Zoho Books Pricing

Facts verified AUGUST 2026

Zoho Books pricing starts at $15 a month, which is $180 over twelve months. There is a free plan, and a trial on the paid tiers: 14 days on paid plans. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 19 August 2026, and 3 charges that the headline price does not include are set out below.

See Zoho Books pricing ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.

Zoho Books pricing page, showing the published plans and prices recorded on this page
The Zoho Books pricing page as captured on 19 August 2026. Captured from a US vantage point, so the currency matches the figures recorded here.

Zoho Books ranking and coverage

In Finance
#2 of 7
Overall
#36 of 122
Terms score
6.6 /10
Referenced here
1 page

Cost position 5.7 · Portability 5 · Subscription flexibility 9 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.

Zoho Books pricing at a glance

Zoho Books pricing facts, verified August 2026
Entry price Free under $50,000 of annual revenue; Standard $15 per organisation/month billed annually
Smallest invoice $15 a month, or $180 a year
How that is reached Standard at $15 a month
Seat minimum None on the entry plan
Free plan Yes
Free trial 14 days on paid plans
How it charges freemium
Priced plans published 8 rows on the vendor's page
Affiliate programme No
Prices read from The vendor's own pricing page
Last checked 19 August 2026

Every Zoho Books plan and what it costs

Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Charged as freemium. Free trial: 14 days on paid plans.

Zoho Books plans and prices, verified 19 August 2026
Plan Price Billing What it is
Free $0 per month 1 user plus 1 accountant - Available indefinitely while revenue for the financial year stays under $50,000, capped at 1,000 invoices a year. Includes invoices, expenses, bank reconciliation, 1099 tracking and 50+ reports
Standard $15 per month 3 users, per organisation - Billed annually; $20 billed monthly. Up to 5,000 invoices a year. Adds bank feeds, API access, custom fields and reports, recurring expenses and 1099 e-filing
Professional $40 per month 5 users, per organisation - Billed annually; $50 billed monthly. Up to 10,000 invoices a year. Adds purchase orders, inventory tracking, project profitability, retainers and multi-currency
Premium $60 per month 10 users, per organisation - Billed annually; $70 billed monthly. Up to 25,000 invoices a year. Adds budgets, cash-flow forecasting, fixed assets, basic revenue recognition and a custom domain
Elite $120 per month 10 users, per organisation - Billed annually; $150 billed monthly. Up to 100,000 invoices a year. Adds warehouse management, serial and batch tracking and sales-channel connections
Ultimate $240 per month 15 users, per organisation - Billed annually; $275 billed monthly. Adds advanced analytics over three million rows
Extra users Add-on $2.50 per month per user - Billed annually; $3 billed monthly. The mechanism that makes a fourth user cost $30 a year rather than a tier change
Zoho Payroll Add-on $29 per month A separate product. Standard is $29 an organisation a month billed annually plus $5 an employee, or $39 plus $6 billed monthly

What Zoho Books costs beyond the advertised price

Each of these is a figure you can check on the vendor's own page. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it rather than take our word for it.

  1. Charged on top of a plan$348 a year

    Zoho Payroll is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $29 a month, which is $348 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.

    Working$29 a month x 12 = $348 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.

    Computed from the plan table on Zoho Books pricing , read 19 August 2026

  2. Monthly billing costs more$60 a year

    The advertised $15 on Standard is the annual-payment rate. Paying monthly is $20, so the commitment is worth $60 a year per organisation.

    Working$20 - $15 = $5 a month, x 12 = $60 a year per organisation.

    Computed from the plan table on Zoho Books pricing , read 19 August 2026

  3. Charged on top of a plan$30 a year

    Extra users is charged on top of a plan rather than instead of one: $2.5 a month, which is $30 a year on top of whichever tier you hold.

    Working$2.5 a month x 12 = $30 a year, added to a tier price rather than replacing it.

