Akaunting Pricing
- Finance pricing
- $6/mo at the smallest
- Free plan
Akaunting pricing starts at $6 a month, which is $72 over twelve months. There is a free plan, and a trial on the paid tiers: Free trial on cloud plans, length not stated on the pricing page. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 19 August 2026, and 2 charges that the headline price does not include are set out below.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
Akaunting ranking and coverage
- In Finance
- #1 of 7
- Overall
- #9 of 122 tied
- Terms score
- 8 /10
- Referenced here
- 1 page
Cost position 7.1 · Portability 9 · Subscription flexibility 8 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.
Akaunting pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Free to self-host within the licence's limits; on-premise Premium $72/year, cloud from $8 per organisation/month billed yearly |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $6 a month, or $72 a year |
| How that is reached | $72 a year on Premium, on-premise, divided by twelve |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Free trial | Free trial on cloud plans, length not stated on the pricing page |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Priced plans published | 10 rows on the vendor's page |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 19 August 2026 |
Every Akaunting plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: Free trial on cloud plans, length not stated on the pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard, on-premise | $0 | per month | 1 user plus 1 accountant - Free download for one company and 1,000 invoices, with community support. The Business Source Licence permits production use only up to two users, one company and one thousand invoices |
| Premium, on-premise | $72 | per year | 10 users - 10 companies and 10,000 invoices, with ticket support. Also sold as a $756 lifetime licence |
| Elite, on-premise | $168 | per year | 30 users - 30 companies and 30,000 invoices. Also sold as a $1,764 lifetime licence |
| Ultimate, on-premise | $684 | per year | Unlimited users - Unlimited companies. Also sold as a $7,224 lifetime licence |
| Standard, cloud | $8 | per month | 1 user plus 1 accountant - Billed yearly, advertised as four months free; $12 billed monthly. One company, 1,000 invoices and 4 of the app store's apps included |
| Premium, cloud | $24 | per month | 10 users - Billed yearly; $36 billed monthly. 10 companies, 10,000 invoices and 10 apps, and the cloud tier where double-entry, bank feeds, expense claims, roles and the client portal are listed as included |
| Elite, cloud | $56 | per month | 30 users - Billed yearly; $84 billed monthly. 30 companies, 30,000 invoices and 30 apps |
| Ultimate, cloud | $145 | per month | Unlimited users - Billed yearly; $218 billed monthly. Unlimited companies and invoices, with all 50+ apps included |
| Double-Entry app Add-on | $72 | per year | Chart of accounts, balance sheet, general ledger, trial balance and manual journals, from $6 a month. A self-hosted installation needs this to keep double-entry books |
| Payroll app Add-on | $60 | per year | Pay calendars and print-ready payslips, from $5 a month. It generates payslips; it does not file payroll taxes with an authority |
What Akaunting costs beyond the advertised price
Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.
- Charged on top of a plan$72 a year
Double-Entry app is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $72 a year, which is $72 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.
Working$72 a year as published, which is $6 a month spread over twelve.
Computed from the plan table on Akaunting cloud plans , read 19 August 2026
- Charged on top of a plan$60 a year
Payroll app is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $60 a year, which is $60 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.
Working$60 a year as published, which is $5 a month spread over twelve.
Computed from the plan table on Akaunting cloud plans , read 19 August 2026
Fixed mechanics above add $132 a year to the advertised price. Usage-dependent charges are listed but not summed, because a figure that depends on how much you use cannot be added to one that does not.
What Akaunting actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Premium, on-premise10 users | per year | $6 | $72 |
| Elite, on-premise30 users | per year | $14 | $168 |
| Ultimate, on-premiseUnlimited users | per year | $57 | $684 |
| Standard, cloud1 user plus 1 accountant | per month | $8 | $96 |
| Premium, cloud10 users | per month | $24 | $288 |
| Elite, cloud30 users | per month | $56 | $672 |
| Ultimate, cloudUnlimited users | per month | $145 | $1,740 |
| Double-Entry app add-on | per year | $6 | $72 |
| Payroll app add-on | per year | $5 | $60 |
Akaunting pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Akaunting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Akaunting | $6 a month | Yes | This product |
| Zoho Books | $15 a month | Yes | +$9 a month (+150%) |
| Wave | $19 a month | Yes | +$13 a month (+217%) |
| Xero | $25 a month | No | +$19 a month (+317%) |
Which Akaunting plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A one-person business that wants to hold its own data | Standard on-premise, free | Within the licence's two-user, one-company, 1,000-invoice limit, the download costs nothing. Add the Double-Entry app at $72 a year if you need real books. |
| Three people need access, self-hosted | Premium on-premise plus the Double-Entry app | $72 plus $72 a year, so $144, with ten users and 10,000 invoices included. |
| You would rather not run a server | Premium cloud | $24 an organisation a month billed yearly, and the cloud tier whose feature list includes double-entry and bank feeds without a separate app purchase. |
| You prefer to pay once | A lifetime licence | $756 for Premium on-premise, $1,764 for Elite. No rival in our comparison offers this. |
| You need payroll that files taxes | Look elsewhere | The payroll app prints payslips. Wave, Xero and QuickBooks all sell payroll that files with the authorities. |
| You want a free multi-user ledger | Consider Wave instead | Free, unlimited users, real double-entry, and no licence limit on production use. |
Verdict by who you are
Business with a data-residency requirementYes
Self-hosting is the whole argument, and no other product in this comparison offers it.
