Mistral
A European assistant with open-weight models, publishing limits as actual numbers.
- AI
- Development
- Productivity
- from $14.99/mo
Mistral is a European AI company whose assistant, Vibe, covers chat, search, document work and agentic coding in the terminal, alongside a developer platform. It is the cheapest paid tier of any general assistant we have priced, it publishes open-weight models you can run yourself, and it is one of the few vendors here stating usage allowances as absolute daily numbers.
Mistral: the short answer
Every line below is drawn from facts verified on 19 August 2026.
- What it is
- A European assistant with open-weight models, publishing limits as actual numbers
- Best for
- Teams that need a European vendor with a published data processing addendum
- Starts at
- Free; Pro $14.99/month; Team $24.99 per user/month
- Free option
- Free plan available, no trial
- Biggest strength
- The cheapest paid tier of any general assistant we priced, at $14.99 a month
- Biggest drawback
- Smaller ecosystem and fewer integrations than ChatGPT or Copilot
- Based on
- Primary-source research, not hands-on use
- Closest alternative
- ChatGPT - Wider ecosystem and more polished apps, at $20 a month rather than $14.99
- True annual cost
- from $179.88 a year on Pro, the cheapest paid tier ($14.99 a month)
Mistral at a glance
| Best for | Teams that need a European vendor with a published data processing addendum, Buyers who want the option of running the model themselves, Developers who want an assistant in the terminal as well as the browser |
|---|---|
| Category | AI, Development, Productivity |
| Starting price | Free; Pro $14.99/month; Team $24.99 per user/month |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Free trial | No trial offered |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Company | Mistral AI |
| Founded | 2023 |
| Headquarters | Not disclosed |
| Founders | Not disclosed |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android, CLI |
| Public API | Yes |
| Browser extension | No |
| Mobile apps | iOS + Android |
| Self-hosting | Yes |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Data source | Vendor pricing page and public records |
| Last checked | August 2026 |
Mistral pricing
Prices below were read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Pricing model: subscription. No free trial is offered.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | per month | Limited access to Vibe including the latest models, chat, search, creation and Vibe for code in the terminal, plus Mistral Studio and $10 a month in API credits |
| Pro | $14.99 | per month | Higher chat ceilings, full Vibe coding, extended thinking, deep research reports, chat and email support, $30 a month in API credits. Verified students pay $5.99 |
| Team | $24.99 | per month | per user - Up to 1,000 project folders and higher allowances than Pro - for example 200 flash answers a day against 150 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Negotiated | Custom deployments, including on customer infrastructure, arranged with sales |
| API usage | Usage-based | per usage | Priced per million tokens; Mistral Large is $0.5 in and $1.5 out. Batch processing is 50% cheaper and cached input up to 90% cheaper |
What Mistral actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pro | per month | $14.99 | $179.88 |
| Teamper user | per month | $24.99 | $299.88 |
Which Mistral plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You want to try the assistant and the terminal coding tool | Free | Limited access to Vibe including chat, search and code, plus $10 a month in API credits, at no cost. |
| You use an assistant most working days | Pro | $14.99 a month is the cheapest paid tier of any general assistant here, and it lifts the chat ceilings and adds deep research. |
| You are a verified student | Pro at the student rate | $5.99 a month rather than $14.99, which the pricing page states directly. |
| Several people need shared project folders | Team | $24.99 a user a month, with higher daily allowances and up to 1,000 project folders. |
| You need the model on your own infrastructure | Enterprise | Deployment on customer infrastructure has its own published terms, and the open weights make it practical rather than theoretical. |
Verdict by who you are
European company with data residency requirementsYes
A European vendor publishing a DPA, EU consumer terms and in-region inference is a materially shorter procurement conversation.
Cost-conscious teamYes
$14.99 a seat is the cheapest paid general assistant we priced, and Team is published at $24.99.
Developer who works in a terminalYes
Vibe for code is an agentic coding assistant in the terminal, included from the free tier.
Team standardised on Microsoft 365 or Google WorkspaceCompare first
You are probably already paying for an assistant inside the suite. Check that before adding a seat here.