    Computed from the plan table on Zoho Books pricing , read 19 August 2026

Fixed mechanics above add $438 a year to the advertised price. Usage-dependent charges are listed but not summed, because a figure that depends on how much you use cannot be added to one that does not.

What Zoho Books actually costs over a year

A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.

Zoho Books annual cost by plan
PlanQuotedMonthlyOver 12 months
Standard3 users, per organisationper month$15$180
Professional5 users, per organisationper month$40$480
Premium10 users, per organisationper month$60$720
Elite10 users, per organisationper month$120$1,440
Ultimate15 users, per organisationper month$240$2,880
Extra users add-onper userper month$2.5$30
Zoho Payroll add-onper month$29$348

Zoho Books pricing over time

Read from 25 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning September 2015 to September 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.

  • Professional changed 2 times between 5 September 2015 and 9 September 2026, from $29 to $50, up 72.4% overall.
  • Elite changed once between 13 May 2023 and 9 September 2026, from $120 to $150, up 25% overall.
  • Premium changed once between 29 January 2022 and 9 September 2026, from $60 to $70, up 16.7% overall.
  • Ultimate changed once between 13 May 2023 and 9 September 2026, from $240 to $275, up 14.6% overall.

Professional

Archived prices for the Zoho Books Professional plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$29 Not stated 5 September 2015 4 February 2021 Archive
$40 Not stated 29 January 2022 1 March 2024 Archive
$50 Not stated 14 January 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • $29 to $40, between 4 February 2021 and 29 January 2022 (+37.9%). before / after
  • $40 to $50, between 1 March 2024 and 14 January 2025 (+25%). before / after

Elite

Archived prices for the Zoho Books Elite plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$120 Not stated 13 May 2023 1 March 2024 Archive
$150 Not stated 14 January 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • $120 to $150, between 1 March 2024 and 14 January 2025 (+25%). before / after

Premium

Archived prices for the Zoho Books Premium plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$60 Not stated 29 January 2022 1 March 2024 Archive
$70 Not stated 14 January 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • $60 to $70, between 1 March 2024 and 14 January 2025 (+16.7%). before / after

Ultimate

Archived prices for the Zoho Books Ultimate plan
Published price Charged Seen from Last seen Capture
$240 Not stated 13 May 2023 1 March 2024 Archive
$275 Not stated 14 January 2025 9 September 2026 Archive
  • $240 to $275, between 1 March 2024 and 14 January 2025 (+14.6%). before / after

Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. 1 plan series was read from these captures and then discarded, because the most recent capture did not reproduce the price we verified on the live page. Only plans the extraction demonstrably reads correctly are published here. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.

Zoho Books pricing against its competitors

Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.

Entry price for Zoho Books and its competitors, verified 19 August 2026
ProductCheapest paid entryFree planAgainst Zoho Books
Zoho Books$15 a monthYesThis product
Wave$19 a monthYes+$4 a month (+27%)
Xero$25 a monthNo+$10 a month (+67%)
QuickBooks Online$38 a monthYes+$23 a month (+153%)

Which Zoho Books plan should you buy?

Recommended Zoho Books plan by situation
Your situationRecommendedWhy
Your annual revenue is under $50,000FreeIndefinitely free with double-entry accounting, one user plus an accountant, and up to 1,000 invoices a year.
A small business with two or three people in the booksStandard$15 an organisation a month billed annually with three users included, plus bank feeds and API access. This is the cheapest credible multi-user accounting in our comparison.
You hold stock or bill projectsProfessional$40 a month billed annually. Inventory, purchase orders and project profitability start here.
You issue more than 5,000 invoices a yearProfessional, for volume rather than featuresStandard caps at 5,000 invoices a year, so the upgrade is forced by throughput.
You need budgets, forecasting or fixed assetsPremium$60 a month billed annually, with ten users included.
You need US payroll on the same billConsider QuickBooks or Wave insteadZoho Payroll is a separate product and a separate subscription.

Verdict by who you are

  • Small business with three people in the booksYes

    $180 a year against $900 for QuickBooks Essentials at the same headcount.

