Plane Pricing
- Productivity pricing
- $6/mo at the smallest
- Free plan
Plane pricing starts at $6 a month, which is $72 over twelve months. There is a free plan, and a trial on the paid tiers: Two-week free trial on paid plans. Every figure below was read from the vendor's pricing page on 19 August 2026.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
Plane ranking and coverage
- In Productivity
- #1 of 28
- Overall
- #6 of 122
- Terms score
- 8.3 /10
- Referenced here
- 3 pages
Cost position 7.9 · Portability 9 · Subscription flexibility 8 - Ranked on published terms only: entry price against category peers, portability and subscription flexibility, equally weighted. This is not a quality score.How the rank is calculated.
Plane pricing at a glance
| Entry price | Free to 12 users; Pro $6 per seat/month and Business $13, both billed annually |
|---|---|
| Smallest invoice | $6 a month, or $72 a year |
| How that is reached | Pro at $6 a month |
| Seat minimum | None on the entry plan |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Free trial | Two-week free trial on paid plans |
| How it charges | subscription |
| Priced plans published | 6 rows on the vendor's page |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Prices read from | The vendor's own pricing page |
| Last checked | 19 August 2026 |
Every Plane plan and what it costs
Read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Charged as subscription. Free trial: Two-week free trial on paid plans.
| Plan | Price | Billing | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | per month | Up to 12 users - Projects and work items, cycles and modules, five layouts with unlimited views, work item intake, estimates and project pages, with 500 AI credits per seat a month. Available on the cloud and self-hosted |
| Pro | $6 | per month | per seat, billed annually - 1,000 AI credits per seat a month, work item types and properties, workspace wiki, time tracking, templates, dashboards, initiatives and teamspaces. One seat can be bought on the cloud, and the page advertises 25% off for annual billing |
| Business | $13 | per month | per seat, billed annually - 2,000 AI credits per seat a month, project templates, recurring work items, intake by email and form, nested pages, workflow control and customer records |
| Enterprise Grid | Quote on request | Negotiated | Private and managed deployments, granular access control, multiple workflows with approvals, LDAP, API-enabled audit logs and migration services |
| Community edition, self-hosted | $0 | per month | The open-source core under AGPL-3.0, run on your own infrastructure with no licence key and no seat floor |
| Commercial licence for self-hosting Add-on | Same per-seat rates as the cloud | Negotiated | Pro and Business cost the same per seat when you host them yourself, but a paid self-hosted licence is sold from 10 seats up. The free Community edition has no such floor |
What Plane actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Proper seat, billed annually | per month | $6 | $72 |
| Businessper seat, billed annually | per month | $13 | $156 |
Plane pricing over time
Read from 11 archived captures of the vendor's pricing page , spanning May 2023 to August 2026. Every figure below links to the capture it came from, so you can check it against the page as it stood on the day.
- Business has been published at $13 per seat in every capture we read, from 1 April 2026 to 15 August 2026.
- Pro has been published at $6 in every capture we read, from 1 April 2026 to 15 August 2026.
Business
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $13 | per seat | 1 April 2026 | 15 August 2026 | Archive |
Pro
| Published price | Charged | Seen from | Last seen | Capture |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $6 | Not stated | 1 April 2026 | 15 August 2026 | Archive |
7 archived captures with no price we could read
The capture exists, but the figures on it could not be extracted - usually a page that renders prices in JavaScript, or a currency selector the archive did not record. Listed rather than dropped, because a gap in a price history reads as "nothing changed" and these are not that.
- 30 May 2023 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 2 December 2023 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 16 April 2024 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 11 November 2024 - capture - capture could not be fetched (fetch failed)
- 1 April 2025 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 1 August 2025 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
- 4 December 2025 - capture - no plan name sat next to a published figure in this capture
Compiled 18 September 2026 from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. Plan names were matched against the archived page text and the first currency-anchored figure within 160 characters was recorded, rejecting any figure with a competing plan name standing between it and the name it was matched to. The currency and the unit were read from each capture rather than assumed: captures served in a currency other than $, and captures where no plan name sat beside a figure, are listed as unread rather than dropped. Archived pages show the price as served to the archive's crawler, which may differ by region from the price you are shown.
