Frase is a content platform that runs the whole loop: research a topic, draft and optimise against what ranks, publish to a CMS, then watch for ranking decay and for whether AI engines cite the page. It is the cheapest product we have priced that covers all five AI SEO jobs, and it publishes both its monthly and its annual rates.
Frase: the short answer
Every line below is drawn from facts verified on 18 August 2026.
- What it is
- Research, draft, optimise, publish and monitor, priced from $49 a month
- Best for
- Solo operators and small teams who want one tool instead of four
- Starts at
- Starter $49/month, or $39/month billed yearly; Professional $129/month
- Free option
- No free plan, 7 days, no credit card, on Professional features trial
- Biggest strength
- Covers all five AI SEO jobs at the lowest entry price we priced in this category
- Biggest drawback
- No index or crawler of its own, so competitive research needs another subscription
- Based on
- Primary-source research, not hands-on use
- Closest alternative
- Surfer - Stronger optimisation editor and brand adoption, no publishing or CMS
- True annual cost
- from $588 a year on Starter, the cheapest paid tier ($49 a month)
Frase at a glance
| Best for | Solo operators and small teams who want one tool instead of four, Anyone who publishes into WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix, Teams that want AI-visibility tracking without a separate subscription |
|---|---|
| Category | SEO, Marketing, AI |
| Starting price | Starter $49/month, or $39/month billed yearly; Professional $129/month |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 7 days, no credit card, on Professional features |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Company | Frase |
| Founded | Not disclosed |
| Headquarters | Not disclosed |
| Founders | Not disclosed |
| Platforms | Web |
| Public API | Yes |
| Browser extension | Yes |
| Mobile apps | None |
| Self-hosting | No |
| Affiliate programme | 30% recurring for 12 months, 60-day cookie window, $100 minimum payout |
| Data source | Vendor pricing page and public records |
| Last checked | August 2026 |
Frase pricing
Prices below were read from the vendor's own pricing page on 18 August 2026. Pricing model: subscription. Free trial: 7 days, no credit card, on Professional features.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $49 | per month | 1 seat, 1 site - $39/month billed yearly. 10 articles, 50 audit pages, 50 AI-visibility prompts on ChatGPT and Google AI, 250 API requests a month |
| Professional | $129 | per month | 3 seats, 5 sites - $103/month billed yearly. 40 articles, 250 audit pages, 200 prompts across ChatGPT, Google AI and Perplexity, Content Guard on 75 pages |
| Scale | $299 | per month | 5 seats, 10 domains - $239/month billed yearly. 100 articles, 1,000 audit pages, 500 prompts across five engines, Content Guard on 300 pages |
| Enterprise | Custom | Negotiated | White-label reports, branded client portal, SSO and SAML, dedicated manager with an SLA |
| Extra seats | $29 | per month | per user - On Professional and Scale; Starter is single-seat and cannot add users |
| FraseCMS Basic | $19 | per month | Hosting on your own domain with 250,000 page views. The free CMS tier is included with any plan on a Frase subdomain |
| FraseCMS Pro | $99 | per month | One million page views, dedicated support |
What Frase actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter1 seat, 1 site | per month | $49 | $588 |
| Professional3 seats, 5 sites | per month | $129 | $1,548 |
| Scale5 seats, 10 domains | per month | $299 | $3,588 |
| Extra seats add-onper user | per month | $29 | $348 |
| FraseCMS Basic add-on | per month | $19 | $228 |
| FraseCMS Pro add-on | per month | $99 | $1,188 |
Which Frase plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One site, one person, and you want the whole loop | Starter | $49 a month rolling, or $39 billed yearly, with 10 articles, a 50-page audit and 50 tracked prompts. Nothing else here covers that range at that price. |
| A small team publishing weekly | Professional | $129 a month for three seats, 40 articles, 200 prompts and Perplexity added to the tracking. Extra seats are $29. |
| An agency running up to ten client sites | Scale | $299 a month, five seats, 500 prompts across five engines, and exportable client reports. White label is Enterprise only. |
| You need white-label reports or a branded client portal | Enterprise | Both are explicitly Enterprise-only, so a self-serve plan will not do it. |
| You mainly need backlink and keyword research | Do not buy Frase for that | There is no index behind it. Pair it with Ahrefs, Semrush or Moz Pro. |
Verdict by who you are
Solo operator or freelancerYes
At $49 a month it replaces a writing tool, an optimiser and an entry-level AI tracker, and the limits are published rather than metered in the dark.
