Intercom Pricing
- Support pricing
- $29/mo at the smallest
Intercom pricing starts at $29 a month, which is $348 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 14 days. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 20 August 2026, and 3 charges that the headline price does not include are set out below.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 20 August 2026.
Intercom ranking and coverage
- In Support
- #7 of 7
- Overall
- #117 of 122 tied
- Terms score
- 3.7 /10
- Referenced here
- 4 pages
Cost position 0 · Portability 5 · Subscription flexibility 6 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.
Intercom pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Essential $29 per seat/month billed annually, plus $0.99 per Fin outcome |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $29 a month, or $348 a year |
| How that is reached | Essential at $29 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 14 days |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Priced plans published | 6 rows on the vendor's page |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 20 August 2026 |
Every Intercom plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 20 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 14 days.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essential | $29 | per month | per seat, billed annually - $39 billed monthly, which the calculator shows as $468 a year against $348. Plus $0.99 per Fin outcome. Messenger, shared inbox and ticketing, public help centre and pre-built reports |
| Advanced | $85 | per month | per seat, billed annually - Plus from $0.99 per Fin outcome. Workflows, round robin, 20 free Lite seats. Seat price read from the rendered page, which displays it as an animated digit reel rather than text |
| Expert | $132 | per month | per seat, billed annually - Plus from $0.99 per Fin outcome. SSO, HIPAA, SLAs, 50 free Lite seats. Seat price read from the rendered page, which displays it as an animated digit reel rather than text |
| Fin AI Agent | $0.99 | per usage | Per outcome, charged once per conversation. Can run alongside an existing help desk with no seat cost, subject to a minimum monthly commitment the FAQ gives as, for example, 50 outcomes |
| Copilot Add-on | $29 | per month | per agent, billed annually - $35 billed monthly, for unlimited usage |
| Proactive Support Plus Add-on | $99 | per month | Includes 500 messages, covering product tours, surveys, in-app messages, mobile push and carousels. Additional messages are charged per unit |
What Intercom costs beyond the advertised price
Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.
- Charged on top of a plan$348 a year
Copilot is a separate $29 per agent a month, which doubles the Essential seat price and adds $348 a year for every agent who needs it.
Working$29 Essential + $29 Copilot = $58 a seat a month. The add-on is $29 x 12 = $348 a year.
Intercom pricing , read 20 August 2026
- Monthly billing costs more$120 a year
Paying monthly instead of annually adds $120 a seat a year on Essential: $468 against $348.
Working$39 a seat a month x 12 = $468. $29 x 12 = $348. The difference is $120 a seat a year.
Intercom pricing , read 20 August 2026
- Metered usageDepends on usage
Every Intercom tier charges $0.99 per Fin outcome on top of the seat price, so 500 resolved conversations a month would add $5,940 a year.
Working$0.99 x 500 outcomes = $495 a month, or $5,940 a year, charged on top of the $29 to $132 seat price. The figure moves with volume, so it is not summed with the fixed mechanics.
Intercom pricing , read 20 August 2026
Fixed mechanics above add $468 a year to the advertised price. Usage-dependent charges are listed but not summed, because a figure that depends on how much you use cannot be added to one that does not.
What Intercom actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentialper seat, billed annually | per month | $29 | $348 |
| Advancedper seat, billed annually | per month | $85 | $1,020 |
| Expertper seat, billed annually | per month | $132 | $1,584 |
| Copilot add-onper agent, billed annually | per month | $29 | $348 |
| Proactive Support Plus add-on | per month | $99 | $1,188 |
Intercom pricing over time
Read from 10 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning January 2017 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.
- Advanced changed 3 times between 6 June 2021 and 4 September 2026, from $65 to $99, up 52.3% overall.
- Fin AI Agent has been published at $0.99 per seat in every capture we read, from 12 November 2024 to 4 September 2026.
Advanced
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $65 | Not stated | 6 June 2021 | 15 August 2022 | Archive |
| $99 | per seat | 27 November 2023 | Single capture | Archive |
| $85 | per seat | 12 November 2024 | Single capture | Archive |
| $99 | Not stated | 17 October 2025 | 4 September 2026 | Archive |
- ↔ $65 to $99, between 15 August 2022 and 27 November 2023. One capture quotes per seat and the other states no unit, so we cannot confirm the two figures are on the same basis and no percentage is stated. before / after
- ↓ $99 to $85, between 27 November 2023 and 12 November 2024 (-14.1%). before / after
- ↔ $85 to $99, between 12 November 2024 and 17 October 2025. One capture quotes per seat and the other states no unit, so we cannot confirm the two figures are on the same basis and no percentage is stated. before / after
Fin AI Agent
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0.99 | per seat | 12 November 2024 | 4 September 2026 | Archive |
1 archived capture with no price we could read
The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.
- 29 January 2017 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. 2 plan series were read from these captures and then discarded, because the most recent capture did not reproduce the price we verified on the live page. Only plans the extraction demonstrably reads correctly are published here. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.
Intercom pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Intercom |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zendesk | $19 a month | No | −$10 a month (−34%) |
| Freshdesk | $19 a month | No | −$10 a month (−34%) |
| Intercom | $29 a month | No | This product |
Which Intercom plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You support users inside a product and want AI deflection | Essential | $29 per seat billed annually, plus from $0.99 per Fin resolution. |
| You need workflows and round-robin assignment | Advanced | $85 per seat, and 20 free Lite seats for colleagues who only need occasional access. |
| You need SSO, HIPAA or SLAs | Expert | $132 per seat with 50 free Lite seats. A compliance purchase. |
| You already have a help desk you like | Fin AI Agent alone | Fin can run on top of an existing desk with no seats at all, billed per resolution. This is the most overlooked option here. |
| You need predictable monthly costs | Do not buy Intercom | Per-resolution pricing means a busy month costs more. If finance needs a fixed number, this is the wrong model. |
| You run email-only support | Consider Help Scout or Freshdesk | Cheaper and sufficient. Intercom's value is conversational and in-product. |
Verdict by who you are
SaaS company with in-product supportYes
The Messenger and in-app targeting are the best in the category, and support in context beats email.
