Clearscope is a content optimisation platform used by large content teams: it grades drafts against the language of the pages already ranking, and since 2026 also tracks prompts across ChatGPT and Gemini. Its distinguishing commercial feature is that every plan carries unlimited users and unlimited projects, so the price is set by pages and prompts rather than headcount.
Clearscope: the short answer
Every line below is drawn from facts verified on 18 August 2026.
- What it is
- Content optimisation with unlimited users, now tracking prompts as well as keywords
- Best for
- Content teams with more writers than budget for seats
- Starts at
- Essentials $129/month; Business $399/month
- Free option
- No free plan, 14 days trial
- Biggest strength
- Unlimited users and unlimited projects on every plan, including the $129 entry tier
- Biggest drawback
- Prompt tracking covers only ChatGPT and Gemini
- Based on
- Primary-source research, not hands-on use
- Closest alternative
- Surfer - More features and cheaper entry, but seats are capped per plan
- True annual cost
- from $1,548 a year on Essentials, the cheapest paid tier ($129 a month)
Clearscope at a glance
| Best for | Content teams with more writers than budget for seats, Editors who want one clear optimisation grade per page, Teams adding AI-answer tracking without changing tools |
|---|---|
| Category | SEO, Marketing, AI |
| Starting price | Essentials $129/month; Business $399/month |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | 14 days |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Company | Mushi Labs LLC, trading as Clearscope |
| Founded | Not disclosed |
| Headquarters | Austin, Texas, United States |
| Founders | Not disclosed |
| Platforms | Web |
| Public API | No |
| Browser extension | Yes |
| Mobile apps | None |
| Self-hosting | No |
| Affiliate programme | No |
| Data source | Vendor pricing page and public records |
| Last checked | August 2026 |
Clearscope pricing
Prices below were read from the vendor's own pricing page on 18 August 2026. Pricing model: subscription. Free trial: 14 days.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $129 | per month | Unlimited users - 50 tracked prompts, 50 pages, 20 topic explorations and 20 drafts a month |
| Business | $399 | per month | Unlimited users - 300 tracked prompts, 300 pages, 50 topic explorations, 20 drafts, dedicated account manager |
| Enterprise | Custom | Negotiated | Custom credits and agreements, crawler whitelisting, single sign-on |
| Additional pages | $25 | per month | Per 100 extra pages on Essentials, or $15 on Business. Sold in steps up to 5,000 pages |
| Additional drafts | $50 | per month | Per pack of extra drafts on Essentials, or $20 on Business |
What Clearscope actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| EssentialsUnlimited users | per month | $129 | $1,548 |
| BusinessUnlimited users | per month | $399 | $4,788 |
| Additional pages add-on | per month | $25 | $300 |
| Additional drafts add-on | per month | $50 | $600 |
Which Clearscope plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A team of any size optimising up to 50 pages a month | Essentials | $129 a month with unlimited users. The seat policy, not the feature list, is what makes this the cheapest option for a team of five or more. |
| You need to track more than 50 prompts | Business | 300 prompts at $399 a month. There is no prompt add-on, so this jump is the only route and it triples the bill. |
| You need single sign-on or crawler whitelisting | Enterprise | Both are Enterprise-only, and pricing is a conversation rather than a page. |
| You want an API to pull grades into your own pipeline | Do not buy Clearscope | No plan on the pricing page offers API access. Frase includes one from $49 a month. |
Verdict by who you are
Content team of five or more writersYes
Unlimited users at $129 a month is the lowest per-writer cost in this category, and the report is the easiest to hand to a writer.
Solo consultantCompare first
The seat advantage is worth nothing to one person, and $129 buys more elsewhere. Judge it on the report quality alone.
Brand that mainly needs AI-visibility measurementNo
Two engines and 50 prompts at $129 is the narrowest coverage of any tracker we priced.
Agency running many client sitesCompare first
Unlimited projects helps, but 50 pages a month on Essentials does not go far across a client roster.
Should you buy Clearscope?
Buy Clearscope if…
- Content teams with more writers than budget for seats
- Editors who want one clear optimisation grade per page
- Teams adding AI-answer tracking without changing tools
Do not buy Clearscope if…
- Keyword, backlink or technical SEO research
- Anyone needing more than 50 tracked prompts under $399 a month
- Teams that want an API
Best Clearscope alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Optimise content with a team of writers | Surfer | More features and a lower entry price, though seats are capped at three on Standard. |
| Optimise and publish in one loop | Frase | Adds site audits, publishing and an API from $49 a month. |
| Track AI answers across several engines | Peec AI | Also unlimited users, and covers three engines of six at $80 a month billed yearly. |
| Keyword and competitor research | Semrush | Clearscope has no research data of its own. |
Key features
- Content grades based on the language of pages already ranking
- Prompt tracking across ChatGPT and Gemini on every plan
- Query fan-out reporting on the searches AI platforms run to build an answer
- Topic explorations for planning what to write
- Internal linking recommendations
- Localisation for country and language variants
- Content monitoring for pages that start slipping
- Unlimited sharing and exporting on every plan
Integrations
- Google Docs
- WordPress
- Google Search Console
- Chrome extension
Clearscope screenshots
Captured by us in August 2026 at 1440px, unedited. Interfaces change, so these show the product as it looked on the date we verified this profile. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded above.