Anyone who needs a large plugin ecosystemNo
ChatGPT's integration surface is far larger, and that is a real difference.
Should you buy Mistral?
Buy Mistral if…
- Teams that need a European vendor with a published data processing addendum
- Buyers who want the option of running the model themselves
- Developers who want an assistant in the terminal as well as the browser
Do not buy Mistral if…
- Anyone who needs the largest third-party plugin ecosystem
- Teams wanting an assistant already embedded in Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace
- Buyers who will not evaluate a less familiar model
Best Mistral alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Run the model on your own infrastructure | DeepSeek | Also open-weight, and free to use, with no business controls at all. |
| Get an assistant already inside your office suite | Microsoft Copilot | From $18 a user a month paid yearly, inside the apps your staff already open. |
| Work through very long documents | Claude | Its long-context handling is what it is bought for, though it costs more. |
| Answers with sources you can open | Perplexity | Citations are the product, at $20 a month. |
Key features
- Vibe, the assistant covering chat, search and creation
- Vibe for code, an agentic coding assistant that runs in the terminal
- Mistral Studio for building on the models directly
- Deep research reports and extended thinking on paid tiers
- Voxtral for audio and speech, and OCR for documents
- Open-weight models that can be downloaded and run
- Data processing addendum and EU-specific consumer terms published
- Project folders, up to 1,000 on Team
Integrations
- Mistral API and Studio
- Terminal and command-line use through Vibe for code
- Connectors, under published partner terms
- Deployment on customer infrastructure under additional terms
Mistral screenshots
Captured by us in August 2026 at 1440px, unedited. Interfaces change, so these show the product as it looked on the date we verified this profile. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded above.

Our assessment
Mistral is the assistant to shortlist when the constraints are commercial and legal rather than purely about model quality. It is the cheapest paid general assistant we have priced at $14.99 a month, its Team tier is published at $24.99 a user rather than hidden behind a form, it publishes a data processing addendum and separate EU consumer terms, and its models are available as open weights so the exit route is real rather than rhetorical. It is also one of only three products in this category to state any usage allowance as an absolute number - 150 flash answers a day on Pro, 200 on Team - which is a low bar that most of its rivals still fail. What you give up is ecosystem and familiarity: there is no equivalent of ChatGPT's plugin surface, nothing arrives pre-installed in Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace, and a team that has standardised on a frontier lab's model will need a reason to evaluate this one. We have not benchmarked any model in this guide, so treat the capability question as open and test it on your own work.
What works in Mistral
- The cheapest paid tier of any general assistant we priced, at $14.99 a month
- Team pricing published at $24.99 a user rather than quote-only
- Open-weight models, so self-hosting is a genuine option
- Publishes some allowances as absolute daily numbers rather than multiples
What doesn't
- Smaller ecosystem and fewer integrations than ChatGPT or Copilot
- Not embedded in the office suites most companies already pay for
- Some allowances are still expressed as multiples, such as "up to 40x more image generations"
- The company publishes little about its own funding or offices
EveryAny Decision Score
3 of these 8 dimensions are calculated from verified facts; the rest are our judgement, shown as a band rather than a figure unless something specific sits behind them. How each score works.
- Cost position5/10
derivedentry tier at $14.99 a month against a category median of $17 a month across 8 comparable tools
- Portability8/10
derivedself-hostable, public API
- Subscription flexibility6/10
derivedfree plan, subscription, monthly billing
- Feature depthHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Ease of learningHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Collaboration6/10
editorialProject folders up to 1,000 on Team and Enterprise; no real-time co-editing surface.
- AI capability8/10
editorialChat, search, deep research, extended thinking, image generation, audio through Voxtral, OCR and agentic coding in the terminal, with open weights available.
- Professional adoption6/10
editorialNames France Travail among customers on its own site and positions itself as a European leader; no user count is published.