  • Business under $50,000 of revenueYes

    The free plan is indefinite, not a trial, and it does real double-entry accounting.

  • Existing Zoho CRM or Inventory customerYes

    One vendor, one login and shared records across the suite.

  • US business with an external accountantCompare first

    The saving is large, and so is the friction if your accountant works only in QuickBooks. Ask them before you migrate.

  • High-volume invoicer on a budgetCompare first

    The tier you need is set by invoice count rather than features, so price against your real volume.

Should you buy Zoho Books?

Buy Zoho Books if…

  • Small businesses where several people need access to the books
  • Businesses under $50,000 of annual revenue, who pay nothing
  • Companies already using other Zoho applications

Do not buy Zoho Books if…

  • US businesses whose accountant works only in QuickBooks
  • Businesses invoicing at high volume on a low tier
  • Anyone who wants a single vendor for accounting and US payroll on one bill

Best Zoho Books alternative for each job

Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.

Zoho Books alternatives by job to be done
If you mainly need to… Use Why
Spend nothing at all Wave Free with unlimited users and invoices, in the US and Canada.
Work in what your US accountant uses QuickBooks Online The US default, and worth real money in reduced bookkeeping friction.
Unlimited users at any invoice volume Xero Unlimited users on every plan, with no per-tier invoice cap above Early.
Own the ledger outright Akaunting Self-hostable, though its free build is licence-capped and has no double-entry.

What leaving Zoho Books would cost

5/10 Lock-in

moderate lock-in

Zoho Books scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.

Per organisation, not per person

This is the whole argument. Accounting software gets expensive because the people who need to see the books multiply, and every rival we price in finance responds to that either by charging per person or by gating people behind tiers.

At three usersA year
Zoho Books Standard$180
Wave Pro$190
Xero Early$300
FreshBooks Lite plus two users$540
QuickBooks Essentials$900

The per-tier rates are the vendors’ own; the annual figures are arithmetic on them. A fourth user here costs $2.50 a month. On QuickBooks the fourth user is a tier change from Essentials to Plus, which is $40 a month more.

The cap is on invoices, and it is real

What you give up for per-organisation pricing is invoice volume. The pricing FAQ publishes the limits:

PlanInvoices a yearUsers
Free1,0001 plus an accountant
Standard, $15 a month5,0003
Professional, $40 a month10,0005
Premium, $60 a month25,00010
Elite and Ultimate100,00010 and 15

Five thousand a year is roughly 400 a month, which most small businesses will never approach and a subscription business will pass in a quarter. Price against your real volume, because on this product the upgrade is forced by throughput rather than by features.

The free plan is a plan, not a trial

Free lasts indefinitely while your revenue for the financial year stays under $50,000, and it is real double-entry accounting - invoices, expenses, bank reconciliation, 1099 tracking, fifty-plus reports. One user plus an accountant, 1,000 invoices a year.

Set that against the free tiers in the same category: QuickBooks allows one user, two invoices a month and no accountant access; Wave is unlimited on both but only serves US and Canadian payments and payroll; Xero and FreshBooks have no free plan at all.

What sits on a separate bill

Payroll. Zoho Payroll is a different product: $29 an organisation a month plus $5 an employee on annual billing. Xero’s Gusto-powered payroll is $36 a month plus $6, and QuickBooks sells payroll only bundled with accounting from $88 a month plus $7 an employee - so Zoho is the cheapest of the three, on two invoices rather than one.

Your accountant’s time. This is the cost this profile cannot put a number on. In the United States most accountants and bookkeepers work in QuickBooks, and a ledger they have to learn can cost more in fees than the $720 a year the software saves. Ask them first. It is a five-minute question with a large answer.

What we have not done

Nobody here has kept a set of books in Zoho Books, closed a month in it, or tested how many banks its feeds reach. What is checked here is the price list, the user allowances, the invoice caps and the free plan’s revenue threshold, all read from Zoho’s own pricing page on 19 August 2026.