One-person business on a budgetCompare first
Free within the licence limits, but the free build has no double-entry, so budget $72 a year for the app.
Three-person businessCompare first
$144 a year self-hosted is the cheapest multi-user option here, and you are also the sysadmin.
Anyone relying on "open source"No
The licence is Business Source, not an open-source licence, and it caps free production use at two users, one company and 1,000 invoices.
Business that needs payroll and bank feeds out of the boxNo
Neither is in the free build, and the payroll app does not file taxes.
Should you buy Akaunting?
Buy Akaunting if…
- Businesses that must hold their own financial data
- One-person businesses within the free licence's two-user limit
- Buyers who prefer a lifetime licence to a subscription
Do not buy Akaunting if…
- Anyone who needs bank feeds and tax filing out of the box
- Teams who assume "open source" means unrestricted production use
- Businesses wanting payroll that files taxes with an authority
Best Akaunting alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Free multi-user books with no licence limit | Wave | Unlimited users and invoices at no cost, in the US and Canada. |
| Cheapest hosted books for a small team | Zoho Books | $15 an organisation a month billed annually, with three users and double-entry included. |
| Capability and bank feeds that work | Xero | Unlimited users, and a mature ledger with wide bank-feed coverage. |
| Work in what your US accountant uses | QuickBooks Online | The US default, with a free tier for one user. |
What leaving Akaunting would cost
low lock-in
Akaunting scores on self-hostable, public API, open source. Portability 9/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
The licence says something the marketing does not
Akaunting’s own pages describe it as “online, open source and free accounting software”. The file in its repository is Business Source Licence 1.1, and its additional use grant reads:
You may make production use of the Licensed Work, provided you do not use it in any of the following ways: (1) Use the Licensed Work with a total of more than two users or one company or one thousand invoices.
So the free download is free for production use up to two users, one company and 1,000 invoices. Past that, you need one of the on-premise plans - which is a legitimate business model, and not what “open source” means. Two further restrictions in the same grant: you may not remove the branding to ship a rebranded version, and you may not run it as an “Accounting Service” for third parties.
Each version does become open source eventually. The change date is four years from publication, and the change licence is GPLv3, so today’s release is GPLv3 in 2030 while today’s terms are BSL.
We record this because it is the sort of thing a comparison page repeats from a vendor’s homepage without checking. Ours checked.
Double-entry is an app you buy
The other thing to price before assuming the free build is a ledger: double-entry accounting is a separate purchase. The app store lists Double-Entry - chart of accounts, balance sheet, general ledger, trial balance, manual journals - at $72 a year.
Without it, a self-hosted Akaunting is an invoicing and expense tracker. With it, the honest cost of keeping three people’s books on your own server is:
| Item | A year |
|---|---|
| On-premise Premium licence, 10 users | $72 |
| Double-Entry app | $72 |
| Total | $144 |
That is still the cheapest multi-user option among the finance tools we price - under Zoho Books at $180 a year and well under Xero at $300 - and $144 is the figure to budget against, rather than the nothing the download implies.
Cloud, or your own server, at different prices
The two routes are priced separately and the cloud plans explicitly do not apply to a self-hosted install.
| Plan | On-premise | Cloud, billed yearly |
|---|---|---|
| Standard, 1 user + accountant | Free | $8 a month |
| Premium, 10 users | $72 a year, or $756 lifetime | $24 a month |
| Elite, 30 users | $168 a year, or $1,764 lifetime | $56 a month |
| Ultimate, unlimited | $684 a year, or $7,224 lifetime | $145 a month |
The lifetime licences are unusual and worth noting: nothing else in our accounting comparison sells one. At a $756 one-off, on-premise Premium pays for itself against its own $72 annual price in ten and a half years, which is a long bet on a vendor whose location, founding date and funding are not published.