Small in-house content teamYes
Professional at $129 covers three seats, 200 prompts and three engines, which is good value.
SEO consultant selling researchCompare first
Useful for delivery, but the data behind your recommendations has to come from elsewhere.
Enterprise procurement teamCompare first
SSO, SAML and an SLA exist on Enterprise, but the company publishes neither an address nor a founding date, which diligence will ask about.
Should you buy Frase?
Buy Frase if…
- Solo operators and small teams who want one tool instead of four
- Anyone who publishes into WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix
- Teams that want AI-visibility tracking without a separate subscription
Do not buy Frase if…
- Backlink and competitive research at platform depth
- Buyers who need a named company address and founding date on the record
- Teams that will not review what an agent publishes
Best Frase alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Optimise drafts with the most adopted scoring | Surfer | Content Score is the metric most writers already know, though it costs more per job covered. |
| Optimise with a large team of writers | Clearscope | Unlimited users at $129 a month, if seats are your constraint. |
| Track AI answers across many engines | Peec AI | A dedicated tracker with unlimited users, from $80 a month billed yearly. |
| Keyword, backlink and technical research | Ahrefs | The data Frase does not have. |
Key features
- SEO research that ends in a content brief
- Content optimisation scored for search and for AI citation
- AI Visibility monitoring across up to five named engines
- Content Guard, which drafts a fix when a live page starts losing rank
- Publishing to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity and Wix, or hosting on FraseCMS
- An agent that can draft and publish on its own, on any plan, when switched on
- Site audit with prioritised gaps
- MCP server, CLI and API access
Integrations
- WordPress
- Webflow
- Sanity
- Wix
- Google Docs
- Chrome extension
- MCP server and CLI
Frase screenshots
Captured by us in August 2026 at 1440px, unedited. Interfaces change, so these show the product as it looked on the date we verified this profile. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded above.

Our assessment
Frase is the widest self-serve feature set per dollar in this category, and that is both the reason to look at it and the reason to be careful. At $49 a month on rolling monthly billing it covers research, optimisation, a site audit, publishing into four content management systems, decay monitoring and 50 AI-visibility prompts across two engines - jobs that otherwise take two or three subscriptions. It also publishes both its monthly and annual figures, states overage rates per article and per prompt, and says out loud that pay-as-you-go is off by default, which is more pricing transparency than most of this market manages. What it does not have is data of its own: no crawler, no keyword index, no backlink graph, so competitive research still happens elsewhere. Its own about page declines to answer where the company is based or when it was founded, which is a real gap for a buyer doing diligence, and the agent that publishes without review is a feature to leave switched off until you trust it.
What works in Frase
- Covers all five AI SEO jobs at the lowest entry price we priced in this category
- Publishes monthly and annual rates, overage rates and caps openly
- API access from the entry tier, at 250 requests a month
- Pay-as-you-go is off by default, so the plan holds at its limit instead of billing over
What doesn't
- No index or crawler of its own, so competitive research needs another subscription
- Its own about page does not state where the company is based or when it was founded
- Client-ready reports and white-label output are Scale and Enterprise features
- An agent that can publish unattended is a risk if nobody is reviewing
EveryAny Decision Score
3 of these 8 dimensions are calculated from verified facts; the rest are our judgement, shown as a band rather than a figure unless something specific sits behind them. How each score works.
- Cost position4.2/10
derivedentry tier at $49 a month against a category median of $49 a month across 12 comparable tools
- Portability5/10
derivedpublic API
- Subscription flexibility6/10
derivedfree trial, subscription, monthly billing
- Feature depth8/10
editorialCovers research, optimisation, site audit, publishing to four content management systems, decay monitoring and AI-visibility tracking on one subscription.
- Ease of learningHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- CollaborationModerate
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- AI capability8/10
editorialAI drafting, GEO scoring, an agent that can publish unattended, and AI-visibility tracking across up to five named engines on Scale.
- Professional adoption5/10
editorialFrase states 4.8/5 on G2 and "thousands of teams" without publishing a customer count, which is thinner evidence than its rivals give.