Plane pricing against its competitors
Compared on the smallest invoice each vendor will accept, not on the advertised per-seat rate. Where a product has a seat minimum, the figure below is the minimum times the rate, because that is the cheque you would actually write.
| Product | Cheapest paid entry | Free plan | Against Plane |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plane | $6 a month | Yes | This product |
| ClickUp | $7 a month | Yes | +$1 a month (+17%) |
| Jira | $7.91 a month | Yes | +$1.91 a month (+32%) |
| Linear | $10 a month | Yes | +$4 a month (+67%) |
Which Plane plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You are 12 people or fewer | Free | Twelve users at no cost on the managed cloud, with 500 AI credits a seat a month and no project cap. |
| You want the cheapest capable paid tracker | Pro | $6 a seat a month billed annually, with time tracking, dashboards and a workspace wiki. |
| You must run it on your own infrastructure at no licence cost | Community edition | AGPL-3.0, self-hosted, no seat minimum and no licence key. |
| You want supported self-hosting | Pro or Business, self-hosted | Same per-seat prices, but licences start at 10 seats, so budget from there. |
| You need approvals, LDAP or audit logs | Enterprise Grid | Quote on request. Start the conversation early, because no figure is published. |
| You are tracking a large software organisation on Jira today | Price the migration, not just the licence | Native importers exist on every edition, but ecosystem and reporting parity is the real cost. |
Verdict by who you are
Startup under 12 peopleYes
Free on the cloud with no project cap, and nothing to migrate off later if you outgrow it.
Team with data-residency requirementsYes
Self-hosting an AGPL-3.0 codebase, with an air-gapped option that makes no external calls.
Cost-driven team of 20Yes
$1,440 a year on Pro, against $6,000 for Wrike Business at the same size.
Five-person team wanting supported self-hostingCompare first
The 10-seat licence minimum means paying for twice the team, or running the community edition.
Enterprise needing a proven track recordCompare first
Founded 2022, with no published customer count. The technology is not the risk here; the institutional history is what you do not get.
Should you buy Plane?
Buy Plane if…
- Teams who want to own the tracker rather than rent it
- Small teams under 12 people, who pay nothing on the cloud
- Organisations with data-residency or air-gapped requirements
Do not buy Plane if…
- Teams with no engineering capacity who also need self-hosting
- Buyers who need a long adoption track record before committing
- Small teams wanting a self-hosted paid licence, which starts at 10 seats
Best Plane alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Software delivery at scale | Jira | The category default for sprints and releases, with the ecosystem to match. |
| Fast, opinionated product tracking | Linear | Built for product teams who want fewer decisions, at $10 a user. |
| Consolidate several subscriptions | ClickUp | Docs, time tracking and tasks in one product at $7 a user, with more configuration to do. |
| Unlimited users on a flat fee | Basecamp | $299 a month for everybody, which wins above about 20 people. |
What leaving Plane would cost
low lock-in
Plane scores on self-hostable, public API, open source. Portability 9/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
The same price whether you host it or they do
Most vendors treat self-hosting as an enterprise conversation with no published number. Plane publishes one ladder and applies it to both deployments:
| Plan | Cloud | Self-hosted | Seat minimum, self-hosted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0, up to 12 users | $0 | None |
| Pro | $6 a seat a month | $6 a seat a month | 10 seats |
| Business | $13 a seat a month | $13 a seat a month | 10 seats |
| Enterprise Grid | Quote on request | Quote on request | Not published |
Both paid figures are the rates the page shows with annual billing selected - we checked the switch rather than assuming, because a “Save 25%” badge beside a per-month figure does not say which period it is.
The community edition is the free tier of the same product, self-hosted under AGPL-3.0, with no licence key and no seat minimum. Native importers ship on every edition, including that one.
Free to 12 users is the headline for small teams
Twelve is a real team, not a demo. Set it against the free tiers across productivity: Asana allows two users, monday.com two seats, Trello ten collaborators, Teamwork.com five.