Our assessment
Clearscope has always been the austere option in content optimisation: fewer features than its rivals, a clearer report, and pricing that ignores headcount. That last part is the reason to shortlist it. At $129 a month, Essentials carries unlimited users and unlimited projects, which is the opposite of how Ahrefs, Semrush and most of this category price, and it is what makes Clearscope defensible for a team with eight writers and one editor. The 2026 additions - 50 tracked prompts across ChatGPT and Gemini, and query fan-out reporting - are real but modest: two engines is the narrowest coverage of any tracker we priced, and the next step up in prompts is Business at $399. There is no API, no keyword database and no crawler, so this is a writing-desk tool that has to sit next to a research platform. Judge it on the seat maths and the editorial workflow, not on breadth.
What works in Clearscope
- Unlimited users and unlimited projects on every plan, including the $129 entry tier
- The clearest single optimisation report in this category
- Unlimited sharing and exporting, stated as a portability promise
- Prompt tracking included at the entry price rather than sold as an add-on
What doesn't
- Prompt tracking covers only ChatGPT and Gemini
- No API on any self-serve plan
- Going from 50 to 300 tracked prompts means jumping from $129 to $399 a month
- No keyword research, backlink data or site crawling of its own
EveryAny Decision Score
3 of these 8 dimensions are calculated from verified facts; the rest are our judgement, shown as a band rather than a figure unless something specific sits behind them. How each score works.
- Cost position1.7/10
derivedentry tier at $129 a month against a category median of $49 a month across 12 comparable tools
- Portability4/10
deriveddocumented export
- Subscription flexibility6/10
derivedfree trial, subscription, monthly billing
- Feature depthModerate
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Ease of learningVery high
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Collaboration9/10
editorialUnlimited users and unlimited projects on all three plans, with unlimited sharing and exporting stated on the pricing page.
- AI capability6/10
editorialPrompt tracking on ChatGPT and Gemini, query fan-out reporting and intent-driven recommendations; two engines is the narrowest coverage of the trackers we priced in August 2026.
- Professional adoptionHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
What leaving Clearscope would cost
moderate lock-in
Clearscope scores on documented export. Portability 4/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Clearscope competitors and alternatives
| Alternative | Why you might pick it instead |
|---|---|
| Surfer | More features and cheaper entry, but seats are capped per plan. |
| Frase | Optimisation plus publishing, audits and AI tracking from $49 a month. |
| Semrush | Content optimisation bundled into a research platform, from $299 a month on Pro+. |
Semrush
SEO
All-in-one SEO, PPC and competitive research platform for marketing teams.
Checked Aug 2026
Ahrefs
SEO
SEO toolset built on one of the largest independent backlink and keyword indexes.
Checked Aug 2026
Unlimited users is the whole commercial argument
Clearscope charges for pages, prompts and drafts. It does not charge for people. Every plan on the pricing page - Essentials, Business, Enterprise - lists users as unlimited and projects as unlimited.
For a team of one, that is worth nothing. For a team of eight, it is the cheapest content optimisation on the market, and the comparison is not close:
| Team of eight | Monthly cost as published |
|---|---|
| Clearscope Essentials | $129 |
| Surfer Peace of Mind, 10 seats | $299, billed yearly |
| Ahrefs Advanced, which includes three users, plus five more at $80 | $849 |
Before you compare feature lists, count the people who will open the tool.
Fifty prompts, two engines, then a cliff
Prompt tracking is included at $129 a month, which is more than Ahrefs manages at the same price. The limits are narrow: 50 prompts across ChatGPT and Gemini. There is no prompt add-on on the pricing page, so the next step is Business at $399 a month for 300 prompts.
If AI visibility is the main reason you are shopping, that shape is wrong for you: a dedicated tracker covers more engines for less. If content optimisation is the main reason and the prompts are a bonus, the shape is fine.
What you can add, and what you cannot
Pages and drafts are sold as add-ons: $25 a month per 100 extra pages on Essentials, $15 on Business; extra drafts at $50 and $20 a month respectively. Prompts are not. Neither is an API - no self-serve plan on the page includes one, which rules Clearscope out of an automated pipeline.
It is not a research platform
No keyword database. No backlink index. No crawler. Topic explorations tell you what to write about within a topic; they do not replace Ahrefs or Semrush. Budget Clearscope as an addition to a research subscription, and see our AI SEO tools guide for how the two halves are usually bought together.
Clearscope questions, answered
- Is Clearscope worth it?
- Clearscope has always been the austere option in content optimisation: fewer features than its rivals, a clearer report, and pricing that ignores headcount.
- How much does Clearscope cost?
- Essentials $129/month; Business $399/month. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Essentials, published at $129 a month, which works out at $129 a month or $1,548 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Clearscope have a free plan or free trial?
- Clearscope has no free plan. A free trial is available: 14 days.
- What is the best Clearscope alternative?
- It depends on the job. Surfer: More features and cheaper entry, but seats are capped per plan. Frase: Optimisation plus publishing, audits and AI tracking from $49 a month. Semrush: Content optimisation bundled into a research platform, from $299 a month on Pro+.
- Can I self-host Clearscope?
- No. Clearscope is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Clearscope. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Clearscope's own pricing page on 18 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
5 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
2 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Clearscope's own pricing and terms pages, read on 18 August 2026 through a United States egress. Nobody here has used Clearscope, and the quality of its content grades was not assessed.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme
- Company details ·
Individually sourced claims
-
Every Clearscope plan includes unlimited users and unlimited projects
Clearscope pricing ↗ · checked
-
Essentials at $129 a month includes 50 tracked prompts and 50 pages
Clearscope pricing ↗ · checked
-
Clearscope is operated by Mushi Labs LLC, a Texas limited liability company
Clearscope terms of service ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with plans and add-ons read from the vendor pricing page
- Recorded the unlimited-user policy, which changes the seat maths against every rival here
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Clearscope pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Clearscope terms of service - checked 18 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.

