Surfer is a content optimisation platform: it analyses the pages already ranking for a query and scores your draft against them, then tracks whether AI assistants cite you. Plans are priced by documents optimised, tracked prompts and team seats, and every self-serve tier on the pricing page is quoted as a monthly rate billed yearly.
Surfer: the short answer
Every line below is drawn from facts verified on 18 August 2026.
- What it is
- Content optimisation scored against what already ranks, now with AI-answer tracking attached
- Best for
- Content teams optimising drafts against the current search results
- Starts at
- Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly
- Free option
- No free plan, Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page trial
- Biggest strength
- Content Score is the most widely adopted optimisation metric in this category
- Biggest drawback
- The pricing page quotes annual billing by default, so monthly rates cannot be read from it
- Based on
- Primary-source research, not hands-on use
- Closest alternative
- Clearscope - Fewer features, unlimited users, and a cleaner editor for large content teams
- True annual cost
- from $588 a year on Discovery, the cheapest paid tier ($49 a month)
Surfer at a glance
| Best for | Content teams optimising drafts against the current search results, Writers who work in Google Docs or WordPress, Small teams that want AI-visibility tracking bundled with content work |
|---|---|
| Category | SEO, Marketing, AI |
| Starting price | Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly |
| Free plan | No |
| Free trial | Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Company | Surfer Sp. z o.o. |
| Founded | Not disclosed |
| Headquarters | Wrocław, Poland |
| Founders | Not disclosed |
| Platforms | Web |
| Public API | Yes |
| Browser extension | No |
| Mobile apps | None |
| Self-hosting | No |
| Affiliate programme | Through PartnerStack: 75% CPA on a first monthly payment and 15% of a first yearly payment at tier one, rising to 125% and 25% above fifty referred customers |
| Data source | Vendor pricing page and public records |
| Last checked | August 2026 |
Surfer pricing
Prices below were read from the vendor's own pricing page on 18 August 2026. Pricing model: subscription. Free trial: Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Discovery | $49 | per month | 1 team seat - Billed yearly; the page advertises a $120 annual saving against monthly billing. 120 documents, 10 tracked pages, no AI-prompt tracking |
| Standard | $99 | per month | 3 team seats - Billed yearly; $240 advertised annual saving. 360 documents, 25 AI prompts refreshed weekly, ChatGPT only |
| Pro | $182 | per month | 5 team seats - Billed yearly; $444 advertised annual saving. 50 AI prompts refreshed daily across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google, AI Overviews and Gemini; 5 brand workspaces |
| Peace of Mind | $299 | per month | 10 team seats - Billed yearly; $720 advertised annual saving. Unlimited documents, 100 daily AI prompts, API access |
| Enterprise | $999 | per month | Tailored packages, SSO, white-label and priority support |
| AI Search Analytics | $158 | per month | Bought on its own without the content tools. Billed yearly, $324 advertised annual saving, at 100 daily prompts; the slider on the page also offers 50, 200 and unlimited |
What Surfer actually costs over a year
A monthly price is not the same thing as a monthly contract. These are the plans above resolved both ways, per seat or unit where the plan is charged that way. Where a vendor quotes only a yearly figure it is divided by twelve rather than left out, and the Quoted column says which figure the vendor actually publishes.
| Plan | Quoted | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Discovery1 team seat | per month | $49 | $588 |
| Standard3 team seats | per month | $99 | $1,188 |
| Pro5 team seats | per month | $182 | $2,184 |
| Peace of Mind10 team seats | per month | $299 | $3,588 |
| Enterprise | per month | $999 | $11,988 |
| AI Search Analytics add-on | per month | $158 | $1,896 |
Which Surfer plan should you buy?
| Your situation | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You write for one site and want optimisation only | Discovery | $49 a month billed yearly, 120 documents, one seat, and no AI-prompt tracking at all. |
| You have a small content team and want a first look at AI visibility | Standard | $99 a month billed yearly buys three seats and 25 weekly prompts on ChatGPT. Treat that tracking as a sample rather than a measurement. |
| AI visibility is a real part of the brief | Pro | $182 a month billed yearly is where prompts go daily and cover five platforms. Below this the tracking cannot answer the question you are asking it. |
| You only want the AI-answer tracking | AI Search Analytics | $158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts, without paying for the content tools. Cheaper than Pro if you already optimise elsewhere. |
| You need a monthly rolling commitment | Check the monthly price before subscribing | Every self-serve figure on the pricing page is a yearly commitment quoted monthly, and annual plans are charged for the whole year up front. |
Verdict by who you are
In-house content team of three to fiveYes
Seats are included rather than sold separately, and the optimisation workflow is the one writers will actually use.
SEO consultant who needs research dataNo
No backlink index, no keyword database and no crawler. This is a companion, not a platform.
Brand that mainly needs AI-visibility measurementCompare first
AI Search Analytics at $158 a month billed yearly is competitive on prompt volume, though cheaper dedicated trackers exist.