What leaving Frase would cost
moderate lock-in
Frase scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Frase competitors and alternatives
| Alternative | Why you might pick it instead |
|---|---|
| Surfer | Stronger optimisation editor and brand adoption, no publishing or CMS. |
| Clearscope | Unlimited users, narrower feature set, no API. |
| Semrush | Real research data behind the content tools, at four times the entry price. |
Surfer
SEO
Content optimisation scored against what already ranks, now with AI-answer tracking attached.
Checked Aug 2026
Clearscope
SEO
Content optimisation with unlimited users, now tracking prompts as well as keywords.
Checked Aug 2026
What $49 a month actually includes
Frase publishes both figures - $49 a month rolling, $39 a month billed yearly - which is worth noting, because three of the AI-visibility tools we priced show only the annual rate. Starter buys:
| Starter, at $49 a month | Published limit |
|---|---|
| Articles | 10 a month |
| Audit pages | 50 a month |
| AI-visibility prompts | 50, on ChatGPT and Google AI |
| Content Guard pages watched | 10 |
| Seats and sites | 1 and 1 |
| API requests | 250 a month |
The prompt allowance is the same 50 that Clearscope sells at $129 a month and Profound at $99 a month billed yearly, and it comes with a full content toolset attached.
The overage policy is the honest part
On Starter, Frase stops at the limit. On Professional and Scale, pay-as-you-go exists but is off by default, and the rates are published: $5 per extra article, $0.50 per audit page and $0.25 per AI prompt on Professional, falling to $4, $0.40 and $0.20 on Scale.
Compare that with the credit meters on the big platforms, where the overage behaviour is the thing buyers discover in month two. A published cap you have to switch off yourself is a materially better deal than an automatic one.
Where the company facts run out
Frase’s own about page carries the questions “When was Frase founded?” and “Where is Frase based?” and
answers neither. The site footer’s SOC 2 Type II and GDPR badges link to a trust profile hosted at
trust.copysmith.ai, which is the only public signal about corporate ownership we could read.
We record that as unknown rather than guessing, and it is a fair thing for procurement to ask about before signing an annual deal. Our methodology explains why unknowns here stay unknown.
The agent is a switch, not a strategy
Frase will let an agent draft and publish to your CMS on any plan, and Content Guard will rewrite a decaying page and republish it once approved. Approval is the default on Content Guard; unattended publishing is something you turn on.
We have not tested either, so treat the capability as documented, not endorsed. If you switch it on, switch it on for one content type and read everything it ships for a month.
Frase questions, answered
- Is Frase worth it?
- Frase is the widest self-serve feature set per dollar in this category, and that is both the reason to look at it and the reason to be careful.
- How much does Frase cost?
- Starter $49/month, or $39/month billed yearly; Professional $129/month. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Starter, published at $49 a month, which works out at $49 a month or $588 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Frase have a free plan or free trial?
- Frase has no free plan. A free trial is available: 7 days, no credit card, on Professional features.
- What is the best Frase alternative?
- It depends on the job. Surfer: Stronger optimisation editor and brand adoption, no publishing or CMS. Clearscope: Unlimited users, narrower feature set, no API. Semrush: Real research data behind the content tools, at four times the entry price.
- Can I self-host Frase?
- No. Frase is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Frase. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Frase's own pricing page on 18 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
7 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
3 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Frase's own pricing, about and affiliate pages, read on 18 August 2026 through a United States egress. Nobody here has used Frase; in particular the agent that publishes unattended was not tested, and nothing on this page should be read as an assurance about its output.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme ·
- Company details ·
Individually sourced claims
-
Starter is $49 a month rolling, or $39 a month billed yearly
Frase pricing ↗ · checked
-
Starter includes 50 AI-visibility prompts across ChatGPT and Google AI, and 250 API requests a month
Frase pricing comparison table ↗ · checked
-
Overages are optional and off by default; Professional bills $5 per extra article and $0.25 per extra AI prompt
Frase pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
-
The affiliate programme pays 30% recurring for 12 months with a 60-day cookie window
Frase affiliate programme ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with plans, limits and overage rates read from the vendor pricing page
- Recorded that the vendor's about page does not state a location or founding date
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Frase pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Frase about - checked 18 August 2026
- Frase affiliate programme - checked 18 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.