The free plan is not feature-gated to uselessness either - projects, cycles, modules, five layouts, intake, estimates and pages are all in it, with 500 AI credits a seat a month.
Where the ownership argument stops
- Paid self-hosting starts at 10 seats. A five-person team that wants a supported licence on its own server pays for ten, or runs the community edition unsupported.
- AI is metered everywhere. 500 credits a seat on Free, 1,000 on Pro, 2,000 on Business, with top-ups. That is more honest than most, and it is still a meter.
- Enterprise Grid has no published price, and it holds approvals, LDAP and audit logs.
What we cannot tell you
Whether teams stay on it. Plane was founded in 2022, publishes no customer count, and its ecosystem is a marketplace rather than an industry. The repository shows 56,133 stars, which measures attention rather than retention.
Nobody here has used Plane and no self-hosted deployment was attempted. What is checked is the price ladder on both deployment routes, the free tier’s limits, the seat minimum and the licence - read on 19 August 2026.
Plane questions, answered
- Is Plane worth it?
- Plane is the open-source answer in a category where every established option is a subscription you cannot leave with, and the licence is the argument.
- How much does Plane cost?
- Free to 12 users; Pro $6 per seat/month and Business $13, both billed annually. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Pro, published at $6 a month, which works out at $6 a month or $72 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Plane have a free plan or free trial?
- Plane has a free plan. A free trial is available: Two-week free trial on paid plans.
- What is the best Plane alternative?
- It depends on the job. Jira: The market default for software delivery, with a far larger ecosystem and no self-hosting for new cloud buyers. Linear: Faster and more opinionated for product teams, proprietary, and $10 a user. ClickUp: Broader feature surface at $7 a user, with AI charged separately at $9 a user.
- Can I self-host Plane?
- Yes. Plane can be run on your own infrastructure, so the data stays under your control.
Opens the vendor's own pricing page. Figures here were read from it on 19 August 2026.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Plane. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Plane's own pricing page on 19 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
6 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
4 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Plane's own pricing, self-hosting and about pages, read on 19 August 2026 through a United States egress, plus the repository licence and star count from the GitHub API. The billing switch was inspected in the page rather than assumed, because "$6 per seat per month" beside a "Save 25%" badge does not say which of the two periods it is. Nobody here has used Plane, no self-hosted deployment was attempted, and no AI credit was spent.
Where Plane appears on this site
3 other pages here reference Plane. Every one is listed below, so the figure can be checked rather than taken.
- Another profile Basecamp picks it for cheapest way to give five people a tracker
- Another profile Teamwork.com picks it for cheapest capable tracker for a small team
- Another profile Wrike picks it for own the tool outright
Counts pages on this site that name the product by choice - price guides, pricing question pages, deal records and other profiles. Category and directory indexes list everything automatically and are not counted.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our pricing pages and price guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for what software costs.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details ·
Individually sourced claims
-
Pro is $6 per seat a month and Business $13, both shown with the annual toggle selected, on cloud and self-hosted alike
Plane pricing ↗ · checked
-
The free plan covers up to 12 users, with 500 AI credits per seat a month
Plane pricing ↗ · checked
-
Self-hosted licences require a minimum of 10 seats
Plane pricing, self-hosted view ↗ · checked
-
Plane is open source and can be self-hosted on your own infrastructure, with native importers on every edition including Community
Plane self-hosting page ↗ · checked
-
The repository is licensed AGPL-3.0 and shows 56,133 stars
makeplane/plane on GitHub ↗ · checked
-
Plane Software, Inc. was founded in 2022 and is based in San Francisco, backed by OSS Capital
Plane structured data, about page ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with the cloud and self-hosted ladders read from the vendor's own pricing page
- Confirmed by reading the page's billing switch that $6 and $13 are the annual rates, not the monthly ones
- Recorded the 10-seat minimum on self-hosted paid licences
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Plane pricing - checked 19 August 2026
- Plane self-hosting - checked 19 August 2026
- About Plane - checked 19 August 2026
- makeplane/plane on GitHub - checked 19 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.


