Close is a CRM designed around outbound calling and email rather than record-keeping: the dialler, sequences and inbox are the product, and the pipeline follows from them. Its plans meter AI credits per user, and it publishes both billing bases plus a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Close: the short answer
Every line below is drawn from facts verified on 19 August 2026.
- What it is
- A CRM built around the phone, with AI credits metered per seat
- Best for
- Teams whose sales motion is calling and emailing at volume
- Starts at
- Solo $9 per user/month billed annually ($19 monthly); Essentials $35 ($49 monthly)
- Free option
- No free plan, Free trial with no credit card, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee trial
- Biggest strength
- Both billing bases published for every tier, and a 30-day money-back guarantee
- Biggest drawback
- No free tier at any level
- Based on
- Primary-source research, not hands-on use
- Closest alternative
- Pipedrive - Cheaper at $14 a seat and simpler, without the built-in dialler
- True annual cost
- from $108 a year on Solo, the cheapest paid tier ($9 a month)
Close at a glance
| Best for | Teams whose sales motion is calling and emailing at volume, Solo operators and small outbound teams, Buyers who want a refund window rather than a trial cliff |
|---|---|
| Category | Sales, Marketing |
| Starting price | Solo $9 per user/month billed annually ($19 monthly); Essentials $35 ($49 monthly) |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | Free trial with no credit card, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Company | Close |
| Founded | Not disclosed |
| Headquarters | Not disclosed |
| Founders | Not disclosed |
| Platforms | Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android |
| Public API | Yes |
| Browser extension | No |
| Mobile apps | iOS + Android |
| Self-hosting | No |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Data source | Vendor pricing page and public records |
| Last checked | August 2026 |
Close pricing
Prices below were read from the vendor's own pricing page on 19 August 2026. Pricing model: subscription. Free trial: Free trial with no credit card, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | $9 | per month | per user - Billed annually; $19 paying monthly. For founders and solo reps. Includes 500 AI credits per user a month, which do not roll over |
| Essentials | $35 | per month | per user - Billed annually; $49 paying monthly. Calls, email and deals in one place. 1,000 AI credits per user, pooled to a maximum of 10,000 a month |
| Growth | $99 | per month | per user - Billed annually; $109 paying monthly. Adds the AI agent working leads. 1,500 credits per user, pooled to 15,000 |
| Scale | $139 | per month | per user - Billed annually; $149 paying monthly. Advanced controls and the fastest dialling. 2,000 credits per user, pooled to 20,000 |
| Additional AI credits | Usage-based | per usage | Purchasable on top of the monthly allowance, which does not roll over |
What Close actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Soloper user | per month | $9 | $108 |
| Essentialsper user | per month | $35 | $420 |
| Growthper user | per month | $99 | $1,188 |
| Scaleper user | per month | $139 | $1,668 |
Which Close plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You are one person selling | Solo | $9 a user billed annually, or $19 monthly, with 500 AI credits a month. |
| You are a small team living in calls and email | Essentials | $35 a user billed annually. Calls, email and deals in one place, and the real starting point for a team. |
| You want the AI agent working leads | Growth | $99 a user billed annually, which is where Chloe and the higher credit pools arrive. |
| You dial at high volume and need advanced controls | Scale | $139 a user billed annually, with the fastest dialling and 2,000 credits a user. |
| You want to try before committing | Start on the trial, then use the refund window | The trial needs no card, and the published 30-day money-back guarantee is a real backstop that most rivals do not offer. |
| Your team does not make outbound calls | Consider Pipedrive or HubSpot instead | You would be paying for a dialler you never open. |
Verdict by who you are
Outbound sales teamYes
The dialler, sequences and inbox are the product rather than add-ons, which is what an outbound team actually needs.
Solo founder sellingYes
$9 a user billed annually with 500 AI credits is the cheapest serious calling CRM here.
Inbound or product-led companyNo
You would be buying calling machinery you will not use, at a premium over Pipedrive.