On the cloud tiers, double-entry, bank feeds, expense claims, roles and the client portal are listed as included from Premium, so the app-store purchase is a self-hosting concern rather than a universal one.
What is missing
- Payroll that files taxes. The Payroll app makes pay calendars and print-ready payslips at $60 a year. It does not file with a tax authority. Wave charges $40 a month plus $6 an employee and files in all fifty US states.
- Bank feeds on the free build. They arrive with Premium.
- Support. Community forum on Standard, ticket support once you pay.
- A published company. No location, no founding date, no funding, though the pricing page says the company has served hundreds of thousands of businesses since 2017.
What we have not done
Nobody here has installed Akaunting, run a month through it, or tested a single bank feed. What is checked is the two price lists, two app listings and the licence file - read on 19 August 2026. The licence reading is the part of this profile we would most want someone to check for themselves, because it contradicts the vendor’s own description, and the file is one click away.
Akaunting questions, answered
- Is Akaunting worth it?
- Akaunting is the only product in our accounting comparison you can run on your own server, and the reason to look at it is data ownership rather than price or capability.
- How much does Akaunting cost?
- Free to self-host within the licence's limits; on-premise Premium $72/year, cloud from $8 per organisation/month billed yearly. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Premium, on-premise, published at $72 a year, which works out at $6 a month or $72 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Akaunting have a free plan or free trial?
- Akaunting has a free plan. A free trial is available: Free trial on cloud plans, length not stated on the pricing page.
- What is the best Akaunting alternative?
- It depends on the job. Wave: Free with unlimited users, invoices and real double-entry, but hosted by Wave and US or Canada only. Zoho Books: $15 an organisation a month with three users and double-entry included, hosted by Zoho. Xero: Far more capable and $300 a year at the entry tier, with no self-hosting at any price.
- Can I self-host Akaunting?
- Yes. Akaunting can be run on your own infrastructure, so the data stays under your control.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Akaunting. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Akaunting's own pricing page on 19 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
10 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
5 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Akaunting's own cloud and on-premise pricing pages and its two app-store listings, read on 19 August 2026 through a United States egress, plus the licence file and star count from the GitHub repository. The licence claim in this profile comes from reading LICENSE.txt, not from the site's description of the product as open source, and the two disagree. Nobody here has installed or used Akaunting.
Where Akaunting appears on this site
One other page here references Akaunting, and it is listed below.
- Another profile Zoho Books picks it for own the ledger outright
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details
Individually sourced claims
-
The on-premise Standard plan is a free download for one company, one user plus an accountant and 1,000 invoices
Akaunting on-premise plans ↗ · checked
-
On-premise Premium is $72 a year or $756 lifetime, Elite $168 or $1,764, and Ultimate $684 or $7,224
Akaunting on-premise plans ↗ · checked
-
Cloud plans are $8, $24, $56 and $145 an organisation a month billed yearly, or $12, $36, $84 and $218 billed monthly
Akaunting cloud plans ↗ · checked
-
Akaunting ships under Business Source Licence 1.1, whose additional use grant excludes production use with more than two users, more than one company or more than one thousand invoices, and converts each version to GPLv3 four years after publication
-
The Double-Entry app is sold separately from $6 a month, or $72 a year
Akaunting app store, Double-Entry ↗ · checked
-
The Payroll app is sold separately from $5 a month, or $60 a year, and is described as producing print-ready payslips rather than filing taxes
Akaunting app store, Payroll ↗ · checked
-
The cloud plans do not apply to a self-hosted installation, which needs an on-premise plan
Akaunting cloud plans FAQ ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with cloud and on-premise plans read from the vendor's own two pricing pages
- Read the licence file rather than the marketing copy, and recorded that the Business Source Licence caps free production use at two users, one company and 1,000 invoices
- Recorded that double-entry accounting is a separately purchased app at $72 a year
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Akaunting cloud plans - checked 19 August 2026
- Akaunting on-premise plans - checked 19 August 2026
- Akaunting Double-Entry app - checked 19 August 2026
- Akaunting Payroll app - checked 19 August 2026
- LICENSE.txt in akaunting/akaunting - checked 19 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.



