $25 a user a month billed annually, with live chat, social messaging and knowledge bases included. Chatwoot: $19 an agent a month with all channels, or free self-hosted under an MIT licence. Zendesk: Deeper routing, SLAs and app ecosystem, at $55 an agent a month for a comparable tier.
- Can I self-host Front?
- No. Front is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Front. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Front's own pricing page on 20 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
7 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
2 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Front's own pricing and about pages, read on 20 August 2026 through a United States egress. Nobody here has worked in Front, so the claim that it preserves individual identity better than rivals is a reading of how the product is described and positioned rather than a measurement. Annual totals in this profile are arithmetic on the vendor's per-seat rates.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details ·
Individually sourced claims
-
Starter is $25 a seat a month up to 10 seats, Professional $65 up to 50 seats and Enterprise $105, all billed annually
Front pricing ↗ · checked
-
Front describes Starter as single-channel support, with omnichannel across email, SMS and social arriving on Professional
Front pricing ↗ · checked
-
Copilot and Smart QA are $20 a seat a month each, Smart CSAT $10, and the Autopilot AI agent starts at $0.05 a conversation, all included on Enterprise
Front pricing, Front AI section ↗ · checked
-
Plans are assigned at the organisation level and seats cannot be combined across plans
Front pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
-
Front was founded in 2013 by Mathilde Collin and Laurent Perrin
About Front ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with all three tiers and four AI charges read from the vendor's pricing page
- Recorded that Starter is single-channel and capped at 10 seats, so the omnichannel price is $65 a seat rather than $25
- Recorded the 50-seat cap on Professional
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Front pricing - checked 20 August 2026
- About Front - checked 20 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