Team wanting a free tierNo
There is none. The refund window is the closest thing on offer.
Company needing custom objectsNo
Close has an opinion about your data model. Attio and Twenty do not.
Should you buy Close?
Buy Close if…
- Teams whose sales motion is calling and emailing at volume
- Solo operators and small outbound teams
- Buyers who want a refund window rather than a trial cliff
Do not buy Close if…
- Teams needing marketing automation or a customer database platform
- Anyone wanting a free tier
- Organisations that need custom objects or a bespoke data model
Best Close alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Run a simple pipeline cheaply | Pipedrive | $14 a seat billed annually, and nothing to configure. |
| Model an unusual sales process | Attio | Configurable objects, free for three seats. |
| Own the CRM | Twenty | Open source and self-hostable, from $9 a user with unlimited seats. |
| Put marketing and sales on one record | HubSpot | Free for two users, with marketing tooling Close does not attempt. |
Key features
- Built-in dialler, with the fastest dialling on Scale
- Email sequences and a shared inbox
- Pipeline and deal tracking driven by activity
- An AI agent that works leads, from Growth
- AI credits included per user, pooled across the team
- Call recording and coaching tooling
- 30-day money-back guarantee, published
- Both monthly and annual rates published for every tier
Integrations
- Close API
- Email and calendar providers
- Zapier and other automation platforms
- Telephony, built in rather than bolted on
Close screenshots
Captured by us in August 2026 at 1440px, unedited. Interfaces change, so these show the product as it looked on the date we verified this profile. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded above.

Our assessment
Close is the clearest example in this category of a CRM built around an activity rather than a database. The dialler, the sequences and the shared inbox are the product; the pipeline is a by-product of the calls and emails that went out, which is exactly right for an outbound team and exactly wrong for a company whose sales motion is inbound demos and long committee cycles. Commercially it is unusually transparent: every tier publishes both a monthly and an annual rate, the AI credit allowances are stated as numbers - 500, 1,000, 1,500, 2,000 per user, pooled and capped - and there is a published 30-day money-back guarantee rather than a trial that quietly converts. The catches are the shape of the ladder and the absence of a free tier. Solo at $9 billed annually is for one person; a team starts at Essentials, and the step from Essentials to Growth is $35 to $99 a user, which is where the AI agent lives. Credits do not roll over, so the allowance is a monthly floor rather than a budget.
What works in Close
- Both billing bases published for every tier, and a 30-day money-back guarantee
- AI credit allowances published as absolute numbers, which most vendors will not do
- The dialler is built in rather than an integration or an add-on
- Solo at $9 a user billed annually is genuinely cheap for one person
What doesn't
- No free tier at any level
- Solo is for one person, so a team's real entry price is $35 a user billed annually
- The step from Essentials to Growth nearly triples the seat price
- AI credits do not roll over, and pooled ceilings cap what a large team can use
EveryAny Decision Score
3 of these 8 dimensions are calculated from verified facts; the rest are our judgement, shown as a band rather than a figure unless something specific sits behind them. How each score works.
- Cost position7.3/10
derivedentry tier at $9 a month against a category median of $24 a month across 11 comparable tools
- Portability5/10
derivedpublic API
- Subscription flexibility6/10
derivedfree trial, subscription, monthly billing
- Feature depth7/10
editorialDialler, sequences, shared inbox, deals and call coaching; no custom objects, no marketing automation.
- Ease of learningHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- CollaborationHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- AI capability8/10
editorialAn AI agent working leads from Growth, with credit allowances published per user - 500, 1,000, 1,500 and 2,000 a month - pooled and capped per team.
