Xero logo

Xero Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

Xero pricing starts at $25 a month, which is $300 over twelve months. There is no free plan, but there is a trial: 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 19 August 2026, and one charge that the headline price does not include is set out below.

See Xero pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.

Xero pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The Xero pricing page as captured on 19 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

Xero ranking and coverage

In Finance
#7 of 7
Overall
#113 of 122
Terms score
4.1 /10
Referenced here
5 pages

Cost position 1.4 · Portability 5 · Subscription flexibility 6 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.

Xero pricing at a glance

Xero pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Early from $25/month, rising to $27 on 1 October 2026
Smallest invoice $25 a month, or $300 a year
How that is reached Early at $25 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan No
Free trial 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026
How it charges subscription
Priced plans published 5 rows on the vendor's page
Affiliate programme No
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 19 August 2026

Every Xero plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026.

Xero plans and prices, verified 19 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Early $25 per month Unlimited users - Limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills a month, and a 30-day cash-flow forecast. Rising to $27 on 1 October 2026
Growing $55 per month Unlimited users - Unlimited invoices and bills, auto-reconciliation, custom dashboards and a 60-day forecast. Rising to $59 on 1 October 2026
Established $90 per month Unlimited users - Adds multi-currency, project time and costs, expense claims and a 180-day forecast. Rising to $97 on 1 October 2026
Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto Add-on $36 per month Plus $6 per employee or contractor a month. Optional on every plan
Inventory Plus Add-on Not disclosed Negotiated Listed as optional on Growing and Established, with no figure on the pricing page

What Xero costs beyond the advertised price

Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.

  1. Charged on top of a plan$432 a year

    Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $36 a month, which is $432 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.

    Working$36 a month x 12 = $432 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.

    Computed from the plan table on Xero pricing plans , read 19 August 2026

What Xero actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

Xero annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
EarlyUnlimited usersper month$25$300
GrowingUnlimited usersper month$55$660
EstablishedUnlimited usersper month$90$1,080
Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto add-onper month$36$432

Xero pricing against its competitors

Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.

Entry price for Xero and its competitors, verified 19 August 2026
ProductCheapest paid entryFree planAgainst Xero
Xero$25 a monthNoThis product
QuickBooks Online$38 a monthYes+$13 a month (+52%)

Which Xero plan should you buy?

Recommended Xero plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
You issue very few invoicesEarly$25 a month, capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills. That cap catches people out, so count first.
You invoice regularlyGrowing$55 a month with unlimited invoices and bills. The working tier for most businesses.
You trade in several currencies or track projectsEstablished$90 a month, adding multi-currency, expenses and project tracking.
You have several people needing accessAny tierUnlimited users are included on every plan, which is the main structural advantage over QuickBooks and FreshBooks.
You are a US business with a US accountantConsider QuickBooks Online insteadAccountant familiarity in the US is a real cost saving.
You only need invoicingConsider Wave insteadFree, and adequate if you never need more.

Verdict by who you are

  • Business outside the United StatesYes

    Better international coverage than QuickBooks, and bank feeds work properly in more countries.

  • Company with several people touching the booksYes

    Unlimited users on every plan. On FreshBooks each extra person is $11 a month, which changes the comparison entirely.

  • US business with an external accountantCompare first

    Xero is good, but most US accountants work in QuickBooks and that familiarity has value.

  • Sole trader issuing a handful of invoicesCompare first

    Early's 20-invoice cap is restrictive at $25. Wave is free if invoicing is genuinely all you need.

Should you buy Xero?

Buy Xero if…

  • Small businesses outside the United States
  • Companies where several people need accounting access
  • Businesses working closely with an accountant or bookkeeper

Do not buy Xero if…

  • US businesses whose accountant only works in QuickBooks
  • Very high transaction volumes on the entry plan
  • Organisations needing genuine ERP capability

What leaving Xero would cost

5/10 Lock-in

moderate lock-in

Xero scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.

Unlimited users is the real differentiator

Every Xero plan permits unlimited users with role-based permissions. Compare that with QuickBooks Online, where Simple Start is one user and Essentials is three, and the comparison changes shape. A business with an owner, a bookkeeper, an office manager and an external accountant pays nothing extra on Xero and upgrades twice on QuickBooks.

The Early plan trap

Early is $25 a month and capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills per month. That sounds workable and usually is not: a business invoicing weekly across a handful of clients passes it quickly, and bills accumulate faster still. Treat Growing at $55 a month as the realistic starting price unless you genuinely invoice a handful of times a month.

Geography decides more than features

In the UK, Australia, New Zealand and much of Europe, Xero is the default and accountants expect it. In the US, QuickBooks holds that position, and handing a Xero file to an American accountant creates friction that no feature advantage overcomes. Ask your accountant before choosing, because their familiarity is worth more than any comparison table.

The advertised price is neither the list price nor next year’s

Two dated facts sat behind Xero’s price card when we read it on 20 August 2026, and they point in opposite directions.

The discount. New US customers got 90% off for six months, so Early showed $2.50 a month, Growing $5.50 and Established $9 a month. The offer terms carried a deadline - 30 September 2026 at 11:59pm UTC, US only, one organisation, code DC90626308US - and stated that the discount does not apply to add-ons, usage or payment fees.