Zoho Books questions, answered

Is Zoho Books worth it?
Zoho Books changes the variable that makes small-business accounting expensive.
How much does Zoho Books cost?
Free under $50,000 of annual revenue; Standard $15 per organisation/month billed annually. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Standard, published at $15 a month, which works out at $15 a month or $180 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
Does Zoho Books have a free plan or free trial?
Zoho Books has a free plan. A free trial is available: 14 days on paid plans.
What is the best Zoho Books alternative?
It depends on the job. Wave: Free with unlimited users and invoices, but US and Canada only for payments and payroll. Xero: Unlimited users on every plan, and dearer at three users. Stronger outside the US. QuickBooks Online: The default your US accountant probably already works in, at five times the price at three users.
Can I self-host Zoho Books?
No. Zoho Books is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
Check Zoho Books pricing at source ↗

Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.

What this profile is based on

Every claim below is about our work, not about Zoho Books. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.

  • Prices read from the vendor : yes

    Read from Zoho Books's own pricing page on 19 August 2026

  • Plans and terms recorded : yes

    8 rows, each with its billing period

  • Original screenshots : yes

    1 captured by us: pricing page

  • Sources cited and dated : yes

    2 primary sources, each with the date it was read

  • Product used first-hand : no

    Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources

  • Alternatives used first-hand : no

    None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use

  • Vendor contacted : no

    Not contacted for this profile

Desk research from Zoho's own pricing pages for Books and Payroll, read on 19 August 2026 through a United States egress. The user allowances, extra-user price and annual invoice limits come from the pricing page's own FAQ rather than the plan cards, which do not carry the invoice figures. Nobody here has kept books in Zoho Books, and bank-feed coverage was not tested.

Where Zoho Books appears on this site

One other page here references Zoho Books, and it is listed below.

  • Another profile Akaunting names it as a competitor

Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.

One-click Google setting

Get our writing surfaced first on Google

If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.

  • Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
  • AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
  • Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Add EveryAny.One as a preferred source on Google

Opens Google's source preferences in a new tab.

Provenance and freshness

When each fact was last checked

  • Pricing ·
  • Plans ·
  • Free trial
  • Features
  • Platforms
  • Integrations
  • Affiliate programme
  • Company details ·

Individually sourced claims

  • Standard is $15 an organisation a month billed annually, or $20 billed monthly

    Zoho Books pricing ↗ · checked

  • Users included by tier are 1 plus an accountant on Free, 3 on Standard, 5 on Professional, 10 on Premium and Elite and 15 on Ultimate

    Zoho Books pricing FAQ ↗ · checked

  • Extra users are $2.50 a user a month billed annually, or $3 billed monthly

    Zoho Books pricing FAQ ↗ · checked

  • The free plan is available indefinitely while revenue for the financial year does not exceed $50,000

    Zoho Books pricing FAQ ↗ · checked

  • Annual invoice limits are 1,000 on Free, 5,000 on Standard, 10,000 on Professional, 25,000 on Premium and 100,000 on Elite and Ultimate

    Zoho Books pricing FAQ ↗ · checked

  • Zoho Payroll Standard is $29 an organisation a month plus $5 an employee billed annually, or $39 plus $6 billed monthly

    Zoho Payroll pricing ↗ · checked

What has changed

  1. August 2026

    • First published, with every tier, user allowance and invoice cap read from the vendor's pricing page
    • Recorded that pricing is per organisation rather than per user
    • Recorded the annual invoice limits, which force upgrades before features do

Sources & verification

Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.

  1. Zoho Books pricing - checked 19 August 2026
  2. Zoho Payroll pricing - checked 19 August 2026
Reviewed by
EveryAny.One Editorial
Last verified
Last updated

Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

More Finance pricing

Stay in the loop

Software worth knowing about - once a week

New profiles, price changes we've spotted and one comparison worth reading. No sponsored placements in the email body. Unsubscribe in one click.