Surfer Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

Surfer pricing starts at $49 a month, which is $588 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 18 August 2026, and one charge that the headline price does not include is set out below.

See Surfer pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 18 August 2026.

Surfer pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The Surfer pricing page as captured on 18 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

Surfer ranking and coverage

In SEO
#6 of 13 tied
Overall
#77 of 122 tied
Terms score
5.1 /10
Referenced here
2 pages

Cost position 4.2 · Portability 5 · Subscription flexibility 6 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.

Surfer pricing at a glance

Surfer pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly
Smallest invoice $49 a month, or $588 a year
How that is reached Discovery at $49 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan No
Free trial Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page
How it charges subscription
Priced plans published 6 rows on the vendor's page
Affiliate programme Through PartnerStack: 75% CPA on a first monthly payment and 15% of a first yearly payment at tier one, rising to 125% and 25% above fifty referred customers
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 18 August 2026

Every Surfer plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 18 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page.

Surfer plans and prices, verified 18 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Discovery $49 per month 1 team seat - Billed yearly; the page advertises a $120 annual saving against monthly billing. 120 documents, 10 tracked pages, no AI-prompt tracking
Standard $99 per month 3 team seats - Billed yearly; $240 advertised annual saving. 360 documents, 25 AI prompts refreshed weekly, ChatGPT only
Pro $182 per month 5 team seats - Billed yearly; $444 advertised annual saving. 50 AI prompts refreshed daily across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google, AI Overviews and Gemini; 5 brand workspaces
Peace of Mind $299 per month 10 team seats - Billed yearly; $720 advertised annual saving. Unlimited documents, 100 daily AI prompts, API access
Enterprise $999 per month Tailored packages, SSO, white-label and priority support
AI Search Analytics Add-on $158 per month Bought on its own without the content tools. Billed yearly, $324 advertised annual saving, at 100 daily prompts; the slider on the page also offers 50, 200 and unlimited

What Surfer costs beyond the advertised price

Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.

  1. Charged on top of a plan$1,896 a year

    AI Search Analytics is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $158 a month, which is $1,896 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.

    Working$158 a month x 12 = $1,896 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.

    Computed from the plan table on Surfer pricing , read 18 August 2026

What Surfer actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

Surfer annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Discovery1 team seatper month$49$588
Standard3 team seatsper month$99$1,188
Pro5 team seatsper month$182$2,184
Peace of Mind10 team seatsper month$299$3,588
Enterpriseper month$999$11,988
AI Search Analytics add-onper month$158$1,896

Surfer pricing against its competitors

Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.

Entry price for Surfer and its competitors, verified 18 August 2026
ProductCheapest paid entryFree planAgainst Surfer
Ahrefs$29 a monthYes−$20 a month (−41%)
Surfer$49 a monthNoThis product
Semrush$139 a monthYes+$90 a month (+184%)

Which Surfer plan should you buy?

Recommended Surfer plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You write for one site and want optimisation onlyDiscovery$49 a month billed yearly, 120 documents, one seat, and no AI-prompt tracking at all.
You have a small content team and want a first look at AI visibilityStandard$99 a month billed yearly buys three seats and 25 weekly prompts on ChatGPT. Treat that tracking as a sample rather than a measurement.
AI visibility is a real part of the briefPro$182 a month billed yearly is where prompts go daily and cover five platforms. Below this the tracking cannot answer the question you are asking it.
You only want the AI-answer trackingAI Search Analytics$158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts, without paying for the content tools. Cheaper than Pro if you already optimise elsewhere.
You need a monthly rolling commitmentCheck the monthly price before subscribingEvery self-serve figure on the pricing page is a yearly commitment quoted monthly, and annual plans are charged for the whole year up front.

Verdict by who you are

  • In-house content team of three to fiveYes

    Seats are included rather than sold separately, and the optimisation workflow is the one writers will actually use.

  • SEO consultant who needs research dataNo

    No backlink index, no keyword database and no crawler. This is a companion, not a platform.

  • Brand that mainly needs AI-visibility measurementCompare first

    AI Search Analytics at $158 a month billed yearly is competitive on prompt volume, though cheaper dedicated trackers exist.

  • Solo blogger on a tight budgetCompare first

    Discovery at $49 a month billed yearly is fair for optimisation, but it tracks no prompts.

Should you buy Surfer?

Buy Surfer if…

  • Content teams optimising drafts against the current search results
  • Writers who work in Google Docs or WordPress
  • Small teams that want AI-visibility tracking bundled with content work

Do not buy Surfer if…

  • Backlink and technical SEO research
  • Anyone who needs a monthly-billing price they can read from the pricing page
  • Teams tracking more than a handful of AI prompts on the entry tier

Best Surfer alternative for each job

Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.