The rise. Xero has published a US price increase effective 1 October 2026:

PlanBefore 1 October 2026From 1 October 2026
Early$25 a month$27 a month
Growing$55 a month$59 a month
Established$90 a month$97 a month

It applies to existing subscribers as well as new ones, and the same page says the multi-organisation discount begins to be phased out from that date.

Which figure applies to you depends on when you are reading this. The plan table on this page holds the left-hand column, because that is what we verified on 20 August 2026. If you are reading after 1 October, the right-hand column is the list price and the discount above has closed - both dates are the vendor’s own, and neither depends on us returning to this page. A buyer who signed in September pays $2.50 a month until March and $27 a month after that.

Xero questions, answered

Is Xero worth it?
Xero's design assumes a business owner will use it, not only an accountant, and it shows in the reconciliation flow and the general clarity of the interface.
How much does Xero cost?
Early from $25/month, rising to $27 on 1 October 2026. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Early, published at $25 a month, which works out at $25 a month or $300 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
Does Xero have a free plan or free trial?
Xero has no free plan. A free trial is available: 30 days, or 90% off for six months for new US customers who buy by 30 September 2026.
What is the best Xero alternative?
It depends on the job. QuickBooks Online: The stronger choice in the US, where accountant familiarity dominates. FreeAgent: Well suited to UK freelancers and contractors, often free with a bank account. Wave: Free accounting for very small businesses with simple needs.
Can I self-host Xero?
No. Xero is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Check Xero pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Every claim below is about our work, not about Xero. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.

  • Prices read from the vendor : yes

    Read from Xero's own pricing page on 19 August 2026

  • Plans and terms recorded : yes

    5 rows, each with its billing period

  • Original screenshots : yes

    2 captured by us: pricing page, homepage

  • Sources cited and dated : yes

    1 primary source, each with the date it was read

  • Product used first-hand : no

    Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources

  • Alternatives used first-hand : no

    None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use

  • Vendor contacted : no

    Not contacted for this profile

Desk research from Xero's own pricing and pricing-update pages, read on 19 August 2026 and re-read on 20 August, through a United States egress. The plan prices here are the ones in force before the rise Xero has published for 1 October 2026, and every plan row carries its post-October figure, so this record reads correctly on both sides of that date. Nobody here has kept books in Xero, and bank-feed coverage was not tested - which is the thing Xero is usually bought for outside the United States. The October price rise is the vendor's own published figure, not a projection.

Where Xero appears on this site

5 other pages here reference Xero. Every one is listed below, so the figure can be checked rather than taken.

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

One-click Google setting

Get our writing surfaced first on Google

If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.

  • Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
  • AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
  • Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Add EveryAny.One as a preferred source on Google

Opens Google's source preferences in a new tab.

Provenance and freshness

When each fact was last checked

  • Pricing ·
  • Plans ·
  • Free trial
  • Features
  • Platforms
  • Integrations
  • Affiliate programme
  • Company details

Individually sourced claims

  • Early is $25 a month, Growing $55 and Established $90, with unlimited users on every plan

    Xero pricing plans ↗ · checked

  • US prices rise on 1 October 2026 - Early from $25 to $27, Growing from $55 to $59 and Established from $90 to $97 - for new and existing subscribers, with the multi-organisation discount phased out from the same date

    Xero pricing update ↗ · checked

  • Between the dates we read it and 30 September 2026 at 11:59pm UTC, Xero offered new US customers 90% off for six months - Early at $2.50 a month, Growing $5.50 and Established $9 - under code DC90626308US, for one organisation, excluding add-ons, usage and payment fees

    Xero pricing plans, offer terms ↗ · checked

  • The plan prices recorded on this profile were read on 20 August 2026, before that rise took effect

    Xero pricing plans ↗ · checked

  • Early is limited to 20 invoices and 5 bills a month

    Xero pricing plans ↗ · checked

  • Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, is $36 a month plus $6 per employee or contractor

    Xero pricing plans, plan comparison table ↗ · checked

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • Re-read both dated facts, unchanged: the 90%-off offer still runs to 30 September 2026 at 11:59pm UTC, and the rise to $27, $59 and $97 still takes effect on 1 October 2026
    • Moved both out of timeLimited and into claims. The offer is now a past-tense-safe observation; the price rise never belonged there, because it dates a current price rather than expiring a claim
    • Recorded explicitly that the plan prices on this profile predate the October rise, so a reader arriving later knows which side of it they are on
  2. August 2026

    • Recorded the price rise Xero has published for 1 October 2026 - Early $27, Growing $59, Established $97 - and dated the current figures accordingly
    • Recorded the 90%-off-for-six-months offer with the vendor's own 30 September 2026 deadline
    • Added Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, at $36 a month plus $6 an employee
    • Recorded unlimited users explicitly on every plan
  3. August 2026

    • Pricing and invoice caps verified
    • Added plan picker and verdicts

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. Xero pricing plans - checked 19 August 2026
Reviewed by
EveryAny.One Editorial
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

More Finance pricing

Stay in the loop

Software worth knowing about - once a week

New profiles, price changes we've spotted and one comparison worth reading. No sponsored placements in the email body. Unsubscribe in one click.