What leaving Mistral would cost
low lock-in
Mistral scores on self-hostable, public API. Portability 8/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Mistral competitors and alternatives
| Alternative | Why you might pick it instead |
|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Wider ecosystem and more polished apps, at $20 a month rather than $14.99. |
| Claude | Stronger on long documents and code review; no open weights and no European entity. |
| DeepSeek | Also open-weight and free to use, with no business tier or admin controls at all. |
ChatGPT
AI
General-purpose AI assistant for writing, analysis, coding and research.
Checked Aug 2026
Claude
AI
AI assistant built by Anthropic, strongest on long documents, careful writing and code.
Checked Aug 2026
The cheapest paid assistant here, and it says what you get
Pro is $14.99 a month, against $20 for ChatGPT Plus, $20 for Perplexity Pro, $19.99 for Gemini AI Pro and $30 for SuperGrok. Team is $24.99 a user and, unlike several rivals, that figure is on the page rather than behind a contact form.
More unusually, some of the allowances are actual numbers. Mistral states 150 flash answers a day on Pro and 200 on Team. Almost nothing else in this category will tell you that: the industry norm is “expanded access”, “higher rate limits”, or a multiple of a tier you are not on. It is not perfect - “up to 40x more image generations” is exactly the sort of framing we criticise elsewhere - but it is the closest thing to a published limit in our AI assistants guide.
Open weights make the exit route real
Mistral publishes open-weight models, and its terms include a separate document for running its products on customer infrastructure. That matters for the question this site keeps asking: what does leaving cost?
For most assistants the answer is that your prompts, projects and habits stay with the vendor. Here, the model itself can be downloaded and run, which turns a switching decision into an engineering one. Only DeepSeek offers anything comparable, and it offers no business controls at all.
What the free tier includes
Limited access to Vibe - chat, search, creation and Vibe for code, the agentic coding assistant that runs in your terminal - plus Mistral Studio and $10 a month in API credits. Pro raises that to $30.
An assistant that includes API credits in a consumer subscription is unusual, and it is a sensible bridge for someone who wants to prototype rather than just chat.
The honest gap
Ecosystem. There is no equivalent of ChatGPT’s plugin and integration surface, and nothing here arrives pre-installed in the software your colleagues already open - which is exactly the argument for Microsoft Copilot and Gemini.
We have also not benchmarked any model on this site, so nothing here says Mistral’s model beats or trails the frontier labs. What we can say is what it costs, what it publishes and what you can take with you.
Mistral questions, answered
- Is Mistral worth it?
- Mistral is the assistant to shortlist when the constraints are commercial and legal rather than purely about model quality.
- How much does Mistral cost?
- Free; Pro $14.99/month; Team $24.99 per user/month. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Pro, published at $14.99 a month, which works out at $14.99 a month or $179.88 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Mistral have a free plan or free trial?
- Mistral has a free plan. No free trial is offered.
- What is the best Mistral alternative?
- It depends on the job. ChatGPT: Wider ecosystem and more polished apps, at $20 a month rather than $14.99. Claude: Stronger on long documents and code review; no open weights and no European entity. DeepSeek: Also open-weight and free to use, with no business tier or admin controls at all.
- Can I self-host Mistral?
- Yes. Mistral can be run on your own infrastructure, so the data stays under your control.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Mistral. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Mistral's own pricing page on 19 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
5 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
3 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Mistral's own pricing, about and legal pages, read on 19 August 2026 through a United States egress. Nobody here has used Mistral, and no model quality was benchmarked - not by us and not from vendor benchmarks, which we do not republish.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details ·
Individually sourced claims
-
Mistral Pro is $14.99 a month and Team is $24.99 per user a month
Mistral pricing ↗ · checked
-
Pro includes 150 flash answers a day and Team 200
Mistral pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
-
Verified students can get Mistral Pro for $5.99 a month
Mistral pricing ↗ · checked
-
Mistral was founded in April 2023
Mistral, about ↗ · checked
-
Mistral publishes a data processing addendum and separate EU consumer terms
Mistral legal centre ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with all plan rates read from the vendor pricing page
- Recorded the absolute daily allowances, which most of this category does not publish
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Mistral pricing - checked 19 August 2026
- Mistral, about - checked 19 August 2026
- Mistral legal centre - checked 19 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.