- Professional adoptionHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
What leaving Close would cost
moderate lock-in
Close scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Close competitors and alternatives
| Alternative | Why you might pick it instead |
|---|---|
| Pipedrive | Cheaper at $14 a seat and simpler, without the built-in dialler. |
| HubSpot | Free tier for two users and marketing tooling; calling is an add-on rather than the point. |
| Attio | Configurable data model rather than a calling machine, free for three seats. |
Pipedrive
Sales
A sales pipeline, done properly, and deliberately nothing else.
Checked Aug 2026
HubSpot
Sales
CRM platform bundling marketing, sales, service and CMS around one contact record.
Checked Aug 2026
Both prices, on every tier
Close publishes the monthly and annual rate side by side, which is rarer in this category than it should be:
| Plan | Billed annually | Paying monthly | AI credits per user |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | $9/user | $19/user | 500 |
| Essentials | $35/user | $49/user | 1,000, pooled to 10,000 |
| Growth | $99/user | $109/user | 1,500, pooled to 15,000 |
| Scale | $139/user | $139 to $149/user | 2,000, pooled to 20,000 |
Two things follow. The annual discount is largest at the bottom - Solo halves, Scale barely moves - so the cheap headline is the one that depends most on committing for a year. And credits do not roll over, so the allowance is a monthly floor to plan work against rather than a budget to spend down.
Solo is for one person, so a team’s entry price is $35
The $9 figure is the one that will appear in comparisons, including ours, and it is described on Close’s own page as being “for founders and solo reps who need a real CRM, not a spreadsheet”.
A team of five is therefore an Essentials decision: $35 a user billed annually, or $2,100 a year. That is dearer than Pipedrive at $840 and Zoho CRM at $840, and the justification has to be the dialler.
The refund window is a real feature
A published 30-day money-back guarantee, described as a full refund with no questions asked, plus a trial that needs no card. In a category where the standard is a fourteen-day trial and an annual commitment, that is a materially better way to find out whether your reps will actually use the thing - which is the question our CRM guide argues decides everything else.
Use it properly: a month is long enough to see whether calls get logged without anyone being nagged.
Buy it for the phone, or do not buy it
Close is not a platform and does not pretend to be. No custom objects, no marketing automation, no configurable data model. What it has is the dialler, sequences and a shared inbox as the centre of the product rather than as add-ons.
If your team’s day is calls and emails at volume, that focus is the reason to pay more than Pipedrive costs. If it is not, you are buying machinery you will not open, and Pipedrive or Attio will serve you better for less.
Close questions, answered
- Is Close worth it?
- Close is the clearest example in this category of a CRM built around an activity rather than a database.
- How much does Close cost?
- Solo $9 per user/month billed annually ($19 monthly); Essentials $35 ($49 monthly). The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Solo, published at $9 a month, which works out at $9 a month or $108 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Close have a free plan or free trial?
- Close has no free plan. A free trial is available: Free trial with no credit card, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee.
- What is the best Close alternative?
- It depends on the job. Pipedrive: Cheaper at $14 a seat and simpler, without the built-in dialler. HubSpot: Free tier for two users and marketing tooling; calling is an add-on rather than the point. Attio: Configurable data model rather than a calling machine, free for three seats.
- Can I self-host Close?
- No. Close is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Close. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Close's own pricing page on 19 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
5 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
1 primary source, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Close's own pricing page, read on 19 August 2026 through a United States egress. Nobody here has used Close, no dialling quality was assessed, and we have no evidence about whether sales teams keep it updated.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details
Individually sourced claims
-
Solo is $9 a user a month billed annually and $19 paying monthly
Close pricing ↗ · checked
-
Essentials is $35 billed annually, Growth $99 and Scale $139
Close pricing ↗ · checked
-
AI credits are 500 to 2,000 per user a month, pooled with monthly ceilings, and do not roll over
Close pricing ↗ · checked
-
Close publishes a 30-day money-back guarantee and a trial requiring no credit card
Close pricing ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with both billing bases and the AI credit allowances read from the pricing page
- Recorded the 30-day money-back guarantee, which is unusual in this category
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Close pricing - checked 19 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.