Surfer alternatives by job to be done
If you mainly need to… Use Why
Optimise a draft against what ranks Clearscope Same job, unlimited users, and a simpler editor, at $129 a month.
Optimise, publish and watch for decay Frase Covers optimisation, site audits, publishing and AI visibility from $49 a month.
Track AI answers only Otterly.ai $29 a month for 15 prompts across four engines, with unlimited team members.
Keyword and backlink research Ahrefs Surfer has no index of its own; this is the job it does not do.

What leaving Surfer would cost

5/10 Lock-in

moderate lock-in

Surfer scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.

The price on the page is a yearly commitment

Every self-serve figure Surfer shows - $49, $99, $182, $299 - is a monthly rate billed yearly, and the pricing FAQ confirms the whole year is charged when you buy. The page advertises the annual saving beside each plan ($120, $240, $444, $720) and states the discount is up to 17% against paying monthly, but it does not print the monthly figure itself unless you switch the control.

Read the commitment before the number. If you want to pay month to month, the rate you will actually be charged is not on the page.

Where the AI tracking actually starts

Standard, at $99 a month billed yearly, tracks 25 AI prompts refreshed weekly, on ChatGPT alone. That is enough to see whether you appear at all, and not enough to see whether anything changed.

Pro, at $182 a month billed yearly, moves to 50 prompts refreshed daily across five platforms - ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google, AI Overviews and Gemini. Peace of Mind doubles that to 100.

If tracking is the reason you are here, the standalone AI Search Analytics plan is the cheaper route: $158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts, with mention gap, brand sentiment and share of voice, and no content tools attached. Compare it with the dedicated trackers in AI search visibility before assuming a bundle is the better deal.

Seats are included, which is unusual here

Most tools in this category include one user and sell the rest. Surfer includes three seats on Standard, five on Pro and ten on Peace of Mind. For a content team of three, that difference is worth more than the feature list: Ahrefs Lite at $129 a month includes one user and charges $40 a month for each of the next two.

What it does not do

No backlink index. No keyword database of its own. No site crawler. Surfer reads the search results and scores content against them, which means it sits alongside a research platform rather than replacing one. Be sceptical of any comparison that puts it head to head with Semrush; they are answering different questions.

Surfer questions, answered

Is Surfer worth it?
Surfer does one job unusually well: it reads the pages already ranking for a query and tells a writer what is missing from theirs, inside Google Docs or WordPress rather than in a separate tab.
How much does Surfer cost?
Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Discovery, published at $49 a month, which works out at $49 a month or $588 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
Does Surfer have a free plan or free trial?
Surfer has no free plan. A free trial is available: Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page.
What is the best Surfer alternative?
It depends on the job. Clearscope: Fewer features, unlimited users, and a cleaner editor for large content teams. Frase: Covers the same optimisation job plus publishing and site audits, for less. Semrush: Content optimisation inside a platform you may already pay for.
Can I self-host Surfer?
No. Surfer is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Check Surfer pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 18 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Every claim below is about our work, not about Surfer. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.

  • Prices read from the vendor : yes

    Read from Surfer's own pricing page on 18 August 2026

  • Plans and terms recorded : yes

    6 rows, each with its billing period

  • Original screenshots : yes

    1 captured by us: pricing page

  • Sources cited and dated : yes

    2 primary sources, each with the date it was read

  • Product used first-hand : no

    Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources

  • Alternatives used first-hand : no

    None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use

  • Vendor contacted : no

    Not contacted for this profile

Desk research from Surfer's own pricing and affiliate pages, read on 18 August 2026 through a United States egress because this machine geolocates to the EU. Nobody here has used Surfer, and no output quality was assessed.

Where Surfer appears on this site

2 other pages here reference Surfer. Every one is listed below, so the figure can be checked rather than taken.

  • Another profile Clearscope picks it for optimise content with a team of writers
  • Another profile Frase names it as a competitor

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

One-click Google setting

Get our writing surfaced first on Google

If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.

  • Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
  • AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
  • Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Add EveryAny.One as a preferred source on Google

Opens Google's source preferences in a new tab.

Provenance and freshness

When each fact was last checked

  • Pricing ·
  • Plans ·
  • Free trial
  • Features
  • Platforms
  • Integrations
  • Affiliate programme ·
  • Company details ·

Individually sourced claims

  • Standard tracks 25 AI prompts refreshed weekly, on ChatGPT only

    Surfer pricing ↗ · checked

  • AI Search Analytics can be bought separately at $158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts

    Surfer pricing ↗ · checked

  • Annual plans are charged for the entire year on purchase

    Surfer pricing FAQ ↗ · checked

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • First published, with every plan read from the vendor pricing page through a US egress
    • Recorded that the pricing page defaults to annual billing and does not show monthly rates

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. Surfer pricing - checked 18 August 2026
  2. Surfer affiliate programme - checked 18 August 2026
Reviewed by
EveryAny.One Editorial
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

More SEO pricing

Stay in the loop

Software worth knowing about - once a week

New profiles, price changes we've spotted and one comparison worth reading. No sponsored placements in the email body. Unsubscribe in one click.