Solo blogger on a tight budgetCompare first
Discovery at $49 a month billed yearly is fair for optimisation, but it tracks no prompts.
Should you buy Surfer?
Buy Surfer if…
- Content teams optimising drafts against the current search results
- Writers who work in Google Docs or WordPress
- Small teams that want AI-visibility tracking bundled with content work
Do not buy Surfer if…
- Backlink and technical SEO research
- Anyone who needs a monthly-billing price they can read from the pricing page
- Teams tracking more than a handful of AI prompts on the entry tier
Best Surfer alternative for each job
Chosen by what you are trying to do rather than by which product is closest overall, because the right replacement depends on the job.
| If you mainly need to… | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Optimise a draft against what ranks | Clearscope | Same job, unlimited users, and a simpler editor, at $129 a month. |
| Optimise, publish and watch for decay | Frase | Covers optimisation, site audits, publishing and AI visibility from $49 a month. |
| Track AI answers only | Otterly.ai | $29 a month for 15 prompts across four engines, with unlimited team members. |
| Keyword and backlink research | Ahrefs | Surfer has no index of its own; this is the job it does not do. |
Key features
- Content Score measured against the pages currently ranking
- Content Editor with brief, outline and term coverage
- Surfy AI writing assistant and Humanizer
- AI visibility tracking across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google, AI Overviews and Gemini on Pro
- Mention gap, brand sentiment and share of voice in AI answers
- Topical map for planning content clusters
- Cannibalisation report and rank drop detection
- One-click internal linking on Pro and above
Integrations
- WordPress
- Google Docs
- Contentful
- Zapier
- API access on Peace of Mind and Enterprise
Surfer screenshots
Captured by us in August 2026 at 1440px, unedited. Interfaces change, so these show the product as it looked on the date we verified this profile. Pricing pages are captured from a US vantage point, so the currency shown matches the USD figures recorded above.

Our assessment
Surfer does one job unusually well: it reads the pages already ranking for a query and tells a writer what is missing from theirs, inside Google Docs or WordPress rather than in a separate tab. The Content Score is the metric most content teams have actually adopted, and the 2026 line-up bolts AI-answer tracking onto that workflow so one tool covers both audiences. Two things deserve care before buying. The pricing page defaults to annual billing and does not print a monthly figure without switching a control, so the $99 Standard rate is a yearly commitment quoted by the month. And AI tracking on Standard is 25 prompts refreshed weekly on ChatGPT alone - real prompt coverage starts at Pro, $182 a month, or at the $158 standalone AI Search Analytics plan. Surfer is also not a research platform: there is no backlink index and no site crawler, so it sits beside Ahrefs or Semrush rather than instead of them.
What works in Surfer
- Content Score is the most widely adopted optimisation metric in this category
- Optimisation happens where writers already work, in Google Docs and WordPress
- Standard includes three seats, where most rivals include one
- AI-visibility tracking can be bought on its own at $158 a month billed yearly
What doesn't
- The pricing page quotes annual billing by default, so monthly rates cannot be read from it
- AI tracking on Standard covers ChatGPT only, at 25 prompts refreshed weekly
- No backlink index, no keyword database of its own and no site crawler
- API access sits on the $299 tier
EveryAny Decision Score
3 of these 8 dimensions are calculated from verified facts; the rest are our judgement, shown as a band rather than a figure unless something specific sits behind them. How each score works.
- Cost position4.2/10
derivedentry tier at $49 a month against a category median of $49 a month across 12 comparable tools
- Portability5/10
derivedpublic API
- Subscription flexibility6/10
derivedfree trial, subscription, monthly billing
- Feature depthHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Ease of learningHigh
editorialour judgement, with no measurement behind it
- Collaboration7/10
editorialThree seats on Standard, five on Pro and ten on Peace of Mind, with shared brand workspaces from Pro.
- AI capability8/10
editorialSurfy writing assistant, AI SEO guidelines, one-click optimisation, and AI-answer tracking across five named platforms on Pro.
- Professional adoption8/10
editorialSurfer states 150,000 customers across 159 countries, and shows 4.8/5 on G2 from 500+ reviews, 4.9/5 on Capterra and 4.6/5 on Trustpilot.
What leaving Surfer would cost
moderate lock-in
Surfer scores on public API. Portability 5/10 ; lock-in is the inverse. How this is calculated.
Surfer competitors and alternatives
| Alternative | Why you might pick it instead |
|---|---|
| Clearscope | Fewer features, unlimited users, and a cleaner editor for large content teams. |
| Frase | Covers the same optimisation job plus publishing and site audits, for less. |
| Semrush | Content optimisation inside a platform you may already pay for. |
Semrush
SEO
All-in-one SEO, PPC and competitive research platform for marketing teams.
Checked Aug 2026
Ahrefs
SEO
SEO toolset built on one of the largest independent backlink and keyword indexes.