Team with high ticket volume and repetitive questionsYes
Fin deflects a genuine share of contacts. At $0.99 a resolution, compare that against the cost of an agent handling the same volume.
Company with an existing help deskCompare first
Buy Fin on its own rather than migrating. No seats required.
Finance-constrained organisationNo
Variable per-resolution billing is difficult to budget and hard to cap.
Traditional ticketing operationNo
Intercom is conversational by design. Zendesk fits queue-based ticketing better.
Should you buy Intercom?
Buy Intercom if…
- SaaS companies supporting users inside the product
- Teams deploying AI to deflect a large share of contacts
- Businesses combining support with proactive engagement
Do not buy Intercom if…
- Email-only support desks, where cheaper tools suffice
- Organisations that cannot tolerate variable monthly costs
- Teams needing traditional ticketing above conversational support
What leaving Intercom would cost
moderate lock-in
Intercom scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Outcome pricing, explained
Intercom charges from $0.99 each time Fin resolves a conversation without a human. Not per conversation started, per conversation resolved. That is a meaningfully different promise from metered AI elsewhere, and it is why Intercom is willing to attach a public guarantee to it.
The arithmetic that matters: if Fin resolves 2,000 conversations a month at $0.99, that is $1,980. The question is whether those 2,000 conversations would otherwise have consumed enough agent time to justify more than $1,980 a month in salary. For high-volume, repetitive support the answer is usually yes. For 200 conversations a month with complex questions, it is usually no.
You will likely pay twice
Most teams need both. Humans hold seats at $29, $85 or $132 depending on tier, and Fin bills per resolution on top. Budget both lines, and note that Advanced and Expert include 20 and 50 free Lite seats respectively for colleagues who only need occasional access.
Fin without Intercom
Worth knowing: Fin can be attached to an existing help desk, including Salesforce, with no Intercom seats at all. If you are happy with Zendesk or Freshdesk but want a stronger AI agent, that is a real option and avoids a full migration.
Where the model works against you
Variable cost is the trade. A product incident, a confusing release or a seasonal spike increases resolutions and therefore the invoice, at precisely the moment you are least pleased about it. Organisations that need predictable monthly costs should price a seat-based competitor and accept a weaker AI agent.
Intercom questions, answered
- Is Intercom worth it?
- Intercom has bet the company on outcome-based AI pricing, and it is the most interesting pricing model in support software.
- How much does Intercom cost?
- Essential $29 per seat/month billed annually, plus $0.99 per Fin outcome. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Essential, published at $29 a month, which works out at $29 a month or $348 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Intercom have a free plan or free trial?
- Intercom has no free plan. A free trial is available: 14 days.
- What is the best Intercom alternative?
- It depends on the job. Zendesk: Stronger traditional ticketing and reporting at enterprise scale. Crisp or Help Scout: Considerably cheaper for straightforward conversational support. Freshdesk: Better value if you need a conventional help desk rather than in-product messaging.
- Can I self-host Intercom?
- No. Intercom is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 20 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Intercom. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Intercom's own pricing page on 20 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
6 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
2 captured by us: pricing page, homepage
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
1 primary source, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Intercom's own pricing page and pricing calculator, read on 20 August 2026 through a United States egress. The pricing page renders seat prices as animated digit reels, so the DOM text reads "$01234567890123456789" - the figures here come from the calculator page, which publishes them as plain text. Nobody here has run support in Intercom, and no Fin outcome was purchased or measured.
Where Intercom appears on this site
4 other pages here reference Intercom. Every one is listed below, so the figure can be checked rather than taken.
- Another profile Chatwoot names it as a competitor
- Another profile FreeScout picks it for ai deflection on top of any desk
- Another profile Front names it as a competitor
- Another profile Help Scout names it as a competitor
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details
Individually sourced claims
-
Essential is $29 a seat a month, Advanced $85 and Expert $132, billed annually, published as plain text on Intercom's own pricing calculator
Intercom pricing calculator ↗ · checked
-
Essential billed monthly is $468 a year against $348 billed annually, so $39 a seat a month
Intercom pricing calculator ↗ · checked
-
Fin is $0.99 per outcome, charged once per conversation, and can run with an existing help desk with no seat cost subject to a minimum monthly commitment
Intercom pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
-
Copilot is $29 an agent a month billed annually or $35 monthly, and Proactive Support Plus is $99 a month including 500 messages
Intercom pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
-
WhatsApp, SMS, email campaigns and phone are charged by usage on top of seats, while inbound support is included
Intercom pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- Re-read the seat prices from Intercom's pricing calculator, which publishes as text what the pricing page renders as an animated reel - Essential $29, Advanced $85, Expert $132 billed annually
- Recorded the monthly rate for Essential at $39 a seat, from the calculator's $468 annual figure
- Updated Fin's wording from resolution to outcome, the vendor's current term, and recorded the minimum monthly commitment on the standalone route
- Added Copilot at $29 an agent and Proactive Support Plus at $99 a month for 500 messages
-
August 2026
- Per-seat and per-resolution pricing verified, including free Lite seat allowances
- Added plan picker and verdicts
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Intercom pricing - checked 20 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.