Checked Aug 2026
The price on the page is a yearly commitment
Every self-serve figure Surfer shows - $49, $99, $182, $299 - is a monthly rate billed yearly, and the pricing FAQ confirms the whole year is charged when you buy. The page advertises the annual saving beside each plan ($120, $240, $444, $720) and states the discount is up to 17% against paying monthly, but it does not print the monthly figure itself unless you switch the control.
Read the commitment before the number. If you want to pay month to month, the rate you will actually be charged is not on the page.
Where the AI tracking actually starts
Standard, at $99 a month billed yearly, tracks 25 AI prompts refreshed weekly, on ChatGPT alone. That is enough to see whether you appear at all, and not enough to see whether anything changed.
Pro, at $182 a month billed yearly, moves to 50 prompts refreshed daily across five platforms - ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google, AI Overviews and Gemini. Peace of Mind doubles that to 100.
If tracking is the reason you are here, the standalone AI Search Analytics plan is the cheaper route: $158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts, with mention gap, brand sentiment and share of voice, and no content tools attached. Compare it with the dedicated trackers in our AI SEO tools guide before assuming a bundle is the better deal.
Seats are included, which is unusual here
Most tools in this category include one user and sell the rest. Surfer includes three seats on Standard, five on Pro and ten on Peace of Mind. For a content team of three, that difference is worth more than the feature list: Ahrefs Lite at $129 a month includes one user and charges $40 a month for each of the next two.
What it does not do
No backlink index. No keyword database of its own. No site crawler. Surfer reads the search results and scores content against them, which means it sits alongside a research platform rather than replacing one. Be sceptical of any comparison that puts it head to head with Semrush; they are answering different questions.
Surfer questions, answered
- Is Surfer worth it?
- Surfer does one job unusually well: it reads the pages already ranking for a query and tells a writer what is missing from theirs, inside Google Docs or WordPress rather than in a separate tab.
- How much does Surfer cost?
- Discovery $49/month billed yearly; Standard $99/month billed yearly. The cheapest paid tier we recorded is Discovery, published at $49 a month, which works out at $49 a month or $588 over a year. Verified against the vendor's pricing page.
- Does Surfer have a free plan or free trial?
- Surfer has no free plan. A free trial is available: Offered through the vendor's "Start for Free" flow; length not stated on the pricing page.
- What is the best Surfer alternative?
- It depends on the job. Clearscope: Fewer features, unlimited users, and a cleaner editor for large content teams. Frase: Covers the same optimisation job plus publishing and site audits, for less. Semrush: Content optimisation inside a platform you may already pay for.
- Can I self-host Surfer?
- No. Surfer is a hosted service only, so your data lives on the vendor's infrastructure.
What this profile is based on
Every claim below is about our work, not about Surfer. A "no" is recorded rather than omitted, because the difference between a tested review and careful desk research is the reader's to weigh. How we research a profile.
-
Prices read from the vendor : yes
Read from Surfer's own pricing page on 18 August 2026
-
Plans and terms recorded : yes
6 rows, each with its billing period
-
Original screenshots : yes
1 captured by us: pricing page
-
Sources cited and dated : yes
2 primary sources, each with the date it was read
-
Product used first-hand : no
Not tested. This profile is desk research from primary sources
-
Alternatives used first-hand : no
None, so comparisons here rest on published facts rather than use
-
Vendor contacted : no
Not contacted for this profile
Desk research from Surfer's own pricing and affiliate pages, read on 18 August 2026 through a United States egress because this machine geolocates to the EU. Nobody here has used Surfer, and no output quality was assessed.
One-click Google setting
Get our writing surfaced first on Google
If this was useful, add EveryAny.One as a preferred source in Google. Our profiles and best-of guides will appear ahead of the rest in Top Stories, AI Mode and AI Overviews when you search for software.
- Our reviews get a "preferred" badge in Top Stories and AI Overviews.
- AI Mode leans on the sources you've chosen when it answers.
- Change it back any time from the same Google page.
Provenance and freshness
When each fact was last checked
- Pricing ·
- Plans ·
- Free trial
- Features
- Platforms
- Integrations
- Affiliate programme ·
- Company details ·
Individually sourced claims
-
Standard tracks 25 AI prompts refreshed weekly, on ChatGPT only
Surfer pricing ↗ · checked
-
AI Search Analytics can be bought separately at $158 a month billed yearly for 100 daily prompts
Surfer pricing ↗ · checked
-
Annual plans are charged for the entire year on purchase
Surfer pricing FAQ ↗ · checked
What has changed
-
August 2026
- First published, with every plan read from the vendor pricing page through a US egress
- Recorded that the pricing page defaults to annual billing and does not show monthly rates
Sources & verification
Facts on this page were read from the sources below on the dates shown. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we record it as not disclosed rather than estimating it.
- Surfer pricing - checked 18 August 2026
- Surfer affiliate programme - checked 18 August 2026
Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will re-check it. Corrections are logged on the page.
